The consolidated Fev thread

All trade and draft talk here thanks..... this means you DTM!!!!

Fevola?

Poll ended at Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Yay
70%
Nay
30%

Total votes: 216

GreekLunatic
Been liked: 17 times

Post by GreekLunatic »

If they wanna get rid of him cause of sponsors and that they would. Also how can Maxwell know what we doing in trades due to all our Football Department was in Canberra so till someone says from the footy department we dont want him then no one knows what happening.
thebaldfacts

Post by thebaldfacts »

DaVe86 wrote:Personally I think we should be going hell for leather for Fev. I laugh at you guys saying Pick 30 or nothing. You guys have no clue. He is a contracted player, so Carlton can retain him if they want. Fev is worth a first round pick + more.
Dave,

You really are missing the point aren't you? No-one is saying that he is not worth more than pick 30 but understand he is NOT required by the Scum.

The Scum want to get rid of him (or if you believe some of the posts that it is either Judd or him) and do you really believe that the 15 other clubs do not know exactly what went down on Brownlow night?

If we take him, as maxwell has said, it will be under stringent conditions. What if he breaches early on and we sack him? Then we have given away a first round pick + up and coming player for nothing. The risk is too great.

Remember he is 29 in january and how will he go in a side when the forward line is not all about him? Also, he has had a good run with injuries. What happens if he starts getting injured - will his form detoriate quickly to the point that he falls behind Anthony anyway?

We wont even go to the culture thing that we have worked hard to address.

Pick 30 or they can have him I say (or if someone offers better then good luck to the Scum).
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

rocketronnie wrote:
jack_spain wrote:
Neil Appleby wrote:I don't want Fev at our club and I'm starting to breathe easier!

Eddie wants him and the majority of supporters want him if you believe the polls. The Board is divided.

This article says the Board will finalise its position over the weekend. Maxy comes out on Saturday night and says no. Maxy wouldn't say this unless it was cleared at the highest level. I reckon the Board decided Saturday some time to leave this one alone.

To all the Pro-Fev people in here, you will watch as Fev implodes again and again and thank your lucky stars that Collingwood said no.
:lol: I'm loving the way this issue has split the Nick's great divide. People are totally unpredictable on this issue. :lol:

Fancy me, RR and Pietillidie getting into the same bed over this one.

But I think you are absolutely right this time Neil. Fev is worse than a loose cannon. He's a suicide bomber ready to go off.

There is no way Eddie can possibly save face after the way he was publicly humiliated over the Heater-Didak incident, and then turn around and welcome the biggest off-field boozer and layabout in the AFL.

Listen people, if Judd couldn't help steer a Fev goalfest to a premiership, Fev will have little impact on our chances at all.
Jackie I feel the love! :lol:

What staggers me is the conclusion people have come to that our great weakness is the full forward line when its clearly still our developing midfield. Putting Fevola at full forward isn't going to do a thing to change that situation. In fact its likely that he will be subject to the same pressures the rest of our forward line is when a Johnson helicopter floats in.

People say we need to learn from teams like Geelong. They are right, we should. And the key lesson from them is the importance of continuity in list development. Geelong are who they are now because they kept their young players together through thick and thin until they have reached a point where the understanding and bonding between them is very highly pitched indeed. I suspect we are going down that path too and to trade away developing players who are part of that group for a self-centred, undisciplined individualist who plays for no-one but himself can do nothing but harm to the fabric of the team in the long run.

Watching Nicks this week has been like watching a bunch of myopic lemmings searching for Eldorado but heading straight for the cliff...
lol. when nick's divides it does not do so in an equitable manner even if the views are poles apart. there is always a minority vs the vast majority.

and strangely it tends to eventuate that the same posters form the minority.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by pietillidie »

Magpie Jack wrote:Fev or no Fev

It aint Maxwells call.
You think the captain of the club is not consulted on team culture? Mate, that's his very mandate. That's why this bloke was chosen to be captain. That's the very input the club wants and needs from him. Recruiting someone like Fevola is clearly not simply a call on talent, because his talent is a known entity. This is very much a call on the tangible costs of the trade on the one hand (picks, salary, players, other demands), and intangible costs on the other (culture, organisational values and team dynamics).

If the tangible costs are themselves questionable, the intangible costs may well make a decision clear-cut.

