The consolidated Fev thread

All trade and draft talk here thanks..... this means you DTM!!!!

Fevola?

Poll ended at Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Yay
70%
Nay
30%

Total votes: 216

Pete 70
Been liked: 15 times

Post by Pete 70 »

I think Dawes will kick 40 next year at least, and will get better after that. 2 years at most from the sex toy. We match Geel if the midfield has a year like Sainters midfield. If the midfield has a great year how are we not in with a chance. There seems to be this view that we have no chance without him, and we are certainties with him. 3rd round and steak knives ok. Pick 14 and a 21 year old kpp drafted by Judkins no.
Dispatches from a foreign land
Wokko

Post by Wokko »

I don't see how getting a player who should play another 150 games is a short term fix. Lockett played 98 games at Sydney and was traded when he was 30.
Neil Appleby

Post by Neil Appleby »

BUCKS THE GREATEST wrote:why cant you people just look at the talent he is, we have plenty of tools at the club and if he can kick 60+ which he will we will win a flag, I dont care put up with his crap as long as we win the holy grail, 2-4 years could bring us plenty of good times, I dont want to wait 5-8 years for cloke and anthony and dawes to reach the peak of their careers.
Cloke peaked two years ago.......all downhill from here.
After the epic draw comes the decisive knockout!
Collingwood rules the world again and Mick Malthouse fulfils his destiny with the twenty ten premiership and can you hear the people sing!
fence-banger

Post by fence-banger »

5150 wrote:No.
Tool.
Yes.
Goal kicking tool.
Side by side we Stick together
CAAS

Post by CAAS »

yes and for those that said no, its your opinion but i am tipping you to be the very same ppl that bag that club for not landing a big name player and the very same who bag the players after every loss on thier performance.

get Fev and have a decent crack at a flag. Mick has done well for th epast 10yrs having lost 2 GF's to the 2nd best side of the last 30yrs and 2 prelims to the 3rd best (hawks in the 80's are 1st) so we need power forward for 3yrs. GET FEV NOW
We are the premiers
The mighty premiers
and we are mental, and we are mad
we are the loyalist, football supporters
the world has ever had.
BUCKS THE GREATEST

Post by BUCKS THE GREATEST »

Cloke is 21, 22 you hit your peak at the age of 25 to 29
DAICOS might try the torpedo here, he does and THUMPS it LOOK AT THAT its home!!!
fence-banger

Post by fence-banger »

^ EXACTLY.
Side by side we Stick together
Neil Appleby

Post by Neil Appleby »

Well so people keep saying and they said it about Fraser. Cloke can't kick, doesn't take pack marks and is too easily manoeuvred out of the game by opposition coaches.
But if you don't accept this, here's a question for you: when was the last time Cloke dominated or was a match winner against a quality team..... say, in the last 2 years?
After the epic draw comes the decisive knockout!
Collingwood rules the world again and Mick Malthouse fulfils his destiny with the twenty ten premiership and can you hear the people sing!
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

thebaldfacts wrote:
Pete 70 wrote:That we would think about giving up Dawes, Reid or Brown for this tool is incredible. It is going to be a f...ing wasteland for the next 3 years in draft land with the oompalumpas and gws. So lets give away a 21 year old who we have developed and is really showing something for a role the dice shot at next year when I rather like Reid at CHB, Dawes, JA and Cloke forward line as a shot at the flag anyway. Its like the crazy argument that Marty Clarke was a waste - it was a bloody smart idea - lets get around the socialism that is the salary cap (coupled with rules that keep changing) by finding the best talent outside of those rules. We did that. We won first prize - if your not sure look at the 07 preliminary final - what we couldn't solve for was that players are human and sometimes want something other than football. (We are doing the same thing with the nsw players - it is a punt but a damn site better one than bloody pubs).
The list we are building is getting better each year since the Buckley/Clement/Burns departures. We have forwards who can win us a flag what we need to win one is a strong midfield (faark the cats have won 2 flags with 2 decent forwards) and I quite like next year having Pendlebury, Steele, Beams with one of the untried kiddies (Rounds, Blight) possibly doing what Beams did this year, recruit Ball with draft pick 2 and steak knives and move on. If we can get captain sex toy for a 3rd round then okay but I would rather trust Sir Judkins and the list we've got than gamble the next 4 years for a 28 year old moron. We thought the ute story was fun - that will seem like a charity picnic next year if Bwendon plays for us.
Agree totally.

The Scum will want the world, but he is 29 in January and his best IS behind him. I would be happy to part with Pick 14 + a fringe player like Cook, Cox or Stanley.

At best they can have dawes and pick 30.

Brown, Reid, Cloke should be untouchable when it is for an ageing 29 year old who is a nut case..
Bolded bit, only if they give us Judd and Warnock as well.
TK

Post by TK »

Not sure if Bucks would be happy with the Fev being at the Pies, he got the shits with him last year.

I am in two minds, the bloke can be a match winner on his day and a selfish tool the next. What do we need to give up too.

The Saints will be in the box seat with Goose and Ball not getting game time.
"Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the courage to do what is right in the face of it...."
magpiejane

Post by magpiejane »

Voted yes but am really divided. I don't really care what players do off field but hate it when the spotlights on our club for all the wrong reasons, the scrutiny with fev would be enormous, the media would be lurking ready to pounce at the slightest indiscretion. If we could get him for the right rice, Jack, Dawes and Macaffer to name a few, definitely off limits, and he could kick a few, well I suppose why not. But to be honest can't see it happening anyway.
blackandwhite4life

Post by blackandwhite4life »

Yes but only if he's prepared to change big time.

No alcohol, no footy show. In fact just shut him up and give him the football and point to the goals.

If he's able to agree, then yes.
Hearing the 'Black & White Army' roar is the greatest sound in the world.
RICHO1991

Post by RICHO1991 »

spoljar wrote:
Chinaman John M wrote:
go pies 3 wrote:even if they do make a play for him, they won't land him. When do we EVER land big name players? Annoying.

I hate his guts but by god we need someone of his talent in our forward line in key position
Buckley
Rocca
Clement
Licuria
Medhurst

to name just a few
Clement, Licuria and Medhurst were not big name players when we landed them Mate. Rocca, perhaps in name and potential only. Bucks is the only one really and we landed him after only a year at the bears.
Woewodin!!!! :lol:
THE PIES DELIVERED IN 2010

Post by 5150 »

blackandwhite4life wrote:Yes but only if he's prepared to change big time.

No alcohol, no footy show. In fact just shut him up and give him the football and point to the goals.

If he's able to agree, then yes.
Like what the Dogs did with Aker?
Didaksgoal

Post by Didaksgoal »

Fev can take Rocca's spot. We all know how important Rocca was to our side, Fev is just what we need. He'd free up Anthony and the smaller forwards, and we'd finally have a target up forward.

On the ugly side, what would we need to give up? Simple....Cloke and pick 1, maybe pick 2 as well.

Go the Pies