herald slime 'you scumbags'
- CQ
i was thinking that myself! f**k! keeping in mind COLLINGWOOD were the ones who won why did the oranges make the front page and the back and i reckon there was more in the paper about THEM than US!! it is simply ridiculous... though i wonder what shite mike sheehan will think of to next criticise the pies, such a prick.
- Has liked: 5 times
- Been liked: 1 time
Here is the latest drivel this wanker has wrote for our enjoyment. Again, as usual sorry for posting a Sheahan article.
Hey Mick, your out of line this time
By Mike Sheahan
Tuesday, August 01, 2000
FIRST things first. Michael Malthouse had right on his side
on Sunday evening when he unloaded on the AFL over the
obvious clash in uniforms at Colonial Stadium.
It was nonsensical of the league, and predictably so, to
agree to the request from the Roos to appear in gear
almost identical to the Collingwood uniform from the waist
down.
And we're forgetting, for the moment, the blatant
commercialism of the exercise.
Yet the Collingwood coach was way out of line in his
post-match bucketing of the AFL with all the bile he can
muster.
He said: ''Someone said to me once 'how many people
work at the AFL'? It's a bit like asking how many people
work in the public service?
''None.
''Or very few.
''Because where's their brains? Who is the bloke there that
has any brains in this matter?
''What genius is in there that is going to come up with
another color that has the bottom half almost identical to
the club they're playing?''
That ''genius'' is Ben Buckley, the AFL's general manager
of commercial operations, and a former North Melbourne
player.
Buckley made a blue in allowing the Roos to wear black
shorts and socks.
No doubt.
Yet all of us make blues, even Michael Malthouse if we
look at recruiting decisions at West Coast and Collingwood
in recent years.
He has grossly insulted the central administration.
While he will please a large section of the public in doing
so, he has been both unfair and personal.
He's played the man, and we're not supposed to do that in
football these days.
The people at the AFL work just as hard as the people in
the clubs, without the joy of victory. They can and do get
it wrong.
Probably more than they should when we think of
fixturing, for example, but it's the decisions not the people
that should be attacked.
I wrote a week ago the AFL needed to be more mindful of
the traditions of the game.
Acceding to club requests is one thing; it's something else
when those decisions are to the detriment of the game.
Malthouse predicted he would get a call to explain himself
''because they're (the AFL) geniuses at making you have
to answer criticism''.
As he said ''they've got to get it right'', yet they've got
their business right to such an extent AFL coaches earn
as much as $650,000 a year these days, and, as he
knows only too well, some of them once earned a meagre
income from the public service.
Malthouse was king of the castle in Perth for a decade,
and said what he liked to whomever he liked, whenever he
chose. It's different in Melbourne. He is just one of 10 AFL
coaches in this state.
Nine of them would have been far more considered in their
responses to the same situation on Sunday afternoon,
flagging an intention to raise the matter via their chief
executive or president.
For those of us up the road at the MCG while the Oranges
and Lemons mixed it at Colonial, football seemed to be in
fine shape. An Olympic tribute featuring Ron Barassi, Mark
Taylor and other sporting legends preceded an enthralling
first half between Melbourne and Geelong, and a flowing,
generally exciting contest in front of 75,000 people.
Hey Mick, your out of line this time
By Mike Sheahan
Tuesday, August 01, 2000
FIRST things first. Michael Malthouse had right on his side
on Sunday evening when he unloaded on the AFL over the
obvious clash in uniforms at Colonial Stadium.
It was nonsensical of the league, and predictably so, to
agree to the request from the Roos to appear in gear
almost identical to the Collingwood uniform from the waist
down.
And we're forgetting, for the moment, the blatant
commercialism of the exercise.
Yet the Collingwood coach was way out of line in his
post-match bucketing of the AFL with all the bile he can
muster.
He said: ''Someone said to me once 'how many people
work at the AFL'? It's a bit like asking how many people
work in the public service?
''None.
''Or very few.
''Because where's their brains? Who is the bloke there that
has any brains in this matter?
''What genius is in there that is going to come up with
another color that has the bottom half almost identical to
the club they're playing?''
That ''genius'' is Ben Buckley, the AFL's general manager
of commercial operations, and a former North Melbourne
player.
Buckley made a blue in allowing the Roos to wear black
shorts and socks.
No doubt.
Yet all of us make blues, even Michael Malthouse if we
look at recruiting decisions at West Coast and Collingwood
in recent years.
He has grossly insulted the central administration.
While he will please a large section of the public in doing
so, he has been both unfair and personal.
He's played the man, and we're not supposed to do that in
football these days.
The people at the AFL work just as hard as the people in
the clubs, without the joy of victory. They can and do get
it wrong.
Probably more than they should when we think of
fixturing, for example, but it's the decisions not the people
that should be attacked.
I wrote a week ago the AFL needed to be more mindful of
the traditions of the game.
Acceding to club requests is one thing; it's something else
when those decisions are to the detriment of the game.
Malthouse predicted he would get a call to explain himself
''because they're (the AFL) geniuses at making you have
to answer criticism''.
As he said ''they've got to get it right'', yet they've got
their business right to such an extent AFL coaches earn
as much as $650,000 a year these days, and, as he
knows only too well, some of them once earned a meagre
income from the public service.
Malthouse was king of the castle in Perth for a decade,
and said what he liked to whomever he liked, whenever he
chose. It's different in Melbourne. He is just one of 10 AFL
coaches in this state.
Nine of them would have been far more considered in their
responses to the same situation on Sunday afternoon,
flagging an intention to raise the matter via their chief
executive or president.
For those of us up the road at the MCG while the Oranges
and Lemons mixed it at Colonial, football seemed to be in
fine shape. An Olympic tribute featuring Ron Barassi, Mark
Taylor and other sporting legends preceded an enthralling
first half between Melbourne and Geelong, and a flowing,
generally exciting contest in front of 75,000 people.
- CQ
he is a dickhead, how dare he crap on about such shit saying that mick was king of the castle in perth. that bloody mike sheehan thinks he is king of the castle in melb and can say whatever HE wants, so why can't mick?? he is just a stupid old bastard who craps on about shit, oh and 'talking footy' would have to be teh most boring show regarding footy that exists. liven it up a little mick.
- Greg J
Sheahan you hypocritical tosser.
How much do tossers like you get paid by the Hun? When people put out the more respected Hot Pies for love!
It is Sheahan you tosses his football opinions day in, day out. Geez, he gets the chance to think about them before he gets to put them down, and they are still drivel. MM, I believe, was being interviewed by journalists directly after an emotional win, surely it is to be expected that all that is said is not considered or prudent (regardless of whether it is true).
Oranges and Lemons! You will pay for that the rest of life Sheahan!
How much do tossers like you get paid by the Hun? When people put out the more respected Hot Pies for love!
It is Sheahan you tosses his football opinions day in, day out. Geez, he gets the chance to think about them before he gets to put them down, and they are still drivel. MM, I believe, was being interviewed by journalists directly after an emotional win, surely it is to be expected that all that is said is not considered or prudent (regardless of whether it is true).
Oranges and Lemons! You will pay for that the rest of life Sheahan!