The consolidated Fev thread

All trade and draft talk here thanks..... this means you DTM!!!!

Fevola?

Poll ended at Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Yay
70%
Nay
30%

Total votes: 216

Collingwood 4 eternity

Post by Collingwood 4 eternity »

favourites 2008 wrote:As I have said in the other topics. Its not that I don't want Fev, but for what you will get out of him the price will be too high.

You have to know that Ottens was traded when he was 25 not 29.
And Ottens won a Premiership at age 27 in 2007 and at age 29 in 2009.

Dare i say it that Fevola would have kicked some of the goals that were missed by our players , that alone could put us into a top 2 finish next year.
1990 Grand Final :
"From the back pocket, this will be probably the last kick, he need not even kick it, the drought is over. 32 years they've waited, let the celebrations begin" Sandy Roberts
rambopriscilla

Post by rambopriscilla »

Would you rather see Fev or Trav lining up a shot for goal?

I think that because he still has two years on his contract at Carlton they would have to still pay a large chunk of his salary, a la Woewodin. Imagine Carlton paying our new-found goalkicking power! Heh heh heh.

Daicos Mullets your signature depresses me. I already miss Clarke.
- "Number 42? I see you've got Darren Millane in the Heaven footy side"

- "No that's God. He just tries to play like Millane"
Has liked: 230 times
Been liked: 94 times

^ You may well be on the money, the Pies havent landed a big fish in years and years so it would not surprise me in the least if we miss out on Fev. Same old song to a different tune.

Fatui Attata

Post by Fatui Attata »

favourites 2008 wrote:As I have said in the other topics. Its not that I don't want Fev, but for what you will get out of him the price will be too high.

Richmond couldn't get rid of him quick enough. Really turned it around at Geelong. Was given a new lease of life at a new club!

In no way am I suggesting Fev would be a 10 yr player for us, but 3 good years will have an impact on our side. An impact that might help us close the gap on the Saints & Cats. Not on it's own, but from left of field in addition to other incremental improvements we can make.

What is your opinion of Barry Hall to the Bulldogs? They clearly need a power forward and they'll get one. It's a risk. But an obvious hole they need to fill. They aren't gonna sit on their hands and plan to fill that hole 3-4 years down the track. I reckon we are in a similar position to the Dogs.
I'm not the pheasant plucker I'm the pheasant plucker's son, and I'll be plucking pheasants til the pheasant plucker comes! "Try saying that with a mouthful of peanuts!!" Lou Richards

mandy wrote:I don't believe that.

I truly believe that with Fev, we'll get there much more quickly than without. And I for one am sick of waiting to be a true contender. I don't want to wait 3+ years to peak. I want it soon.
Dont trade Jack, offer the buggers our first pick and nathan brown, as they are desperate for backmen. perhaps chuck in Cox too. :shock:

rocketronnie

Post by rocketronnie »

Collingwood 4 eternity wrote:

Dare i say it that Fevola would have kicked some of the goals that were missed by our players , that alone could put us into a top 2 finish next year.
Dependent on Fev getting the ball instead of that other player. That's not a given at all.. Given that your point doesn't have a lot of validity.

Saint Kilda and Geelong might have other ideas about the top two assertion also.....
"Only the weak believe that what they do in battle is who they are as men" - Thomas Marshall - "Ironclad".
Collingwood 4 eternity

Post by Collingwood 4 eternity »

rocketronnie wrote:
Collingwood 4 eternity wrote:

Dependent on Fev getting the ball instead of that other player. That's not a given at all.. Given that your point doesn't have a lot of validity.

Saint Kilda and Geelong might have other ideas about the top two assertion also.....
Like Hawthorn to finish top 2 in 2009 ??
1990 Grand Final :
"From the back pocket, this will be probably the last kick, he need not even kick it, the drought is over. 32 years they've waited, let the celebrations begin" Sandy Roberts
rocketronnie

Post by rocketronnie »

mandy wrote:I don't believe that.

