#8 Lachie Schultz

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Re: #8 Lachie Schultz

Post by Woods Of Ypres »

actually pood his pants all game
slangman
Has liked: 23 times
Been liked: 9 times

Post by slangman »

Culprit wrote: Tue Jul 30, 2024 8:35 am Shultz's game isn't about kicking goals. His pressure at the contest is what people need to look at. Half the time he's nowhere near the goal. He misses some sitters but alas so do other players.
His pressure in or around the contest is not any better than most of the other players.
If his game isn’t about kicking goals then get him the he’ll away from them.
- Side By Side -
Has liked: 128 times
Been liked: 191 times

Simply not good enough tonight. He can't handle the clutch moments when they present themselves.

I think in the long term, he'll be a decent recruit for us but there's no doubt we overpaid to get him over from WA.
piedys
Has liked: 281 times
Been liked: 66 times

Post by piedys »

While I'm not disappointed we have him at the club, I'm furious what Hine and Wright decided to give up for him.
Bend-over, and reem us type moronic idiocy.
We should have demanded Will Brodie for free steak-knives as well.

But you can all bet your arses, that as we speak, nobody is more disappointed with his decision to leave Freo, than Schultz is right now....
M I L L A N E 4 2 forever
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 58 times

Post by Big T »

He can’t handle being at Collingwood. Reminds me of another freo trade with the frizzy blond hair, the Mayne man. Hopefully he turns his game around in minimum the same manner Chris did otherwise it’s an even bigger disaster than it already is. Nothing changes the fact we have given up two potential stars for a third rounder
Buon Giorno
piedys
Has liked: 281 times
Been liked: 66 times

Post by piedys »

Jezza wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:23 pm Simply not good enough tonight. He can't handle the clutch moments when they present themselves.
A week's a long time in football, as the old saying goes!
Jezza wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:23 pm I think in the long term, he'll be a decent recruit for us but there's no doubt we overpaid to get him over from WA.
Overpaid for sure, but certainly earned some redemption late in the final term tonight, after missing the earlier soda.
M I L L A N E 4 2 forever
eddiesmith
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 16 times

Post by eddiesmith »

Also kicked more goals from the same amount if games as the little sook he replaced…

So anyone claiming it’s been a complete dud and we’d have been better off keeping Ginni to his contract when he wanted out is off the mark.

Imagine how shit Ginni would be playing if he didn’t want to be here?
Has liked: 128 times
Been liked: 191 times

piedys wrote: Sat Aug 17, 2024 8:18 pm
Jezza wrote: Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:23 pm Simply not good enough tonight. He can't handle the clutch moments when they present themselves.
A week's a long time in football, as the old saying goes!
Big credit to him. That was a fantastic last 5 minutes when the game was at stake.

I hope this is the confidence booster he needs.
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by pietillidie »

Well done to a lad who has worn more than his share this year. It's all upstairs for him; notice he kicked that bender from the pocket without even looking? In fact, his grab before that was also instinctive. Some players go better when they're not thinking; it's a type you see in all sports. In contrast, playing is often a relief to certain personalities because it's the only place they can shut off, so they have the opposite challenge. You do wonder if the move to the club made him turn inward from the outset, which can happen when people make big life shifts. The key is to get him back into that habit of shutting off upstairs and playing on instinct again. This is not uncommon, it's just no doubt harder to grapple with under the glare of the spotlight.
In the end the rain comes down, washes clean the streets of a blue sky town.
Help Nick's: http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/fundraising.htm
eddiesmith
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 16 times

Post by eddiesmith »

The other considerations with Schultz is he’s kicked 24 goals coming into a premiership side still in its window, the draft pick we gave up still hasn’t been drafted and definitely wouldn’t be having any impact next year so we get a ready made player v a speculative draft pick.

Besides this club hasn’t had a lot of luck with first round draft picks.
The Black and White Lion
Has liked: 180 times
Been liked: 65 times

Post by The Black and White Lion »

Well done Schultz. I wanted him out this week after some shockers.
But he’s learnt from his mistakes and taken his chances at the right time.
Ed Allen kicked our last goal of the year at the 58minute mark
neil
Has liked: 4 times

Post by neil »

2nd in goal kicking behind Bobby Hill and ahead of Jamie Elliot.
And some people think he was a waste of a trade
Carlscum 120 years being cheating scum

I reckon this game will be the making of him. Just rewards for a bloke who always gives his all. Reckon he's a big game player.
Culprit
Has liked: 9 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by Culprit »

The Coach and I are on the same page when it comes to Shultz, "I'm really proud of him. Really proud of him. He's worked so hard on his game. He does so many things that no one sees. We show it every week, when he's holding Max Gawn out of a marking contest so someone can come over and take a mark, or off the ball he's blocking for three others so they get a running shot at goal in the stoppage. He does so much for us others. It's just nice he got some reward today. He was clutch in the last quarter, absolutely clutch".". Mason Cox, "I love what he does, he blocks players for us tall players". He does so much that goes unnoticed but alas people are now happy as he's kicked a few goals. Go Figure.
Pies4shaw
Has liked: 54 times
Been liked: 85 times

eddiesmith wrote: Sat Aug 17, 2024 9:11 pm... this club hasn’t had a lot of luck with first round draft picks.
Collingwood first-round draft picks in the last 10 drafts:

2014 - De Goey. Moore
2015 - None
2016 - None
2017 - Stephenson
2018 - Quaynor
2019 - None
2020 - Henry, Macrae, McInnes
2021 - Nick Daicos
2022 - Allan
2023 - De Mattia