Collingwood v Bendigo Bombers
- loki04
And Stanley in the best again.Dave The Man wrote:Dawes Best Again2008 VFL Seniors
Collingwood 4.9 7.12 11.14 20.16 (136)
Bendigo Bombers 2.1 2.3 4.8 6.10 (46)
GOALS:
Collingwood: Dawes 3 McCarthy 3 Licuria 3 MacAffer 3 Holland 2 Casey-Leigh Egan Crow Lonie Fraser Barham
Bendigo Bombers: Weeks 5 Bellchambers
BEST:
Collingwood: Dawes Stanley Carmody McCarthy Iles Lonie
Bendigo Bombers: Weeks Hooker Dempsey Holmes Flaherty Young
REPORTED PLAYERS:
Collingwood: Nil
Bendigo Bombers: Nil
- Cakewalk
Stanley will have to play next week , has been prolific and constructive in recent weeks , and is hard. He should be given at least 2 games in a row to adapt and see if he can cut it in the guts , whether he gets run down a few times like last time or not.
Dawes would also have to be close , he was dominant today , against admittedly weakened opposition . He can allow Travis to play that deeper forward role that he played yesterday , without throwing us out of whack as much.
I also reckon Barham's a better player than he is has been given credit for. He's not a great kick , but at the same time he's not as terrible as I think he has been made out to be. Is quick and has a natural inclination to take the game on. He just needs to build up his fitness base next year so he can get to more contests , and be ready to put his hand up at senior level.
Credit to Lonie today , he actually seemed to earn more of his kicks today , and was more direct when he got it. Also gave a mouthful to a group of pre-pubescent voiced Essendon supporters behind the goals , when he kicked one in the last.
Dawes would also have to be close , he was dominant today , against admittedly weakened opposition . He can allow Travis to play that deeper forward role that he played yesterday , without throwing us out of whack as much.
I also reckon Barham's a better player than he is has been given credit for. He's not a great kick , but at the same time he's not as terrible as I think he has been made out to be. Is quick and has a natural inclination to take the game on. He just needs to build up his fitness base next year so he can get to more contests , and be ready to put his hand up at senior level.
Credit to Lonie today , he actually seemed to earn more of his kicks today , and was more direct when he got it. Also gave a mouthful to a group of pre-pubescent voiced Essendon supporters behind the goals , when he kicked one in the last.
"Are you an angry man? Are you envious? Do you get envious? I have competition in me. I want no one else to succeed. I hate most people. At times, I look at people and I see nothing worth liking. "
- DaVe86
How about Lonie guys...he has been quietly getting in our best the last few times i checked.
All he can do is play well...which he is. Surely his skills could be an asset. And dont tell me he cannot play defensive because i remember him doing fantastic shut down jobs on Goodes, Embley and Green. He may not be tough, but he's accountable.
Surely the guy deserves one last crack before we all give up on him.
Given Jonno's senior form, there is a spot now for him.
All he can do is play well...which he is. Surely his skills could be an asset. And dont tell me he cannot play defensive because i remember him doing fantastic shut down jobs on Goodes, Embley and Green. He may not be tough, but he's accountable.
Surely the guy deserves one last crack before we all give up on him.
Given Jonno's senior form, there is a spot now for him.
There's more to life than footy.........just not much more.
- die4pies
- Dave The Man
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 21 times
- virgomag
podpicken, he may have had three or four in a row now but that means nothing.
MM told Caff at the Frankston game if he continued with his work rate and consistency he'd be elevated............ that was on 20th April !!!
But jeez it's good to see some of the young fella's doing well; they're our future !!
MM told Caff at the Frankston game if he continued with his work rate and consistency he'd be elevated............ that was on 20th April !!!
But jeez it's good to see some of the young fella's doing well; they're our future !!
- Podpicken
Yep, it is great to see they're firing, mate.virgomag wrote:podpicken, he may have had three or four in a row now but that means nothing.
But respectfully Virgomag, I can't see how three or four in a row can mean nothing when we're screaming for a big bodied forward and here we have Dawesy in the magoos, young and keen who can take a grab, can bust packs and can kick the ball accurately. If he's not worthy of a chance now, how hard would it be for him to break in for a go at it if Rusling, Rocca and Reid were all on the park?
Billy Picken, the great No. 25 in the sky!
- jonesy86
- jack_spain
Good point mate. Travis Cloke needs some big-bodied help up in the forward line. We know how physically massive the Hawks are. Now might be the time to roll the dice with Dawes. See how he handles the pressure - chances are we'll lose the game anyway. But, it might just come off.Podpicken wrote:it's not one performance. He's had three or four now. Throw Dawesy into the fray, I say. You never know ... he just might like the better delivery!
Great to see mccarthy bag a few and get in the best, that actually excites me more than anything. He's tough too.