Scott Pendlebury (Silk)

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Been liked: 148 times

luvlicca wrote:in reference to someones post earlier about pendles reminding them of dal santo, im pretty sure one of the commentators mentioned that on sunday as well..... interesting!!
He's better than Dal Santo.
luvlicca

Post by luvlicca »

I didnt say he wasnt jusst pointing out that the commentators are already comparing him to the likes of.....
- Thanks for the memories Licca - I'm gonna miss you!!! - Bring on 2008 - Nick Maxwell has my vote for Captain -
Been liked: 148 times

luvlicca wrote:I didnt say he wasnt jusst pointing out that the commentators are already comparing him to the likes of.....
I wasn't having a go at you, merely stating that I think he's better.
luvlicca

Post by luvlicca »

I knw you werent, sorry if it came across like I thought you were. I was just stating they (the commentators) have picked up on it too!!
- Thanks for the memories Licca - I'm gonna miss you!!! - Bring on 2008 - Nick Maxwell has my vote for Captain -

Where were you stating they the commentators picked up on it?
ad4eva

Post by ad4eva »

jabso#5 wrote:Buuuuuuuuuuuump.

Where's eddie?
banned :lol:

i know its only early but gee wizz, hasnt pendles come along with his footy and really making a name for himself in the football world!

keep going mate.
Zakal

Scott Pendlebury...i think we need another thread.

Post by Zakal »

It seems like we have a thread about this kid every other week...but seriously...how good is he?

His first half today was absolutely sensational. He's a fantastic kick of the ball, incredible thru traffic, and unlike some of the early reports about him in junior footy...he is no soft-receiver.

He had 20 touches, and 12 were contested. Was the third highest ranked player on the ground, and was #1 at half time.

He's a very smart player who's quick thinking buys him crucial seconds at pretty much every contest, backed up with sound decision making and very reliable disposal....

....The Panther....gotta love him.
Magpie Since 1986

Post by Magpie Since 1986 »

He sticks out like a sore thumb in our midfield, just a class above. 20 touches and at least a goal every week, it is hard to believe this is only his 2nd year of AFL.
Proud Pies

Post by Proud Pies »

And they interviewed him after the game. He comes across very level headed and mature.

This guy is the real thing and is going to be a huge in the future. I reckon bigger than Judd or Buddy.
Jacqui © Proud Pies 2003 and beyond
noddy,

Post by noddy, »

would have to be having the best season of the rising star nominees
i like beer.
azza102

Post by azza102 »

In traffic he is willing to get the hands up and take the initial tackle before firing off a handball. He is definatelly not a receiver!
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

He even tried for the Mark of the Year
Farfalla Vendetta

Post by Farfalla Vendetta »

Pendles is already a star - forget potential - he's doing it NOW

Every week I wait for him to have a quiet one, because let's face it - he's only played a handful of games and young players are inconsistent - but he just keeps on performing and keeps on finding the ball and the goals.

The thing I love most though is his height and what this promises - once he fills out a bit more he will be one of those midfield players who rather than sitting on the bench can be rested forward - and he will be just as effective operating inside 50 as he will be running around the middle.

Pendles is a STAR
I am Dick Pratt's lovechild... He disowned me because I support the Pies!
Doska#6

Post by Doska#6 »

I remember Round 1 last year against Adelaide on that Monday night. Dale Thomas was starring and there was a bloke sitting next to me saying if you think this kid is good wait till you see Scott Pendelbury and that bloke was right on the money. This kid is already a star,
Zakal

Post by Zakal »

Farfalla Vendetta wrote:Pendles is already a star - forget potential - he's doing it NOW

Every week I wait for him to have a quiet one, because let's face it - he's only played a handful of games and young players are inconsistent - but he just keeps on performing and keeps on finding the ball and the goals.

The thing I love most though is his height and what this promises - once he fills out a bit more he will be one of those midfield players who rather than sitting on the bench can be rested forward - and he will be just as effective operating inside 50 as he will be running around the middle.

Pendles is a STAR
Yeah thats right. The best thing about Pendles is that he seems to have moved past that young-player inconsistency that they struggle with on a weekly basis. I.e. they have a great game one week, then go unsighted for 3-4.

He has already narrowed the extent of his inconsistency down to a quarter or 2 per game. Like i dont think he has played 4 quarters as dominant as his two in the first half last night, yet this year (except maybe the Carlton game). (this is not a criticism)

Most players spend their careers trying to do SOMETHING, on a weekly basis. The Panther is there after 20 games. (or less). The only thing seperating him from the 'super-star' class of player now (other than doing it for 3 more years) is producing a DOMINANT 4-qtr effort under a tag.

The thing about the all-time greats like Bucks, is that it was dominant 4qtr effort they produced EVERY week, of every season, and in Buck's case...for pretty much his entire career. In that level of consistency i believe Buckley to be nigh on unmatched.

Im not expecting Pendles to necessarily be THAT consistent, but if he sets his goal to be able to accomplish something each week, but ever other week or so be able to put in a 4qtr effort where he constantly damages the opposition, he will be fast on his way to a Copeland and or Brownlow.