hahaha more mature people - so whos ya pick of spunks from the All Australian side --> Craig Bradley no doubt!
???
Your Fav Pie Memory's
Ah Magpie Greg
You lucky bastard. What an amazing repetoire of memories you've got.
I'm certainly OLD enough to have seen all those great moments, but unfortunately, being South Australian, my great memories tend to be Port Adelaide ones which I certainly won't bore you good people with.
I saw Collingwood lose to Sturt in an end-of-season match at Adelaide Oval in 1966. It was supposed to be between the two premiers but St.Kilda couldn't be bothered coming. Collingwood came instead but I think they treated it more like a party than a serious match and got beaten pretty easily. The Port Cheer Squad (which I was a member of) turned up in force that day to barrack for Collingwood.
Next time I saw Collingwood was at Junction Oval against Fitzroy in 1972. We won by about 4 goals after coming from behind. It made the hitch-hiking from Adelaide worth while.
Next time I saw them was at Victoria Park against Hawthorn in 1974. I remember it was a heart-stopping finish and we won by a few points.
I saw them again at the S.C.G. in 1983, when I was living in Sydney. I'd backed them to win and was supremely confident. We lost. Unfortunately I'd backed them with money I didn't have and I had a few problems paying up. I learned a lesson about living beyond my means.
The next time I saw them was against Carlton late in the 1994 season. I'd been awake all night on the Overland train and it was like being in a dream. Huge crowd. Amazing atmosphere. But Mil Hanna completely destroyed us. The only good thing that happened was a Buckley screamer on the Members wing late in the game when it was all over.
Sorry, but that's the best this particular old fogey can manage.
Actually, the 1996 season was interesting. It was my last year living in Adelaide. Collingwood had a very mediocre season and we finished in the wrong half of the ladder again. I managed to get to five matches that year.
Against Fremantle at Victoria Park. We won easily after McGuane went berserk.
ANZAC Day V Essendon. We came from about 7 goals down in the first quarter to win. Sav played a blinder.
Against North when we beat them easily (that game has already been described in this thread)
Against Footscray late in the season. We opened up a huge lead early but fell in a heap in the last quarter. In the dying stages of the match, as a the ground became shrouded in a dense fog, we just hung on to win narrowly.
And then, the highlight of the season, at Football Park in the 2nd-to-last game. We played the Crows and beat the crap out of them in front of their home crowd. For a South Australian Collingwood fan with an intense hatred for the Crows that was an amazing experience.
So, in the 1996 season ... in which Collingwood had a shit year ... I went to 5 Collingwood matches. And we won them all. I remember being convinced at the time that I was The Club's good luck charm. That theory has since been proven wrong. Many times over.
You lucky bastard. What an amazing repetoire of memories you've got.
I'm certainly OLD enough to have seen all those great moments, but unfortunately, being South Australian, my great memories tend to be Port Adelaide ones which I certainly won't bore you good people with.
I saw Collingwood lose to Sturt in an end-of-season match at Adelaide Oval in 1966. It was supposed to be between the two premiers but St.Kilda couldn't be bothered coming. Collingwood came instead but I think they treated it more like a party than a serious match and got beaten pretty easily. The Port Cheer Squad (which I was a member of) turned up in force that day to barrack for Collingwood.
Next time I saw Collingwood was at Junction Oval against Fitzroy in 1972. We won by about 4 goals after coming from behind. It made the hitch-hiking from Adelaide worth while.
Next time I saw them was at Victoria Park against Hawthorn in 1974. I remember it was a heart-stopping finish and we won by a few points.
I saw them again at the S.C.G. in 1983, when I was living in Sydney. I'd backed them to win and was supremely confident. We lost. Unfortunately I'd backed them with money I didn't have and I had a few problems paying up. I learned a lesson about living beyond my means.
The next time I saw them was against Carlton late in the 1994 season. I'd been awake all night on the Overland train and it was like being in a dream. Huge crowd. Amazing atmosphere. But Mil Hanna completely destroyed us. The only good thing that happened was a Buckley screamer on the Members wing late in the game when it was all over.
Sorry, but that's the best this particular old fogey can manage.
Actually, the 1996 season was interesting. It was my last year living in Adelaide. Collingwood had a very mediocre season and we finished in the wrong half of the ladder again. I managed to get to five matches that year.
Against Fremantle at Victoria Park. We won easily after McGuane went berserk.
ANZAC Day V Essendon. We came from about 7 goals down in the first quarter to win. Sav played a blinder.
Against North when we beat them easily (that game has already been described in this thread)
Against Footscray late in the season. We opened up a huge lead early but fell in a heap in the last quarter. In the dying stages of the match, as a the ground became shrouded in a dense fog, we just hung on to win narrowly.
And then, the highlight of the season, at Football Park in the 2nd-to-last game. We played the Crows and beat the crap out of them in front of their home crowd. For a South Australian Collingwood fan with an intense hatred for the Crows that was an amazing experience.
So, in the 1996 season ... in which Collingwood had a shit year ... I went to 5 Collingwood matches. And we won them all. I remember being convinced at the time that I was The Club's good luck charm. That theory has since been proven wrong. Many times over.
- Greg J
My first game at Vic Park, was in the 70's, must have been 74, maybe 75. My family had just moved back from Western Oz, and my brother and I had chosed to support Collingwood, my 2 sisters Carlscum. The battle lines were drawn.
