Post Match v Bloose!!!! All comments here thanks
- rand corp
Half time I was ready to cut my wrists, I was crying in my beer to anyone who'd listen. Even Clem started kicking them out on the full. The game was going something like: we miss a target, ball rebounds out of our FL, we get it back and snap a point, they go forward and kick a goal, or get a free right in front and kick a goal. Horrendous. we were the better team for much of the first half and our own complete inability to hit a target slaughtered us.
Third quarter we start to righten things up and are coming good but, some of the most one-sided umpiring I have ever seen in 40 years of football is keeping them in front. Camporeale manages to keep a perfect record by once again having me wish someone would smash his face in, the man is a complete sh1te on the football field, no guts, no respect, just a big mouth and cheap shots, I have wanted someone to do this to him every time I have seen him play.
But by three quarter time, I though, we are much the better side on the day and we seem to be coming good, if we run this out, get a few things going our way, stick to this sexy new game plan of moving the ball as quickly as possible through the guts -and we just might get one back against the biggest enemy of all.
Still a few problems but, it shows what important ingrediants momentum and confidence are. What I liked most about today was the HEART, THE GUTS, THE WIN OR DIE TRYING, BLOOD AND GLORY that it took to win this thing and that -in the end- we had in spades more than the scum.
I will bask in the glory, for we have beaten more than the odds, we have beaten the biggest of foes and I LOVE MY CLUB, BECAUSE I AM COLLINGWOOD.
2nd half best players: team effort.
G'night all.
Third quarter we start to righten things up and are coming good but, some of the most one-sided umpiring I have ever seen in 40 years of football is keeping them in front. Camporeale manages to keep a perfect record by once again having me wish someone would smash his face in, the man is a complete sh1te on the football field, no guts, no respect, just a big mouth and cheap shots, I have wanted someone to do this to him every time I have seen him play.
But by three quarter time, I though, we are much the better side on the day and we seem to be coming good, if we run this out, get a few things going our way, stick to this sexy new game plan of moving the ball as quickly as possible through the guts -and we just might get one back against the biggest enemy of all.
Still a few problems but, it shows what important ingrediants momentum and confidence are. What I liked most about today was the HEART, THE GUTS, THE WIN OR DIE TRYING, BLOOD AND GLORY that it took to win this thing and that -in the end- we had in spades more than the scum.
I will bask in the glory, for we have beaten more than the odds, we have beaten the biggest of foes and I LOVE MY CLUB, BECAUSE I AM COLLINGWOOD.
2nd half best players: team effort.
G'night all.
Is that among the best things you can say?Cam wrote:If Williams kicks 1 or 2 goals a game he will finish the year with 30+. Quite ok for a forward pocket actually.rosspies wrote:Williams got a extra posession than last week and a extra goal. If he keeps impoving at that rate will hit 10 posessions by round 7.
I loved Brodie's hardness and he frustrated the shag so much the shag forgot there was a foootball to be won in the first half.
Good to see some more direct footy in the second half
- mudlark
I reckon Dr Alf You can get stuffed!!Dr Alf Andrews wrote:A game of two halves.
The first half was the most shiteful display of sustained incompetence that I've seen since ...
... since, er ...
... last week.
Carlton could have ... and SHOULD have ... buried us by half-time. In fact, I'd say it was only the old Carlton arrogance that kept us in touch. They simply KNEW they were going to win, and were just toying with us to make it more unbearable.
But alas ... the oh so arrogant Filth don't have a lot to be arrogant about these days.
It was a different Collingwood after half-time ... still as shitefully incompetant as ever, but now they were playing with passion .... and playing above themselves.
Whenever a player stuffed up ... which was ALL the time ... there was someone there to back him up. It was good to watch. It won't win us a premiership. In fact it won't win us many games at all ... but it was good enough to steal the chocolates off the Filth.
