Scott Pendlebury (Silk)
- RayByrneForPOPE
Please Call me a moron If you want OK, BUT I watched every Gippsland Power home game and most training sessions last year snd I agree Pendles is a gun but the fact of the matter is Xavier Ellis was 10 times better then Thomas and Pendles put together! He plays his first game 4 box hill hawks tomorrow. But thats only my opinion peoples Thomas and Pendles are stars!
- David
- Has liked: 17 times
- Been liked: 83 times
I don't really see the point in saying that though, especially considering how excellent Daisy and Pendlebury have already been. When all three players have retired, maybe we can look back in hindsight and see whether it was a good drafting move. So far I have no complaints about our drafting choices...
"Every time we witness an injustice and do not act, we train our character to be passive in its presence." – Julian Assange
- couragous cloke
Recently spoke to an old teacher of mine who was physio for Vic Metro last season..
He told me that he (and Hawthorn for that matter) would have taken Daisy over Ellis. He said that not only was Daisy more ready to play AFL, but that he had a higher ceiling.
Also told me last year when all the talk was 'Pendles at pick 20' that he was going to be a lot higher. Pendles ends up at pick 5 and I'm willing to put any money on that it is infact Scott Pendlebury that will be talked about most from this draft class.
If he is playing this well in game 3, how good will he be after 2 or 3 AFL preseasons and finals experience?
Think im getting too excited here after one game...
He told me that he (and Hawthorn for that matter) would have taken Daisy over Ellis. He said that not only was Daisy more ready to play AFL, but that he had a higher ceiling.
Also told me last year when all the talk was 'Pendles at pick 20' that he was going to be a lot higher. Pendles ends up at pick 5 and I'm willing to put any money on that it is infact Scott Pendlebury that will be talked about most from this draft class.
If he is playing this well in game 3, how good will he be after 2 or 3 AFL preseasons and finals experience?
Think im getting too excited here after one game...
got yourself a gun...
- daicos from the boundry
- RayByrneForPOPE
I reckon we got great picks in Thomo and Pendles all I am sayin is what I seen guys! Dont get me wrong these 2 kids are great pick ups but fair dinkum Xavier Ellis mate JUST watch him. I love watching the power play i fit it in between my young blokes footy and going down to watch THE PIES! We have another gun this year Lachlan Hansen I think his name is. Anyway GO THE PIES..........
PS Just have a look at Xavier OK
- lethalburns
- leelee
- loki04
He is as quick as most so called "quick players" , he has an uncanny ability to extract the ball out of packs , great vertical leap , great kick , great hands , missed all of preseason not mention only in his 2nd year of footy since he was 13. Yet still made the senior squad after dominating willy and has great vision +evasive skills, but there is nothing special in him is there.lethalburns wrote:only thing I can tell about Pendles thus far is that -
he has a good kick.
he isnt quick.
decent height.
decent hands.
other than that his ability is a mystery to me. I dont think he is a stand out by any stretch of the imagination. not yet anyway
I don't want to sound like i'm having a dig at you because I don't know you apart from your posts on here. However, pendles is the kind of player who for my mind you can just see how good he is, and that isn't in getting 40 touches and kicking 5 goals a game. I'm far from an expert, very, very far, but it was 10mins into the first game at Williamstown you could just tell something, it was almost an intangible but i spent the next 3 1/2 quarters not shutting up about him. Next game if you have the patience, just watch Pendles, spend 5 mins being your own playercam. You might then see something. You say he isn't quick, which is true but he has the quickest football brain.lethalburns wrote:only thing I can tell about Pendles thus far is that -
he has a good kick.
he isnt quick.
decent height.
decent hands.
other than that his ability is a mystery to me. I dont think he is a stand out by any stretch of the imagination. not yet anyway
I'm reticent to say to much about a kid, but i genuinly look foward to going to the footy to just watch him play, not many 1st year players I can say that about.
- die4pies
Great post.WKB wrote: I don't want to sound like i'm having a dig at you because I don't know you apart from your posts on here. However, pendles is the kind of player who for my mind you can just see how good he is, and that isn't in getting 40 touches and kicking 5 goals a game. I'm far from an expert, very, very far, but it was 10mins into the first game at Williamstown you could just tell something, it was almost an intangible but i spent the next 3 1/2 quarters not shutting up about him. Next game if you have the patience, just watch Pendles, spend 5 mins being your own playercam. You might then see something. You say he isn't quick, which is true but he has the quickest football brain.
I'm reticent to say to much about a kid, but i genuinly look foward to going to the footy to just watch him play, not many 1st year players I can say that about.
Scott has deceptive pace. As I have said before, he is a cruiser, not a sprinter like Dale.
What is amazing is his uncanny ability to find gaps and make space for himself even in the most crowded situations.
"MAKE COLLINGWOOD GRATE AGAIN"
- DaVe86
Well i said last week that i wasnt sure about his ability to put his head over it and back into packs.
He did both many times last night. In the first quarter he backed into oncoming traffic, took a knock and brought the ball to ground. He laid a nice tackle, and also the brilliant steal in the last summed it up.
Thought with Holland and Swan due back that he would be the first choice to drop, but i tell you what he went a long way to securing a spot last night
He did both many times last night. In the first quarter he backed into oncoming traffic, took a knock and brought the ball to ground. He laid a nice tackle, and also the brilliant steal in the last summed it up.
Thought with Holland and Swan due back that he would be the first choice to drop, but i tell you what he went a long way to securing a spot last night
There's more to life than footy.........just not much more.