Ben Cousins - He's back (now at Richmond) [Merged Threads]

All trade and draft talk here thanks..... this means you DTM!!!!

jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

Alec. J. Hidell wrote:
jack_spain wrote:
Alec. J. Hidell wrote:So we're agreed then?

The decision is the correct one?
No, not if our midfield remains so impotent!

Just one question for everyone: What if our young blokes DON'T take their career to the next level? I can see Hawthorn winning two or three more flags with their current team, Geelong maybe another one, and I reckon the Scum will get one before we ever do again. :P
Oh ooh ooh I know this one

We all whinge like moaning little bitches and consider slashing our wrists, yes?
I seriously wonder how a decision made long ago when I was a kid has caused me so much pain. If I'd decided on Hawthorn instead of Collingwood I'd have enjoyed nine (count them!), nine premierships. But, as you well know there is no turning back. I'm a Collingwood supporter for life, but sometimes I wonder why I am such a masochist.

When I see what loyal lackeys so many people are on Nick's ("My footy club right or wrong!") I just shake my head. Change is a necessary part of life, but so many Collingwood supporters just put up with whatever spin is regurgitated from the LC.
Alec. J. Hidell

Post by Alec. J. Hidell »

dids_04 wrote:
Alec. J. Hidell wrote:
dids_04 wrote:Collingwood prove again that they are a 'brand' and not a 'football club'.

He was worth the risk, in more ways than one. You think we have no one at the club who does drugs in their off time? Is Didak NOT an alcoholic? Lets get real, this is bullshit.....

Cousins is an absolute gun and, if he returns and resumes the form he showed in 2007 when he came back from rehab, then this club will be the laughing stock of 2009. Mark my words, feel free to do so......

They are pathetic. Oh and also, when Carlton finish above us and march on towards their next premiership while we languish, think of the great job and decisions made by Eddie, Mick and co.

No wonder we have won **** all for so long. Powerhouse my arse, they are a disgrace.
Hey princess, then bugger off and follow another team, if you think life is so hard here
good for you..... You accept mediocrity. I don't and the club has done **** all to rectify that in recent years. So if I want to vent, I will. You can **** off if you like.....
You'll except what ever Collingwood decide to give you and be happy about it.
Failing that put your arse on the line and go and change things

But whinging and whining will not cut it.
The one man in the world, who never believes he is mad, is the madman.
dids_04

Post by dids_04 »

gregpie wrote:
Oh and also, when Carlton finish above us and march on towards their next premiership while we languish, think of the great job and decisions made by Eddie, Mick and co.
The reason the scum will finish ahead of us is because they are cheats and because they've had a heap of No.1 draft picks over the past few years. The Godfather hands out cash filled paper bags like they are going out of fashion. They have cheated(Harmes) and rorted in the past and they still do it as it's in their culture to do so.
yeah ok. And? If they still finish ahead of us or win a flag before us, who will listen or care for all that? No one. Its all about winning premierships, isn't it? Not sure with Collingwood anymore.....
Arges Tuft

Post by Arges Tuft »

jack_spain wrote: We could have supported Ben in his rehabilitation and been part of a great story.
You could always whiz up to Civic Video and hire a nice story.
Alec. J. Hidell

jack_spain wrote:
Alec. J. Hidell wrote:
jack_spain wrote:
Alec. J. Hidell wrote:So we're agreed then?

The decision is the correct one?
No, not if our midfield remains so impotent!

Just one question for everyone: What if our young blokes DON'T take their career to the next level? I can see Hawthorn winning two or three more flags with their current team, Geelong maybe another one, and I reckon the Scum will get one before we ever do again. :P
Oh ooh ooh I know this one

We all whinge like moaning little bitches and consider slashing our wrists, yes?
I seriously wonder how a decision made long ago when I was a kid has caused me so much pain. If I'd decided on Hawthorn instead of Collingwood I'd have enjoyed nine (count them!), nine premierships. But, as you well know there is no turning back. I'm a Collingwood supporter for life, but sometimes I wonder why I am such a masochist.
Do it now, no one will even know you're gone
Last edited by Alec. J. Hidell on Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dids_04

Post by dids_04 »

Alec. J. Hidell wrote:
dids_04 wrote:
Alec. J. Hidell wrote:
dids_04 wrote:Collingwood prove again that they are a 'brand' and not a 'football club'.

He was worth the risk, in more ways than one. You think we have no one at the club who does drugs in their off time? Is Didak NOT an alcoholic? Lets get real, this is bullshit.....

Cousins is an absolute gun and, if he returns and resumes the form he showed in 2007 when he came back from rehab, then this club will be the laughing stock of 2009. Mark my words, feel free to do so......

They are pathetic. Oh and also, when Carlton finish above us and march on towards their next premiership while we languish, think of the great job and decisions made by Eddie, Mick and co.

No wonder we have won **** all for so long. Powerhouse my arse, they are a disgrace.
Hey princess, then bugger off and follow another team, if you think life is so hard here
good for you..... You accept mediocrity. I don't and the club has done **** all to rectify that in recent years. So if I want to vent, I will. You can **** off if you like.....
You'll except what ever Collingwood decide to give you and be happy about it.
Failing that put your arse on the line and go and change things

But whinging and whining will not cut it.
what a joke. Any chance you work for Collingwood or lick the arses of the board? :lol:
Alec. J. Hidell

What putting your arse on the line scares you a bit huh?
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

Oh and lone gunman, your game is up. We all know you are paid by the club to try to diffuse threads that might lead to criticism of the brand. How else can you explain why whenever there's any hint of a negative comment you're there with your put downs?