Moreover, the decision to defer to Nick is the club's call, not yours. This idea that Nick is somehow speaking out of turn is not only old hat but incredibly out of step with the organisational culture the club has been developing.
rocketronnie

Post by rocketronnie »

GreekLunatic wrote:If they wanna get rid of him cause of sponsors and that they would. Also how can Maxwell know what we doing in trades due to all our Football Department was in Canberra so till someone says from the footy department we dont want him then no one knows what happening.
Umm... have you heard of the telephone?
"Only the weak believe that what they do in battle is who they are as men" - Thomas Marshall - "Ironclad".
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

I reckon he will become a Lion :-)
rocketronnie

Post by rocketronnie »

Dave The Man wrote:I reckon he will become a Lion :-)
Well Dave, he's already half way there... he's already a deadset dickhead.... :lol:
"Only the weak believe that what they do in battle is who they are as men" - Thomas Marshall - "Ironclad".
Daicos Mullets

Post by Daicos Mullets »

rocketronnie wrote:
Dave The Man wrote:I reckon he will become a Lion :-)
Well Dave, he's already half way there... he's already a deadset dickhead.... :lol:
Nice! :D
Swan is down, Swan kicks the goal! And everything here will be a Magpie celebration!

3RRR

The Pies are back at Vic Park!
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by pietillidie »

rocketronnie wrote:
GreekLunatic wrote:If they wanna get rid of him cause of sponsors and that they would. Also how can Maxwell know what we doing in trades due to all our Football Department was in Canberra so till someone says from the footy department we dont want him then no one knows what happening.
Umm... have you heard of the telephone?
Perhaps the pigeons had a tail wind :lol: :lol:
DaVe86

Post by DaVe86 »

thebaldfacts wrote:
DaVe86 wrote:Personally I think we should be going hell for leather for Fev. I laugh at you guys saying Pick 30 or nothing. You guys have no clue. He is a contracted player, so Carlton can retain him if they want. Fev is worth a first round pick + more.
Dave,

You really are missing the point aren't you? No-one is saying that he is not worth more than pick 30 but understand he is NOT required by the Scum.

The Scum want to get rid of him (or if you believe some of the posts that it is either Judd or him) and do you really believe that the 15 other clubs do not know exactly what went down on Brownlow night?

If we take him, as maxwell has said, it will be under stringent conditions. What if he breaches early on and we sack him? Then we have given away a first round pick + up and coming player for nothing. The risk is too great.

Remember he is 29 in january and how will he go in a side when the forward line is not all about him? Also, he has had a good run with injuries. What happens if he starts getting injured - will his form detoriate quickly to the point that he falls behind Anthony anyway?

We wont even go to the culture thing that we have worked hard to address.

Pick 30 or they can have him I say (or if someone offers better then good luck to the Scum).

I'm not missing the point...

If you don't want Fev that is your opinion which you're entitled to. I can see arguments both ways.

But there is no use saying "pick 30 or nothing". That is just a waste of everyone's time.

It is clearly obvious that Carlton would rather suspend him the whole next year than give Fevola to their rival for pick 30.

You are obviously against recruiting Fev. As I said, that is a valid opinion and one shared by many. But suggesting pick 30 for Fev is just a nothing statement. It is obvious that it would never happen in a million years.
There's more to life than footy.........just not much more.
thebaldfacts

Post by thebaldfacts »

Dave,

It is not that i do not want Fev, but rather that given the risk with him, I don't want to sell the farm to get him.

He is contracted for 2 more years on big $ with the Scum and it is they who have said they do not want him. They are a willing seller but there is not many willing buyers especially as i said that all 15 clubs know better than us what happened at the after party.

Bottom line is that his worth has been severely devalued and to believe otherwise is denying the obvious. It is no more a waste of people's time to say pick 30 or go jump than for the Scum to say first round plus an up and coming player. They are wasting everyone's time if they really think that the other cllubs will agree to this.

As i said before, think Brisbane and Aker and to me that shows the true worth which says to me that pick 30 is more than reasonable. (I would also assume thatwe would probably pay all his salary which may soften the blow for the Scum).

So pick 30 or he can stay with the Scum or look elsewhere.
DaVe86

Post by DaVe86 »

He is not worth as much as Carlton fans think he is....but pick 30 would send the entire room on Monday into a frenzy of laughter.
There's more to life than footy.........just not much more.
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

jack_spain wrote:I'm loving the way this issue has split the Nick's great divide. People are totally unpredictable on this issue. :lol:

Fancy me, RR and Pietillidie getting into the same bed over this one.
I hope you like things up close and friendly, Jack, 'cause besides you, Rocketronnie, and Pietillidie all in the same bed, you also have me, Neil, Favourites, and Magpie Greg. Hell, Dave the Man is standing there with his socks off thinking about joining us. A more diverse group of Nicksters you would go a long way to find.
BUNG

Post by BUNG »

while maxwell and malthouse are in charge.............. we will never win another premiership
2010 premiers
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »