Colonoscopy Stadium : R.I.P. football

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Colonoscopy Stadium : R.I.P. football

Post by AlfAndrews »

Has anyone been watching that Docklands debacle tonight.

A.F.L. - you've done it again. This time you've surpassed yourself. In your obscene haste to open the new stadium you've stuffed it. What about all that "grass" that got churned up. It's a wonder the bloody stadium didn't collapse under the weight of expectation.

Let's face it. Docklands is a dud. Tonight's match had the most unprecedented hype in the history of football. There was a packed house full of Essendon supporters. The home team poured on the goals all night. And yet the atmosphere, judging from the TV audio, was as dead as a dodo. Even McAvaney's renowned hyperbole couldn't save it. Come to think of it, even McAvaney sounded bored.

Crowd atmosphere is one of the things that has made football what it is. Quite simply, a stadium full of diners and theatre-goers has no atmosphere. If tonight is a vision of the future of football, then football is finished. BOOOOORING ! OK, I know it's only Essendon, and their supporters are a pack of bourgeois nobodies, but Colonoscopy Stadium is obviously going to be the sort of sterile consumerist environment that is going to turn all supporters, no matter who they barrack for, into a faceless pack of bland, comatose zombies.

Congratulations, A.F.L. You have killed football.

Post by AlfAndrews »

"Young person"?!!?

Have I been lying about my age or something?

I guess the beauty of the on-line life is that you can pretend to be whoever you want to be.
You never know, in real life I might actually be a nubile nymph with a picture of Ricky Olarenshaw on my wall. I might just be pretending to be this thoughtful intellectual type with all this wonderful insight. In fact, I could even be ... wait for it ... Spidergirl in disguise !!! You'll never know, mate. You'll never know.

I wonder if the reference to Spidergirl will get a bite Image

But Greg, my friend. Let us not be too judgemental towards our young female sisters in the faith. There is a place for everybody in the culture of football. Young ... old ... beautiful ... ugly ... male ... female ... rich ... rich ...

You see my point about Docklands? It just doesn't add up. Modern football is gradually excluding the poor from going to matches. It's as if they're saying, "You're not good enough (i.e. rich enough). We don't want you here. We're trying to attract a better class of customer." The Grand Final has been like that for years now. Docklands will be like the Grand Final every week. People won't be able to get in. Those who do get in will pay an arm and a leg. And there'll be no atmosphere because the people in the "audience" will have lots of manners, lots of money ... and no passion.

It will be a sad day when people like Spidergirl can't get into the footy any more.

hahaha bugger you Alf Andrews!!!
I've already been to Colonial in fact i went in before the first game even. Went in to a special do on there Tuesday night and have already got my seat for Sunday night. So stuff you - "people like Spidergirl can't even get in" hahaha actually it will be poeple like you who wont!

Pity you spoilt what was being said there coz i do agree with it. I reckon next year we just stuff the AFL and go back to the grassroots of footy VFL!

#8 RoCKS
Go RiCkY!

Post by AlfAndrews »

I was sticking up for you, Spidergirl, for God's sake. Image
Don't worry. They've gotta let me in this year cos I paid my $495. Of course I'll be living in dire poverty for a year because of it.
And Greg, all that intrigue about conflict of interest is most interesting.
There's a quote I'm very fond of. It was made by the former Fitzroy president, Dyson Hore-Lacy, an esteemed lawyer and QC.
After the Brisbane-Fitzroy merger in 1996 he said,
"I've been appearing for crims for 25 years, but I never knew what a real crook was until I became involved in football administration."

I@n S

Post by I@n S »

Well I did not go to the first game at the New Stadium so I can't say much, but I would like to say this. When we first heard there would be a new grownd I thought like a lot of peolpe, why not just fix up other grownds? But I will give it a chance untill i've been to the grownd to see The Pies thrash the Dogs. Plus it was only Port Power that Essendon played. Charging an Arm and a leg to get tickets for Colonoscopy Stadium as AlfAndrews calls it, I don't agree with it but count yourself lucky. Australian football is so cheap anyway. Look at spots in other Countrys. Soccer, Cricket, Tennis, Rugby and others would cost you 3 to 4 or even 5 times the price that AFL does.
Being Rich does'nt mean that you have no passion, but there are a lot of them like that. Not trying to start and argument, its just how I feel. Dispite this your proberly correct about it being a dud grownd and the way the AFL's been in the last few years, I would'nt be supprised. Well on that note, i'll finish with one Question. Why are people in this Bulletin board putting down our best player "Buckley" and some of our others like "Patto" ????? We proberly would have won most of the close games last season if buckley was %100 and Sav Rocca's knee was not stuffed..............:P
NT - Pie

Post by NT - Pie »

Well lets move with the times! It seems like us Collingwood supporters have been against change for too long, maybe that why we have been doing shithouse for the last 9 years! We want to compare ourselves to Man U and show off our wonderful Vic Park!! Get off the grass guys, times are a changing..maybe we should kick the stupid cricketers out of the MCG...

ok Alf soree! thought ya might have been being sarcastic and having a little dig at me!

Pity we couldn't have kept Waverley ha Pies have done well there lately. Oh well hopefully they will do just as good at Colonial. I wouldn't be as worried about getting in there compared to that ridiculous game of ours at Optus Oval though!

#8 RoCkS
Go RiCkY!

Doug,
When i was at Colonial on Tuesday we sat right down the very front and from there it looked as if the surface went down around the edges and then curved up like a mountain towards teh middle. It didn't seem to be a flat surface at all.

In regards to the Americanisation of the game i think they're doing that thing liek in America where the players run out one by one and their names are called as they run out. Soon i bet we don't even have the traditional banner, team song and footy record. Then training will be next we will probably have to pay to get in there or won't eben be allowed to go i even had to book to go to training at Colonial on Tuesday.

At the end of your post you ask what can we do - we can stuff the AFL go watch VFL!

#8 RoCkS
Go RiCkY!
foxy

Post by foxy »

i'm sure a lot of people will start defecting to the VFL in future years. it'll be just like in the US; the NFL is a complete corporate farce so thousands of people follow the college league.

Post by AlfAndrews »

Gee, we've opened a real can of worms here!

I@nS, you're right about AFL being cheaper than a lot of other sports. I know that a season ticket for Liverpool (go the Reds!) costs 320 pounds, which works out at a heck of a lot more than Legends membership at Collingwood. Mind you, it covers, I think, 19 home games at Anfield. And Tennis, of course, is hideously expensive. But the point is that football IS getting more expensive all the time (mainly because players are grossly overpaid!!!) Football became the People's Game precisely because it was so affordable for so many years. As it becomes more expensive it is losing its status as the "Game of the People for the People". Excuse the proletarian cliches Image
I take your point, I@nS, that it's possible for a rich person to have passion. They've certainly got passion for making money at least.
And yes, Doug, an extra 15,000 or 20,000 seats at Docklands would have been a great idea. In fact, when Collingwood was thinking about making it their home ground they suggested that if the capacity had been 65,000 they would have gone there. But the whole point of the 52,000 capacity is that it is a deliberate under-supply of seating to ensure that people have to buy reserved seating packages. This links in perfectly with their control over the ticketing. The conflict of interest thing. God, this whole thing gets more corrupt the more you look at it.
Spidergirl raises the Optus Oval issue, which now takes on a new dimension with the latest controversy surrounding Carlton's dispute with the AFL over TV rights. As much as I hate Carlton and John Elliott I can't help admiring them for sticking it up the AFL. But all the same, I hope we don't see a split like they had in Rugby League a few years ago. I wonder which way Collingwood would go. Would we join Carlton in a Super League or stay with Jackson? Talk about the devil and the deep blue (no pun intended) sea.

Crystal ball, 2010:
Let's see. It's Grand Final Day at the Microsoft Cricket Ground. The Melbourne Magpies, coached by the legendary, but hideously expensive, Nathan Buckley are about to take on the L.A. Crows who are in great form following their home final win against the Drink-Drive-Bloody-Idiot Tigers, who found the trip from Hobart to Los Angeles too grueling last week. The Magpies, despite having to play in the more difficult of the two conferences, are just oozing class with triple Jackson Medallist, Josh Fraser, in superb form along with 5 time McGuire Trophy winner, Leon Davis. Unfortunately, Gavin Brown, the 7 time Premiership player and last surving member of the 1990 premiership side had to withdraw because he strained the bionic hamstring that was inserted after the 2008 premiership win. He is reported to be so despondent that he is not sure if he'll play next year.
"I'll see how I handle the pre-season", he told reporters.
Meanwhile an angry group of Speed-Kills barrackers have gathered outside the ground to protest about the A.F.L.'s decision to sell Colonoscopy Stadium to pay for the new "world class" stadium at Princes Park. Club President, Mr.Kevin Sheedy said that the new stadium was a slap in the face for the real football fans, the Medallion Club members who had kept the Game alive for the last 10 years. A senior spokesman for the Carlton Football League said, between puffs on his cigarette, "Pig's arse!"

NT - Pie

Post by NT - Pie »

There has also been some positive changes..like the speed and skill of the game, guys like Dermie today would not be the superstars and players that relied on intimidation and brute force have also disappeared (this is a pity!) Yes the game is changing and its not just football thats becoming more global its everything else. Unfortunately money makes the world go around. As for people defecting to the VFL...wouldnt that be like a 95% paycut...you'd have to be stupid or play for Carlton... and btw the season is too short!!!