Good to see Tarrant actually turned up this week. A nice regulation bag of goals. When he can do this every week he might be a valuable player.
Rhyce Shaw is still the biggest dud in football ... but he gets a lot of the ball ... so anyone who gets his hand on it as much as him is bound to do at least a few good things in the course of a match.
I haven't gone back on anything I've said. We are still the laughing stock of the AFL. And I daresay what we saw today will be the highlight of our season.
We've got NO HOPE against the Kangaroos next week ... but we MIGHT run a place on Anzac Day.
Talk it up, folks ... celebrate hard ... because that's as good as it's going to get this year.
GO THE MIGHTY PIES
- mudlark
I thought we played reasonably well in the first half and the only thing keeping the scum in the game was our very poor disposal. Then after 1/2 time we were commited and hard at the ball. The less said about the woeful exhibition of maggotry in that short period in the 3rd the better, however from this adversity, our boys took it to scum and maggot alike and kicked thier sorry asses to where they belong.
I think we have a lot to like about today and a lot to look forward to. Can I mention that O'bree was not on the ground when the revival began. An omen I hope.Maxwell , Rowe, C Cloke. in ,J. Cloke , Fraser ,Richards, Buckley to come. Who says theres not much to look forward to.
Great effort today and we should enjoy this week very much and look forward to burying the roos next week.
I think we have a lot to like about today and a lot to look forward to. Can I mention that O'bree was not on the ground when the revival began. An omen I hope.Maxwell , Rowe, C Cloke. in ,J. Cloke , Fraser ,Richards, Buckley to come. Who says theres not much to look forward to.
Great effort today and we should enjoy this week very much and look forward to burying the roos next week.
GO THE MIGHTY PIES
Indeed Presti had Fev's number today. Wakes also played well on Fatty Whitnall. Those 2 guys along with Clement saved it from being alot worse at half time and kept us in it.Presti#1Fan wrote:Did anyone else hear Gary Lyon on 3AW during the 2nd quarter and at half time?
Rekons Presti is finished.
If you ask me, i'd say he added Fev to his belt today. (ofcourse )
What a great day to be a Pie!
Definitely one for the true believers and the memory bank to play over and over.
All the things you love about this team were there.........Tazza's talents to the fore, Lica's incredible heart, Dutchy's mongrel, Rocca throwing his weight around, Neon's cameo brilliance, the big 3 defenders as solid as Ayres Rock, the poise and potential of Rowe & Maxy, Burnsy's grunt and class when needed, Woey's precision, Rhyce backing himself to use his pace and break through the lines............and the song in front of the hated enemy.
And to think at 1/2 time I thought I wouldn't have the need to feel nervous before any games for the rest of the year. Thought it was looking long & painful.
The ladder at the end of this week is going to look very interesting, about 8 or 9 teams on 4 points it looks like.
Hurry back Dids, Josh & Stretch, we're back!!!
Definitely one for the true believers and the memory bank to play over and over.
All the things you love about this team were there.........Tazza's talents to the fore, Lica's incredible heart, Dutchy's mongrel, Rocca throwing his weight around, Neon's cameo brilliance, the big 3 defenders as solid as Ayres Rock, the poise and potential of Rowe & Maxy, Burnsy's grunt and class when needed, Woey's precision, Rhyce backing himself to use his pace and break through the lines............and the song in front of the hated enemy.
And to think at 1/2 time I thought I wouldn't have the need to feel nervous before any games for the rest of the year. Thought it was looking long & painful.
The ladder at the end of this week is going to look very interesting, about 8 or 9 teams on 4 points it looks like.
Hurry back Dids, Josh & Stretch, we're back!!!
Hearing the 'Black & White Army' roar is the greatest sound in the world.
- Proud Pies
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:28 am
But who cares? We won! In a right old bloody cracker of a match.
It's late and I'm just home. Replay starts on Fox in 20 minutes and I've had a cup of coffee to make sure I stay awake through it.
