Ben Cousins - He's back (now at Richmond) [Merged Threads]
- Alec. J. Hidell
- jack_spain
- DaVe86
This is an issue that will split us.
Personally, i cant see what was wrong with recruiting Cousins.
It would not destroy our youth policy. We will still get 5 quality kids in the draft and more rookies. There is only going to be a bunch of recycled players like Charlie Gardiner in the PSD. Cousins will be available at our pick and we are going to overlook him.
I think we need to get 50 games into Stanley as well. But his role will be to replace Burns' absence. In the mean-time, we are still struggling to fill the void left by Buckley, Licca and Clement. A bit of onfield leadership wont go astray.
And Cousins is a leader on field.
Whether it means a premiership, or simply a bit of stability to a young list...its worth it either way.
Considering we have made the finals 3 years straight, and came pretty close last year....it does not seem absurd to recruit a former brownlow medallist and champion of the game to give us a bit more grunt through the middle.
What Collingwood has found out about Cousins im not sure about. But on the surface the decision seemed a no brainer.
I'll support Collingwood obviously no matter what. I just hope this decision wasnt made out of fear of what the media would do if Cousins messed up again...fear of added media publicity or simply because of his age.
I hope that whatever decision was made was done because of information we do not have because we have basically handed a champion player over to St.Kilda for free (the team that knocked us out of the final this year)
They are now stronger, and our list is pretty much unchanged.
Personally, i cant see what was wrong with recruiting Cousins.
It would not destroy our youth policy. We will still get 5 quality kids in the draft and more rookies. There is only going to be a bunch of recycled players like Charlie Gardiner in the PSD. Cousins will be available at our pick and we are going to overlook him.
I think we need to get 50 games into Stanley as well. But his role will be to replace Burns' absence. In the mean-time, we are still struggling to fill the void left by Buckley, Licca and Clement. A bit of onfield leadership wont go astray.
And Cousins is a leader on field.
Whether it means a premiership, or simply a bit of stability to a young list...its worth it either way.
Considering we have made the finals 3 years straight, and came pretty close last year....it does not seem absurd to recruit a former brownlow medallist and champion of the game to give us a bit more grunt through the middle.
What Collingwood has found out about Cousins im not sure about. But on the surface the decision seemed a no brainer.
I'll support Collingwood obviously no matter what. I just hope this decision wasnt made out of fear of what the media would do if Cousins messed up again...fear of added media publicity or simply because of his age.
I hope that whatever decision was made was done because of information we do not have because we have basically handed a champion player over to St.Kilda for free (the team that knocked us out of the final this year)
They are now stronger, and our list is pretty much unchanged.
There's more to life than footy.........just not much more.
- Podpicken
Dave, it's simple. If, and that's a big speculative "if", he is still knocking about with knob-head drug types, or is showing strong signs of being a loose canon, or not impressing the collingwood hierachy the way he needs to be - and all this is "if" - then we do not want him at our club. He is obviously doing something that doesn't sit well at all with the Pies and we have to back our boys' judgment.
Billy Picken, the great No. 25 in the sky!
- DaVe86
- Podpicken
I take it you have had a few words to say to your source?soriaa wrote:A very reliable source i know says cousins and collingwood have got thier plan ready as soon as he is approved by the AFL all the headlines will start with collingwood so dont listen whats happening now about st kilda cousins will go in the pre season draft and we will pick him up
- John Wren
will we hear from soriaa again? perhaps s/he has gone to seek out john ralph for advice on handling these types of situations.spoljar wrote:I take it you have had a few words to say to your source?soriaa wrote:A very reliable source i know says cousins and collingwood have got thier plan ready as soon as he is approved by the AFL all the headlines will start with collingwood so dont listen whats happening now about st kilda cousins will go in the pre season draft and we will pick him up
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
- King Malta
he's still got at least 2-3 great years left in him i reckon.
massive mistake to pass him up.
if we had of at least picked up harris id be feeling a little more confident...but with burns retirement we have a massive void in our midfeild.
cousins would have been more than a luxury...we need another hard midfeilder...and cousins offers all the hardness...with amazing skills too.
MISTAKE!
if we had of at least picked up harris id be feeling a little more confident...but with burns retirement we have a massive void in our midfeild.
cousins would have been more than a luxury...we need another hard midfeilder...and cousins offers all the hardness...with amazing skills too.
MISTAKE!
- skaman
- Has liked: 96 times
- Been liked: 24 times
King Malta, I feel your pain too mate. My gut feeling is that we have made a mistake solely based on a football perspective and agree with everything you say football ability wise. However, I hope more comes out of this decision not to recruit him and that this decision made by the board is fully justified. I hope we are not bitten on the arse by this decision, but as mere supporters we have to have a little faith in the decision makers who know more(hopefully), behind the scenes in this case.
Enjoy yourself. Its later than you think!
- Lazza
As I have said before, HUGE mistake..............Not only missing out on Cousins but missing out on him solely because he was deemed TOO OLD at 30!! Stuff me......King Malta wrote:he's still got at least 2-3 great years left in him i reckon.
MISTAKE!
But I guess the Lexus caravan will move on to it's next monumental recruiting disaster leaving us dogs barking in it's wake.....
- Podpicken
love how all these people are flying off the handle talking "huge mistake" when they wouldn't really know jack-shit about why the club has made the decision. Do you really believe the hierachy would be sitting back saying "oh yes, he's a fantastic, elite footballer but we'll pass on him just to shit our supporters"??
Something's up and they have obviously deemed it a big enough reason to pass on who is no doubt a gun footballer, but an extremely troubled one. The "lexus caravan" has recruited better than any other club in recent times, Lazza.
Billy Picken, the great No. 25 in the sky!