Bradman ... Phar Lap ... Cathy Freeman

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

London Dave

Post by London Dave »

Re reading this page , Alf, I thought about your final comment regarding the bad guys winning. They don't always. Look at the SAfrican sports boycott. Don't forget the tortoise and hare. Mike, that is pretty spot on regarding the apology debate. It was interesting to watch it from afar, especially with the UN treaty signings (or refusals to do so). Most people vote through their wallet (which is their right) I suppose. Keep on with the dreaming Alf, someones got to mate.
jeff#2001

Post by jeff#2001 »

Top reply mike my sentiments exactly
gee i wish i had an intelligent way with words like your self and alf.

It coulda been oh so different if it wasnt for 'bags' my little
over the top 'get every thing done correct' strict little horrible bastard of a principle who had the nerve to tell me mid way through year nine my services as a student were no longer required.
jeff#2001

Post by jeff#2001 »

ok im back i just went down the local newsagents and got a dictionary !!!!!!
Mike
Has liked: 89 times
Been liked: 26 times

Post by Mike »

Joffa, we are all blind when it comes to looking at ourselves.

I can write two paragraphs and still miss the passion, energy and meaning that you manage to cram into a few words. The envy is mutual.

Post by Greg J »

Alf, on his soap box, cool.

Fancy throwing the truth at us. The purists, the romantists will always get screwed by the people looking out for themselves.

Next year, I pledge to bring my own food the footy so the caterers do not make super profits out fo me. That's my bit for a better society. I am saying NO the $3.50 (or whatever) cold hotdogs. Of course, the traditional Pie'n'sauce is exempt from such a stand.

No more time to go on. The call of work is deafening. Geez Alf, I am looking at the American Consulate right now, and for a change no-one is picketing it!

aaahhh greg j how can u go without footy food!
I couldnt go to a game without my traditional chips soaked to buggery in salt, vinegar, sauce then more salt and vinegar hehe! Enough to give u a heart attack if Collingwood doesnt already! 3 bucks 30 just for that though but i think i make up more than 3 bucks 30 worth in sauce and shit anyway hehe! it is so expensive to go to the footy but with all this extra crap and if u are crazy like me and go from morning till night like to 2 in one day then its heaps dear! U know wot Collingwood should do --->make one of them transport passes like Saints so u dont have to pay for train as well. Then u pay for everything at the start of the year---> gate in memberships and travel in the transport pass then once the footys on u dont need 2 take as much money. Sounding a bit scabby now but the AFL r just such robbers sometimes!

Image ??? Image
MAGPIE MANIAC

Post by MAGPIE MANIAC »

JOHNNY HOWARD isn't game to say sorry to the aboriginol people of the lost generation because that would be admitting the Government was wrong and then it would cost billions in compensation. Anyway Well done Cathy!!!
DIPPER

Post by DIPPER »

Bradman,Phar Lap,CAthy Freeman?I may just be an ignorant Pom but I can see that Cathy Freeman is a fair dinkum Aussie from way back and I can see that the Don is a true blue Aussie albeit full of northern European blood but Phar Lap!even I know that Phar Lap is a friggin KIWI so come on Aussies you can't have that one it's bad enough you try to claim Kostatzu.I have to say though congrats on the Olympics they were the best I've ever seen.
Ps come on the Hawks

Post by AlfAndrews »

OK. I admit Phar Lap was born in New Zealand. And he was owned by an American. But he was trained in Sydney and did all his racing in Australia (until that ill-fated American campaign). So I think we can claim him ... sort of.

In any case, never let the facts stand in the way of a good story.