Loved the new Ponsford Stand (I was crook over the week covering the first two matches, so this was my first game for the year) and would have loved a chance to catch up with whoever is in for a beer or three. Next time!
This was definately a match of two halves. The first was a shocking display, but simply a continuation of performances from the first two rounds. Players, not just forwards, leading towards the boundary with the inevitable result from such a high risk option - OOB. But we started off well and I thought we might go on from there but the guys just couldn't get out of their mindset.
At halftime, having a beer in the social club with my brother and a mate, I said we should have been ten goals in front. Our rotten game plus the umpiring was all that was keeping Carlton in the game. I also said I thought we could turn it right round and kick ten goals in the 3rd quarter.
So, what happened? The guys came out with their minds on the job and kicked nine! They must have heard me. Fantastic performance. How the other mob managed to kick 6 is totally beyond me. They must have had an extra man or two on the ground! [no further comment]
At 3/4 time, I knew we were home. Carlton were stuffed. If that 3rd quarter had run an extra couple of minutes, we'd have finished it two goals in front, they looked so down (what a shame, eh?!), and they wouldn't have even gotten a sniff in the last.
I thought the defence was terrific. Maxwell added another dimension of toughness and determination, and hard-at-it footy, to a combination that was already looking fairly formidable. And Tex showed everyone exactly why he's going to become a star in defence in the future. If it hadn't been for the soft free kicks, De Luca wouldn't have touched the bloody pill. Jimmy and Wakes were marvellous. Strong and yet running off their opponents at every opportunity. Presti was terrific on Fevola. Strong and determined.
I thought the midfield started to jell at last. Oh, they looked so good - quick and full of running - when Johnno, Leon, Shaw and Rowe got on top. Rowe is only 19 and making mistakes but learning quick. A star in the making? Credit to Licca, Dutch and Burnsie, too, for some really tough, in-and-under footy.
Full marks also to Cam Cloke, Rocca and Tex for their ruck work. We're talking backup, fill-in rucks here, against a bloke who had dominated in the first two rounds. They did all that could be expected. When Fraser returns, we are going to be formidable in the middle as well.
Congrats to a bloke whom I've been really having a go at lately. Taz played sh*t in the first half but kicked five in the second and was taking his marks again. Confidence back? It sure looked like it. A key to his revival - he stopped making those stupid leads down to the half-back flank and stuck to the square and down the guts of the 50 metre arc.
But the simple key to this 2002/03 type performance was the way they started playing:
straight down the guts - no f*cking around with the ball,
running into space (stand up here Rhyce Shaw!) to take the pass or handball and running further into open territory,
taking a second or two to assess the available options instead of kicking wildly as soon as they got their hands on the ball,
running in numbers, supporting the bloke with the ball,
kicking for goal instead of looking for the stupid short pass and the inevitable turnover,
but, above all, developing confidence in each other.
The guys should go on with this now. I'd like to see them win the very winnable next 2 games and maybe then we can start to think a little further ahead.
OK, I'm off to watch the replay!
Go 'Pies!
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:10 amCannibal wrote:Every so often, usually when things are so far against us that you start to believe they can't, and won't, ever be turned around, I get this gut feeling that we're going to come up with a big win against all the odds. It doesn't happen very often but when it does, it's right nearly every time eg 2002 QF. I've started getting that gut feeling over the last 12 hours. And, believe me, it's pretty bad! I'm not going to analyse it, because it's beyond analysis; call it a Scot's Celtic sixth sense. It's just there. This could be a right old game to remember in years to come.
So, did I tell you or what?! And out by a single lousy bloody point!Cannibal wrote:Stand Proud!
'Pies by 19 in a cracker of a match.
But who cares? We won! In a right old bloody cracker of a match.
It's late and I'm just home. Replay starts on Fox in 20 minutes and I've had a cup of coffee to make sure I stay awake through it.
