This is an unofficial Bulletin Board - owned and run by its users. We welcome all fans of the Mighty Collingwood Football Club.
Ad blocker detected: Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker on our website.
This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.
qldmagpie67 wrote: ↑Fri Sep 06, 2024 4:07 pm
The term “destination club” Is a load of BS
I agree.
There is another category of player that moves and thats a b-grader who is fading and goes wherever will have him if it means he can eek another couple years out of his career before it all ends for good. This is how I would describe North.
Ins: Alex Davies, Peatling, Stringer, Haynes and Picks 14 and 21...
Then we can go to the draft, confident that we can acquire two talls (Whitlocks, Mraz, Tom Sims-199cms or Alex Dodson- 203cm ruck from SA)
You forgot Outs: *** next year's first rounder... ***
I actually like your work here - but some will bed wary of forgoing next year's pick. If the club have conviction that McGuane is going to use up our first pick (wherever that is), I dont mind pulling that pick forward to use now.
^“destination club”, the most overused and thrown around term to describe a Clubs ability to attract players, along with some romantic notion our own players should be one Club players.
Right up there with every second footy scribe or businessperson currently using descriptive terms such as what the 'narrative' relates to. If I hear that phrase one more time I'll go full Terry Wallace.
"The Club's not Jock, Ted and Gerry" (& Eddie)
2023 AFL Premiers
A Destination club is simply a club that is in the premiership window and has the $ to fork out.
A player who takes good $ to go to a shit team to supposedly be part of their rebuild, has basically mentally checked out and is just getting paid appearance money.
Piesnchess wrote: ↑Fri Sep 06, 2024 6:22 pm
How about our first pick and Reef for Jake Stringer ?? Is that acceptable or too bloody much. ?? Just asking.
You are kidding…right?
Not worth a tenth of that. Well take his contract and give him extra years. That’s it.
warburton lad wrote: ↑Fri Sep 06, 2024 12:02 pm
5) Pick 50 and Fin Macrae for Peatling GWS (he is out of contract and we can offer him 4 years at, say $600K/annum).
Think Peatling's value just went up. After today's performance reckon he's worth it.
warburton lad wrote: ↑Fri Sep 06, 2024 12:02 pm
5) Pick 50 and Fin Macrae for Peatling GWS (he is out of contract and we can offer him 4 years at, say $600K/annum).
Think Peatling's value just went up. After today's performance reckon he's worth it.
And our last qtr fade out against the Swans actually shows we weren't far off. Key injuries hurt.
Add a few key pieces and let veterans have a long preseason.
Chuffed to have seen 3 flag wins in my lifetime but still greedy for more.
Piesnchess wrote: ↑Fri Sep 06, 2024 6:22 pm
How about our first pick and Reef for Jake Stringer ?? Is that acceptable or too bloody much. ?? Just asking.
I think your cheese has slipped off it’s cracker
Not quite mate, Piesnchess is a delicious cheese compared to someone who is crackers like you
Different strokes for different folks but I have inside knowledge on Stringer being a Bendigo resident who has seen him play locally and for Essenscum.
The combination of him and JDG will be something to behold. Mark my words!
I term the current Collingwood attack based strategy “Unceasing Waves” like on a stormy and windy day with rough seas. A Perfect Storm
After watching Peatling today he’s a must get
Played a run with role in Gulden and Warner for big parts of the day and crept forward kicked a goal
He’s the type we need
Re: Stringer, the second he has the jumper on, we'll all be pretty pumped. And when he kicks a few bags, we'll be even happier.
If the trade is right, you do it.
Dylan Shiel has been told the club would “ understand if he was to explore his options elsewhere “ Not sure if he’s the answer but you would think there would be a lot of movement within Essendons list.
Gary Player “ the harder I practice, the luckier I get “