I must have been 7 or 8 when my mum took me brother and I to Vic Park to see us play North (my mum's team).
I think we got there late, as I remember the game already being on when we got there. We never got a seat, initially we just stood in the race between the grandstands and tried to watch the game.
What I remember, is the crowd of black and white. And I do mean crowd. I could barely see the game, but I do remember catching glimpses of my heroes Peter McKenna and Len Thompson in full flight (and also the original man who ate the last donut, Doug Wade).
It was enough for me (and my brother). Even though we did not see much of the game, even though we did not really understand whereabouts in Melbourne we were, even though we copped heaps each Monday morning at our new school, even though we had barely arrived in Melbourne and had just chosen our team, we knew we had chosen correctly and that we were Collingwood men for life.
Our family north in 1979 and we became separated from our beloved Collingwood. I took to reading the Australian just to get the scores. We survived on a single (albeit live) Saturday game each week (if you did not have to go off to basketball training).
We put with the Pies making and losing the '79, '80 and '81 finals. I remember being 17 and watching the '81 final in the hotel opposite the Manly Pier. My brother went to the toilet in the fourth quarter and by the time he came back, it was all over (he has vowed never to go to the toilet during a game since. There was nothing left to do except get pissed. I remember being at a party later that night committing a cardinal sin. I told all the stupid Sydney people that my dad owned the Collingwood footy club (I told them everyone knew the VFL clubs were privately owned). I explained that our dad had banned us from attending, coz we had been to the previous two grand finals and we had lost then both, so we where considered bad luck. Argh to be young, irresponsible and amongst football cretins!
I must have been 7 or 8 when my mum took me brother and I to Vic Park to see us play North (my mum's team).
I think we got there late, as I remember the game already being on when we got there. We never got a seat, initially we just stood in the race between the grandstands and tried to watch the game.
What I remember, is the crowd of black and white. And I do mean crowd. I could barely see the game, but I do remember catching glimpses of my heroes Peter McKenna and Len Thompson in full flight (and also the original man who ate the last donut, Doug Wade).
It was enough for me (and my brother). Even though we did not see much of the game, even though we did not really understand whereabouts in Melbourne we were, even though we copped heaps each Monday morning at our new school, even though we had barely arrived in Melbourne and had just chosen our team, we knew we had chosen correctly and that we were Collingwood men for life.
Our family north in 1979 and we became separated from our beloved Collingwood. I took to reading the Australian just to get the scores. We survived on a single (albeit live) Saturday game each week (if you did not have to go off to basketball training).
We put with the Pies making and losing the '79, '80 and '81 finals. I remember being 17 and watching the '81 final in the hotel opposite the Manly Pier. My brother went to the toilet in the fourth quarter and by the time he came back, it was all over (he has vowed never to go to the toilet during a game since. There was nothing left to do except get pissed. I remember being at a party later that night committing a cardinal sin. I told all the stupid Sydney people that my dad owned the Collingwood footy club (I told them everyone knew the VFL clubs were privately owned). I explained that our dad had banned us from attending, coz we had been to the previous two grand finals and we had lost then both, so we where considered bad luck. Argh to be young, irresponsible and amongst football cretins!
- London Dave
Magpie Greg, I remember your games 9, 10 and 11 well. I recall a game v Fitzroy in the 79-81 period at VFL park. Must have been 50pts down at 3/4 time (well, a lot anyway) and we got up and won. I mentioned in an earlier post those were the best kind wins. Tuddy was pretty awesome in the 66 2sf. He was a bloody hard man. According to two of may mates who were there, and saw it, it wasnt O'Dea that clocked Greening, it was another well known Saints player.
What do people think of Brian Taylor. I always liked him cos he had a bit of mongrel in him, and was good value. perhaps we could do with a few loose nuts like him now.
I dont want to sound like "perceptive fellow" here
But i can remember a collingwood side that used to be feared
we used to win more than we lost.
we were guaranteed a finals spot every year.
and the sad thing really is it wasnt that long ago
WE CERTAINLY HAVE COME FROM BUCKINGHAM PALACE TO THE RUINS OF BAGHDAD.........
But i can remember a collingwood side that used to be feared
we used to win more than we lost.
we were guaranteed a finals spot every year.
and the sad thing really is it wasnt that long ago
WE CERTAINLY HAVE COME FROM BUCKINGHAM PALACE TO THE RUINS OF BAGHDAD.........
- London Dave
I stand corrected Magpie Greg. I just remember that game cos it was a great comeback. Whilst not on the magic game memory, 20 odd years ago, and ex pie player from the great 20-30's sides lived next door to my mate (Fitzroy) in Alphington. He was pretty old, but I remember him asking me over for a beer after he heard I was a pies fan. I had no idea who he was before going into his house. He had this magpie shrine in his house, with all his old stuff, pics of the legends of the time (including him I s'pose) and stuff like that. Talking with this guy (I think his name was Les or Len) was just awesome.
Joffa, your last post reminded me of the day, cos this bloke was pretty old but you could see his eyes burning with passion when he talked to me about the pies. I think its the only time in my life I ever just listened! In those days we were feared! Lets hope they return. I also recall hearing Ron Richards deliver a few half time addresses when he was ressies coach. There is a bloke with black and white blood!