If people want to knock the club for wrong decisions they should be entitled to. If you disagree, so what. I'll tell you what though the stakes are VERY high next season. Eddie and Mick stuff that season up and it's curtains!!!
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

rocketronnie wrote:
Arges Tuft wrote:
Alec. J. Hidell wrote:If a person with a drug addiction was able to take their drug of preference legally, would it still be classified as an addiction?

For instance all illegal drugs have a legal equivalent, that can be obtained on prescription.

If this happened, couldn't the player honestly say to everyone, I am no longer taking illegal drugs?
Yes, and i doubt there'd be much the AFL could do to stop someone from being 'treated' with such drugs.
Being addicted (having a physical and/or psychological dependency) to a particular substance, whether obtained legally or illegally, is what would concern the club, not the source of the substance. what would be of high concern to the club is the health/physical/psychological performance issues the drug may cause.
Bingo.

back to Alec's post earlier where he opined that all illegal drugs have illegal equivalents, that's (just for a change) not quite correct.

People take the illegal drugs for the effect they get. In the legal versions, that "effect" is generally a side effect and not why the drug was prescribed. (morphine - heroin).

The drug addict would be addicted to the side effect of the legal drug and would therefore still be a drug addict, whether prescribed or not.

having corrected that bit, I'm not really bothered we didn't go after Cousins, the club made a decision not to, they are in a better position than the media to decide what's best for the club.

And to be clear, the whole "cousins to collingwood" was a media driven thing, picked up by supporters. The club didn't miss out, they did their due diligence and decided not to go for it. Fair enough IMO, for whatever the reasons may be.
Morrigu

Post by Morrigu »

Off topic slightly but in the past few months the Lexus centre seems to be leaking like a sieve :?

Why are details of private meetings between the Pres and players and staff, the Board etc finding their way into the hands of journos??
dids_04

Post by dids_04 »

Alec. J. Hidell wrote:What putting your arse on the line scares you a bit huh?
ok then tell me how to go about it smartarse. Tell you what, I wouldn't have $@&^# up this decision.
Alec. J. Hidell

Simple, go and stand for a position on the Board.

You are a financial member aren't you?

If you think what the club is doing is so wrong, tell everyone what you would do to change it and ask them to vote for you.

If you get over a 100 votes I'll bare my arse in Bourke Street
bwphantom

Post by bwphantom »

I have not posted in this thread as I believe that this topic would come under the Same threrad in the Draft and trade talk board.

http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopi ... &start=135

Maybe it should be looked at to merge the 2 threads.

AS I quoted:

' have been saying all along that we should pass on him. I am more than happy withn this decision.

On the basis of these three arguments I see him as a big risk.

1. 30 years of age.

2. Has not played a game of Footy for 18 months, last season he experienced hammy prolems.

3. A recovering drug addict that cannot confirm that he has overcome his addiction.

Now take out the name Cousins, would you pick up a player with those credentials? '
All this may be summed up in one word - CHARACTER - and if that is not worth developing, nothing is.

Jock McHale
dids_04

Post by dids_04 »

Alec. J. Hidell wrote:Simple, go and stand for a position on the Board.

You are a financial member aren't you?

If you think what the club is doing is so wrong, tell everyone what you would do to change it and ask them to vote for you.

If you get over a 100 votes I'll bare my arse in Bourke Street
Yes I am a financial member and have been for some time.....

I knew you would say all that. If it was that easy, you think I'd be the only one who would do it? Would never work and it has nothing to do with my failings.....most of the fans and members are just as bad as the club. Yes we ARE a powerhouse they think. Haha that's some funny shit for a club who have won **** all.

Now if I had financial clout and power, different story. I'd possibly be able to do something. Lets cut the crap though mate.....
rocketronnie

Post by rocketronnie »

jack_spain wrote:I'll tell you what if this is not enough to hang Christian Nixon nothing will. Whatever happened to privacy? What right did Collingwood have to ask the Victorian Police Commissioner for her opinion (useless woman anyway, just ask a local copper!). I'm still fuming about this, about our gutlessness as a club. We could have supported Ben in his rehabilitation and been part of a great story.

Personally I hope whoever gets him now has a great season and that Benny goes close to winning a Brownlow. Then maybe one or two people at the club will fall on their swords. :twisted:
Fall on their swords? On being suitably cautious after performing due diligence about potentially setting us up for another train crash? I don't think so. You're just obsessed with quick fixes, whether they are long term useful or not.

What was Worsfold's words again? "You've f___d this club, you little c___t!" wasn't it? That wasn't said for laughs. That wasn't said just about Cousin's own drug use, it was about his influence in the club and the results of that. If there is any possibility that all is not what it seems then the club is right to do what it has done. And Christine Nixon? Well Mullet's neanderthals might not like her but she's done alright IMHO. Cousins had (has?) some very dubious associates in WA, and perhaps if you want intelligence regarding such people, then the police commissioner is as good as any to go to. You don't know what that meeting was about but as usual you try to give it an agenda laden negative spin.
Personally I hope whoever gets him now has a great season and that Benny goes close to winning a Brownlow.
And perhaps you'd be happier if he went to Hawthorn? :shock:
"Only the weak believe that what they do in battle is who they are as men" - Thomas Marshall - "Ironclad".