Post by AlfAndrews »

NT-Pie,

I'm about to leave for the footy in sweltering heat. Expected top temperature today is 35 degrees. Probably a nice pleasant day by NT standards but in Melbourne 35 degrees is the pits.

The season is too bloody long !

Mich@el

Post by Mich@el »

Alf, that 'Crystal ball' senario is so bloody amusing!! Rowdy straining a 'bionic hamstring'. What an imagination you have!
Caz

Post by Caz »

Hey! Colonial Stadium is a joke, and I was so appalled that I decided to do my Year 12 issue oral on it! Here it is!

Hello, my name is Grant Harrison, your average bloke, nothing remarkable about me at all. The reason why I've chosen to speak on behalf of the Eastern suburbs at this AFL general meeting is because I, like many others, are disgruntled supporters having to stand by as we suffer the consequences of our "world class" Colonial Stadium. This issue is beginning to look like the AFL's biggest social, political and economic blunder, and the losers are people like me, the average supporter.

I was originally opposed to the idea of building a new stadium because I believe Waverley Park was a fantastic ground that was doing a good job in hosting smaller games. I also thought the idea of building a stadium that was smaller than the one it was replacing was a wasted exercise, and I also believe the AFL had a commitment to the Eastern Suburbs of Melbourne when they built Waverley Park. However, I was willing to put personal bias aside and give Colonial Stadium a go. Footy, like everything else in this constantly changing world is evolving, and Colonial Stadium was a symbol of this high tech evolution.

It wasn't until I attended my first match on Easter Sunday that I realised just how big a debacle Colonial Stadium was. My family and I attended the Melbourne versus West Coast game all decked out in our Demon's gear. And although I was fully aware that Colonial's ticketing system was designed for pre-booked tickets, I also knew that this game would only attract about 30,000 people. Surely, a stadium that can fit 52,000 spectators can manage some showing up on the day and buying a ticket. SURELY.

But what happened was an entirely different story. It was easier to get into Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory than it was to get into Colonial Stadium. Have a listen to this audio clip, from Triple M's Crud show on the Wednesday following the incident. Callers were invited to ring in with their songs about Colonial Stadium and these were the top 12. PLAY TAPE

Now, although this was supposed to be comedic, for supporters like myself that had to endure the wait on Sunday, it was more like tragedy. It seemed that most spectators shared my opinion that it was unnecessary to pay extra and pre-book tickets for a game that certainly wasn't going to be a sell out. Ticketmaster must realise the Melbourne tradition of footy going. This is a city, that up until last year, had suburban grounds that spectators would just show up on a Saturday arvo and watch their favourite team play. I accept that in blockbuster games involving the Collingwoods, Essendons and Carltons of our game, it would be wise to plan footy visits ahead of time to ensure a ticket. But a game involving Melbourne and West Coast on Easter Sunday should not have caused such trouble. After all, Colonial Stadium was faced with a simple goal. Get 25,000 people into a 52,000 capacity stadium in time for the first bounce. It doesn't seem like a difficult task. But when it takes up to 7 minutes to complete a transaction, you're in for a wait. A long wait. A wait that went well into the second quarter. Upon hearing the half time siren, we had had enough. With sore feet and short tempers, we decided to spend our family day at the movies. And although Stuart Little was good, I would've much rathered seeing Jeff "The Wizard" kicking 7 goals in what was an absolute thrashing of the Eagles.

In retrospect, it is easy to see that Colonial Stadium was always going to be a nightmare. It was simply asking too much to hand over so much responsibility to a venue that was just starting out. Let's compare it to Josh Fraser, the number one draft pick in the 1999 draft. A player with huge potential, and youth on his side. However, Collingwood have used him sparingly so far in the season, giving him time to develop his skills whilst using other players to lend him support. There is no doubting that Colonial has the potential to become a great stadium. But it was irresponsible to think that it could handle everything in its first year of operation. Waverley stadium should have been kept for at least this year, and the smaller games should have been shared between them.

But, what's done is done, and cannot be undone. And somebody must take ultimate responsibility for this crisis. Let's hear what Maria O'Connor, managing director of Ticketmaster, and Wayne Jackson, Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Football League had to say about the Colonial Stadium issue. They were interview on Triple M's Crud show and commentary team respectively. Let's hear what they had to say. PLAY TAPE

As you can probably tell, everybody is pointing the finger at others rather than taking some responsibility. And there are many villains, Channel 7, Ian Collins, Spotless Catering, Wayne Jackson, Nationwide Venue Management and Ticketmaster. But the AFL must take ultimate responsibility, as it is the biggest villain of all. It is to blame for believing it could sacrifice it's poorer fans by making more money from those it believed would pay double and more by actually planning their football visits weeks in advance, at a stadium that almost everyone agrees is overrated. And the tragedy is that all involved seem powerless to fix this monster it has created. Let's just hope things don't get any worse before they get better.

Thank you for your attention.

Go Pies!!!
**Caz**