Scott Pendlebury (Silk)
- Johnson#26
- Woods Of Ypres
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 7 times
Why the hell would we throw the new kids into the side already? Geez, Its round 1 FFS. This is the REAL DEAL people, not some pre-season BS competition where we can throw caution to the wind play who we like. At this point we need EXPERIENCE and proven players who will get the job done. The first 6 games are critical. Unless the kids show exceptional work and deemed match ready (ie Daisy) then let them develop!!
Assuming that Clement is OK, I reckon MM will only make one change. Egan out and Burns in.
We have to believe that our forward line will perform this week, so I can't see MM making any other changes. I think the club is closely monitoring Pendlebery's recovery from glandular fever, so they won't be rushing him into the side until he's cherry ripe. By all accounts, we could certainly do with his disposal skills in the midfield.
Re: Pendle's should play this week.
Hey Zakal - would you mind providing the stats to back up this statement. If it's right, I'll meet you at the Victory and buy you a dozen beers.Zakal wrote:
Ben Johnson had the most effective kicks on the ground (of both teams) against the crows mate, not sure it follows that he has to learn to kick after a game like that. Agree his kicking sometimes lets him down, but it didnt on monday
Naturally, if it's wrong - I'll expect you'll do the same!
- Zakal
Re: Pendle's should play this week.
dalyc wrote:Hey Zakal - would you mind providing the stats to back up this statement. If it's right, I'll meet you at the Victory and buy you a dozen beers.Zakal wrote:
Ben Johnson had the most effective kicks on the ground (of both teams) against the crows mate, not sure it follows that he has to learn to kick after a game like that. Agree his kicking sometimes lets him down, but it didnt on monday
Naturally, if it's wrong - I'll expect you'll do the same!
I can only tell you what was reported on the night on the AFL live scoring system (you know the one with all the Top 5 etc stuff?) Unfortunately i dont know how to get teh window back up now that the game is over.
I can only tell you that i distinctly remember saying to others watching the game with me that Johnson had 15 effective kicks which at the time was the top. I also said that he had 20 kicks total, and someone replied "you mean he's got a 25% error rate...thats not too good." However this was not at the final siren, so he may not have stayed top, but im quite sure he was at the time i looked. (cant have been too long before as he didnt get another kick for the game, but given that last qtr...doesnt really mean much)
Im sorry i can't give you anything more concrete than my memory, but i do stand by what i saw...perhaps someone who has access to more detailed stats can check it up?
- David
- Has liked: 17 times
- Been liked: 83 times
I think perhaps the biggest problem is the utterly unnessecary apostrophe in the topic title where's Cam.......
anyway I think we do need to make some changes to the side. Maybe replace Richards with Cameron Cloke and I find it hard to believe that O'Brien and Caracella wouldn't get a game. And Burns goes without saying. Can't think of who should be dropped, but it shouldn't be too hard after last week's game. Those 4 mentioned above would all make a difference I reckon.
"Every time we witness an injustice and do not act, we train our character to be passive in its presence." – Julian Assange
- Zakal
Oh wait...here we go. Found out you can click the link thats in the history.
Turns out i wasnt quite right, he was 2nd overall (by the end anyway) but was still top for Collingwood.
And i was right about the 15 effective too. Im not sure how the 8 clanger stat arose, cos i thought that was only for kicks.
BJ was also equal top in rebounds from 50.
Good to see Swan and Breesy right up there in Contested possessions and rebounds too. (and uncontested possessions, but thats a given when you get over 30).
So, Dalyc, is that good enough to get my beer or not? hehe
Turns out i wasnt quite right, he was 2nd overall (by the end anyway) but was still top for Collingwood.
And i was right about the 15 effective too. Im not sure how the 8 clanger stat arose, cos i thought that was only for kicks.
BJ was also equal top in rebounds from 50.
Good to see Swan and Breesy right up there in Contested possessions and rebounds too. (and uncontested possessions, but thats a given when you get over 30).
So, Dalyc, is that good enough to get my beer or not? hehe
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
- favourites 2008
Doesn't look at the fact we were too tall against adel and are gonna be even taller against the dawks. We need to make changes according to this.Jamie loves Collingwood wrote:In - out
Caracella Egan
Burns B. Johnson
C Cloke G. Richards
Waklin --> Harry
Richards --> C.Cloke
T.Cloke/Egan--->Burns
I dont think that Egan should be in the side but may stay due to MM wont make more than 3 changes and we really need some runners against the dawks. No pemb for me yet....maybe anzac day debut??
- favourites 2008
http://heraldsun8.virtualsports.com.au/ ... ch&pid=156Zakal wrote: And i was right about the 15 effective too. Im not sure how the 8 clanger stat arose, cos i thought that was only for kicks.
all there mate 8 clangers, it wasn't a lie.
- loki04
Can I just point out to people who keep throwing stats at people like "effective kicks", unless you watch the game (sometimes on tv gives u a better indication than live) you don't actually know how effective that kick is e.g if a player chips the ball sideways and a team mate marks it but then has nothing to kick too because the opposition floods that isn't a truly effective kick also if you kick to a contest and it is spoiled even if it is a 2 v 1 it isn't considered a clanger / ineffective disposal (stats wise), but in reality it is a poor option and therefore should be a ineffective disposal.
I respect other peoples opinion, though sometimes on this board people accept too many things that should not be accepted. Even if you went to play for your local club if you continually cost your side possesion/goals you will get dropped to B grade.
Last edited by loki04 on Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- rand corp
I'd seriously be looking at Davies, Hertier, Heath & Booch this week, Rhyce and Rowe can't be far behind depending on injury and form.
Cam and Fanning are waiting in the wings should Trav and Guy continue to struggle.
Stanley looks physically ready so he might get a go sooner rather than later once his hammy is right, Pendles needs to build up and show some consistant form at Willy before I'd be looking to rush him, just back from glandular fever and no hurry he'll get there.
Burns and Carra would have to get a run you'd think.
J Clo, Davis, Trav, Egan look under the pump more than most after round one.
O'B, Tarks, Licca, Roids, Swan all got plenty of it and did make many effective disposals however, its the serial clangers they commit from time to time (and they all do it) that kill us.
One or to NATOS from each of them a game and bang! there's 5 to 10 goals for the opposition -watch the tape.
Ugly as it was, you've got to wonder how they can dick around with the footy for half-and-hour on the half-forward-line and then eventually plant it on a forwards left tit when we couldn't hit Dolly Parton on the tit if she played in our forward line.
Cam and Fanning are waiting in the wings should Trav and Guy continue to struggle.
Stanley looks physically ready so he might get a go sooner rather than later once his hammy is right, Pendles needs to build up and show some consistant form at Willy before I'd be looking to rush him, just back from glandular fever and no hurry he'll get there.
O'B, Tarks, Licca, Roids, Swan all got plenty of it and did make many effective disposals however, its the serial clangers they commit from time to time (and they all do it) that kill us.
One or to NATOS from each of them a game and bang! there's 5 to 10 goals for the opposition -watch the tape.
Ugly as it was, you've got to wonder how they can dick around with the footy for half-and-hour on the half-forward-line and then eventually plant it on a forwards left tit when we couldn't hit Dolly Parton on the tit if she played in our forward line.
- loki04
Well said!rand corp wrote:I'd seriously be looking at Davies, Hertier, Heath & Booch this week, Rhyce and Rowe can't be far behind depending on injury and form.