I heard cramps and general fatigue, considering it was his first game he should get the rising star award for the weekfan4collingwood wrote:Did Davies do his knee yesterday?
Post match - Pies v. Dockers. All comments.
- themilleys
- fan4collingwood
I watched that press conference in entirety and the comment has been taken out of context. Not exact wording, but my recollections of the press conference...Daniel wrote:What IRKS me is that MM shits on Morrison and especially Burns, while overlooking his little pet Lockyer who is V.C. and shits himself every time he's in traffic or he has to win a ball.
Reporter: Why was Burns taken off? Was he injured?
MM: No.
Reporter: but he had 6 possessions up til then...
MM: So. Morrison had 25. Stats don't mean anything. (Something about players having to be accountable)
MM was using Morrison of an example of why stats don't mean anything and why stats won't determine which senior players earn their spot on the list.
MM did not raise burns' name. The reporter did. In fact, MM said he didn't want to name names because not a single player with more than 6 years experience were good enough...that would include all senior players, including lockyer.
Go Pies!!!
- jackcass
- surfer1
So is Richards injured again?? cause we look likely to lose Fraser. But then again I actually thought Tex did all rightjackcass wrote:Richards didn't play at all and Davo got through the first half of the Willi seconds game. Moved very well, showed real pace, good leap, and kicked well. Spoke very very briefly to him as he left the QEO (Bendigo Oval) and he said he was happy with his game and the knee pulled up well.
- Johnson#26
- surfer1
- Johnson#26
- surfer1
He played good, but then in a win like that who wouldn't had 19 possessions. Davies had 14, 13 of which were in the first half then he was off the ground. I just reckon with all the bombs coming at him his first half was fantasticJohnson#26 wrote:Thanks surfer. How was Ryan(?) Mundy's game (Freo). Last week looked solid against the Demons.
- Cam
- Has liked: 19 times
- Been liked: 28 times
KYPREO wrote:I watched that press conference in entirety and the comment has been taken out of context. Not exact wording, but my recollections of the press conference...Daniel wrote:What IRKS me is that MM shits on Morrison and especially Burns, while overlooking his little pet Lockyer who is V.C. and shits himself every time he's in traffic or he has to win a ball.
Reporter: Why was Burns taken off? Was he injured?
MM: No.
Reporter: but he had 6 possessions up til then...
MM: So. Morrison had 25. Stats don't mean anything. (Something about players having to be accountable)
MM was using Morrison of an example of why stats don't mean anything and why stats won't determine which senior players earn their spot on the list.
MM did not raise burns' name. The reporter did. In fact, MM said he didn't want to name names because not a single player with more than 6 years experience were good enough...that would include all senior players, including lockyer.
Sshhh! Don't say that. People are going nuts over wild headlines, and creating their own facts as they go. Don't let clear thinking get in the way.
She's a witch!
BURN HER! BURN HER!
Get back on top.
- DaVe86
Cmon guys, even melbourne were beaten by freo and they had no injuries.
To compete against freo in perth you need to be able to rotate the bench. They had 3 on the bench, we had -2. Was going to be hard from the outset. Rheece had to play concussed whilst fraser, trav and licuria all played with injuries. Fox footy mentioned licuria had aggrevated a hamstring. Take into account cam cloke, johnson and presti all pulled out from the side before the game and clement was probably not fit enough to be put onto pavlich which we needed desperately. Theres only so much a coach can do and when you are -2 on the bench, theres nothing a coach can do.
Rowe and yakka were great however both lack the ability to play accountable so far. But take nothing away from them, they were shining lights, as were davies and walker. Good to see walker actually take a mark.
We are up the shit at the moment. WHo knows but, maybe we needed a belting to get us going. Hopefully we can bring back johnson and presti next week and the other injuries come up ok. But expect beltings like this with a young list. Any side playing such a young inexperienced list is due for beltings.
In regards to Tarrant in the midfield, in the age he stated he would only be able to play there midseason when the sists on his knees are fully cleaned out and he is injury free. He isnt fit enough yet.
Hard to criticise the forward line, especially tarrant considering we just did not get the ball at all. What is the forward line supposed to do when the ball isnt coming down, and whats the midfield supposed to do when licuria, burns , woewoedin and davies are on the bench unable to compete proparly.
What i can criticise is the fact that there is more to collingwoods problem than meets the eye. How come these injuries are happening? Is it poor training, is it that the pre season caused more harm than good, is our training staff incapable, is the new facilities playing a role in the injuries??? There must be something, surely there are some players on our list that have some sort of fitness. Ive never seen a team with less than 18 available players.
Great work from rheece shaw to get up after a solid knock and play on when most players may have needed bench time to regain there head a bit. Great effort from licuria too who was apparently suffering from hamstring troubles.
The problem lies with players mick loves. Eg Tarkyn Lockyer, cole, morrison, j cloke. Cole and lockyer especially have no spot in the team anymore, however have no one really to replace them.
Surely lonie is due to come back after a good game with the reserves.
Gut wrenching match to watch but we were never going to win anyway. Not with the available players we had and the fact that only about 15 players on field could compete at 100%. This year may have a few of these results, but if players like iaccobucci and rowe, trav and didak keep flourishing as they are, we will be all the better for it next year if we can recruit well.
To compete against freo in perth you need to be able to rotate the bench. They had 3 on the bench, we had -2. Was going to be hard from the outset. Rheece had to play concussed whilst fraser, trav and licuria all played with injuries. Fox footy mentioned licuria had aggrevated a hamstring. Take into account cam cloke, johnson and presti all pulled out from the side before the game and clement was probably not fit enough to be put onto pavlich which we needed desperately. Theres only so much a coach can do and when you are -2 on the bench, theres nothing a coach can do.
Rowe and yakka were great however both lack the ability to play accountable so far. But take nothing away from them, they were shining lights, as were davies and walker. Good to see walker actually take a mark.
We are up the shit at the moment. WHo knows but, maybe we needed a belting to get us going. Hopefully we can bring back johnson and presti next week and the other injuries come up ok. But expect beltings like this with a young list. Any side playing such a young inexperienced list is due for beltings.
In regards to Tarrant in the midfield, in the age he stated he would only be able to play there midseason when the sists on his knees are fully cleaned out and he is injury free. He isnt fit enough yet.
Hard to criticise the forward line, especially tarrant considering we just did not get the ball at all. What is the forward line supposed to do when the ball isnt coming down, and whats the midfield supposed to do when licuria, burns , woewoedin and davies are on the bench unable to compete proparly.
What i can criticise is the fact that there is more to collingwoods problem than meets the eye. How come these injuries are happening? Is it poor training, is it that the pre season caused more harm than good, is our training staff incapable, is the new facilities playing a role in the injuries??? There must be something, surely there are some players on our list that have some sort of fitness. Ive never seen a team with less than 18 available players.
Great work from rheece shaw to get up after a solid knock and play on when most players may have needed bench time to regain there head a bit. Great effort from licuria too who was apparently suffering from hamstring troubles.
The problem lies with players mick loves. Eg Tarkyn Lockyer, cole, morrison, j cloke. Cole and lockyer especially have no spot in the team anymore, however have no one really to replace them.
Surely lonie is due to come back after a good game with the reserves.
Gut wrenching match to watch but we were never going to win anyway. Not with the available players we had and the fact that only about 15 players on field could compete at 100%. This year may have a few of these results, but if players like iaccobucci and rowe, trav and didak keep flourishing as they are, we will be all the better for it next year if we can recruit well.
There's more to life than footy.........just not much more.