Loved the new Ponsford Stand (I was crook over the week covering the first two matches, so this was my first game for the year) and would have loved a chance to catch up with whoever is in for a beer or three. Next time!
This was definately a match of two halves. The first was a shocking display, but simply a continuation of performances from the first two rounds. Players, not just forwards, leading towards the boundary with the inevitable result from such a high risk option - OOB. But we started off well and I thought we might go on from there but the guys just couldn't get out of their mindset.
At halftime, having a beer in the social club with my brother and a mate, I said we should have been ten goals in front. Our rotten game plus the umpiring was all that was keeping Carlton in the game. I also said I thought we could turn it right round and kick ten goals in the 3rd quarter.
So, what happened? The guys came out with their minds on the job and kicked nine! They must have heard me. Fantastic performance. How the other mob managed to kick 6 is totally beyond me. They must have had an extra man or two on the ground! [no further comment]
At 3/4 time, I knew we were home. Carlton were stuffed. If that 3rd quarter had run an extra couple of minutes, we'd have finished it two goals in front, they looked so down (what a shame, eh?!), and they wouldn't have even gotten a sniff in the last.
I thought the defence was terrific. Maxwell added another dimension of toughness and determination, and hard-at-it footy, to a combination that was already looking fairly formidable. And Tex showed everyone exactly why he's going to become a star in defence in the future. If it hadn't been for the soft free kicks, De Luca wouldn't have touched the bloody pill. Jimmy and Wakes were marvellous. Strong and yet running off their opponents at every opportunity. Presti was terrific on Fevola. Strong and determined.
I thought the midfield started to jell at last. Oh, they looked so good - quick and full of running - when Johnno, Leon, Shaw and Rowe got on top. Rowe is only 19 and making mistakes but learning quick. A star in the making? Credit to Licca, Dutch and Burnsie, too, for some really tough, in-and-under footy.
Full marks also to Cam Cloke, Rocca and Tex for their ruck work. We're talking backup, fill-in rucks here, against a bloke who had dominated in the first two rounds. They did all that could be expected. When Fraser returns, we are going to be formidable in the middle as well.
Congrats to a bloke whom I've been really having a go at lately. Taz played sh*t in the first half but kicked five in the second and was taking his marks again. Confidence back? It sure looked like it. A key to his revival - he stopped making those stupid leads down to the half-back flank and stuck to the square and down the guts of the 50 metre arc.
But the simple key to this 2002/03 type performance was the way they started playing:
straight down the guts - no f*cking around with the ball,
running into space (stand up here Rhyce Shaw!) to take the pass or handball and running further into open territory,
taking a second or two to assess the available options instead of kicking wildly as soon as they got their hands on the ball,
running in numbers, supporting the bloke with the ball,
kicking for goal instead of looking for the stupid short pass and the inevitable turnover,
but, above all, developing confidence in each other.
The guys should go on with this now. I'd like to see them win the very winnable next 2 games and maybe then we can start to think a little further ahead.
OK, I'm off to watch the replay!
Go 'Pies!
Glory Glory Good Old Collingwood, Glory Glory Hallelujah,
Collingwood's The Greatest Team The World Has Ever Seen,
And The 'Pies Go Marching On (in Black and White Stripes Forever!).
Collingwood's The Greatest Team The World Has Ever Seen,
And The 'Pies Go Marching On (in Black and White Stripes Forever!).
- eddiesmith
- Has liked: 11 times
- Been liked: 24 times
Why would we apologise? The first 2 weeks were total shit and they deserved everything they copped.
This week they got together and came up with a new gameplan that actually suited the current team and wow, we won
The boys are finally committed fully to the cause and if we keep up that attitude we will play finals. If only we played Carlton in rd1
This week they got together and came up with a new gameplan that actually suited the current team and wow, we won
The boys are finally committed fully to the cause and if we keep up that attitude we will play finals. If only we played Carlton in rd1