I truly believe that with Fev, we'll get there much more quickly than without. And I for one am sick of waiting to be a true contender. I don't want to wait 3+ years to peak. I want it soon.
Dont trade Jack, offer the buggers our first pick and nathan brown, as they are desperate for backmen. perhaps chuck in Cox too. :shock:
so will we be if we trade Nathan Brown. Presti will be in his final year next year, or could be gone even maybe sooner...
"Only the weak believe that what they do in battle is who they are as men" - Thomas Marshall - "Ironclad".
rambopriscilla

Post by rambopriscilla »

I'm thinking L. Brown looks good as the man to replace Presti when the time comes.
- "Number 42? I see you've got Darren Millane in the Heaven footy side"

- "No that's God. He just tries to play like Millane"

^ Bite the bullet or we miss out Ronnie. That is what we would have to give if we went thru with this, it wont be an easy deal. Whats MM thinking, and Bucks i wonder.?

Heater_39

Post by Heater_39 »

RICHO1991 wrote:throw the kitchen sink at him i rekon
I agree.

And, if that does not work, pick the bloody thing up and throw it at him again.

90 goal a year forwards. See ya later Pick 14 and a good young kid...
I want to win the 2010 flag.
favourites 2008

Post by favourites 2008 »

Fatui Attata wrote:
What is your opinion of Barry Hall to the Bulldogs? They clearly need a power forward and they'll get one. It's a risk. But an obvious hole they need to fill. They aren't gonna sit on their hands and plan to fill that hole 3-4 years down the track. I reckon we are in a similar position to the Dogs.
Aka and Johnson the dogs are on their last legs with their forward line. They need a flag this year or next or they are stuffed. We have our best footy still to come.

If we were in a situation where we had our best players getting towards the end I would think it would be silly not to.

Like I said at the right price for sure. But nothing like Geelong paid for a 25 yo Brad Ottens. Geelong got Ottens for pick 16 and Moloney. People want to pay pick 14 and a young player.

That is paying over the top for someone who will give you only a few years, that is the point im trying to get across.
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

Piesnchess wrote:LOL- Down at the local community centre tonight (Chess club) and in strides a Blues fan to pick up his son. Your typical unbearable scum supporter, about five feet tall, red face, blooze jumper,and scum hat on backwards. And oh boy, he was not a happy lad, talk about convincing himself-and others-WHY the scum dont need Fev,-"Look hes past it mate, im tellin ya mate hes shit house,we dont need him mate,hes nearly 29 mate,f-k him,hope he goes to the Pies and f-them up mate, nah we dont want him no more mate, hes an arsehole,he did miss a lotta goals ya know mate" And on and on this tirade went, i just sipped my coffee and had a good chuckle to myself, how wonderful to see scum barrackers in so much turmoil and dissension in the ranks, great stuff. Ha Ha Ha.!
That guy knows how to play chess?

And here I was thinking most chess players were old men with beards or IT nerds. ;)
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

jmcp wrote:
spoljar wrote:When will you people learn. This will fizzle out to nothing like all the others.

Bookmark this!
if the club signs him it will prove it has the integrity of a gnat. a key reason cited for not recruiting cousins was cos it was adhering to so-called youth policy. will that now be thrown out?
What about Leigh Brown?

To be honest, I reckon that line was a bit of a cover for a number of different issues. And as for integrity, we are talking about a corporate organisation here - although it does annoy me that this whole Fevola issue is even being talked about in the same breath as morals or integrity. He's not a criminal. I don't see how a good football player and someone with a fairly low IQ who can't handle their alcohol in the off-season belong to mutually exclusive groups.
choppa

Post by choppa »

alot of people are missing the point

yes carlton have judd and fevola and got knocked out but who else do they have no one really!!

the pies with fevola and a fairly solid midfield and a great defence will be a very good team

cos it means we have a bloody good forward line then cos wen anthony doesnt take the best backman ....look out!!!
with fevola taking the best backmen out of the game and he can also kick bags of goals on them too! this means....collingw10d