Reid had a good first half. Made mistakes, but recovered well. Mooney got away from him in the second half, and became a match winner. Felt Brown, as always, was the better stopper. Keeping Pods to 1 goal.colin_wood wrote:Reid was very good tonight. Brown not so good.
Post Match. Cats outclass Pies - all comments
- Tannin
Lessons
Keep playing REID he will be a great defender and better than Brown - Reid had some lapses in the 2nd half but was superb in the first half.
Caff needs to get some confindence back in his kicking - he was great otherwise. Momentum would have taken us to a win if he had kicked both goals.
Leon is sadly out of form and the ball is just not bouncing for him - he wasn't on the rights side of a 50/50 all night.
Geelong got out of jail again - 2 -12 after halftime
We need to play a far more offensive game against GEEL as did FREO and CARL, its the best way to exploit their defense who don't haver time to zone off.
In the end a shoot out may have been our best game plan.
Keep playing REID he will be a great defender and better than Brown - Reid had some lapses in the 2nd half but was superb in the first half.
Caff needs to get some confindence back in his kicking - he was great otherwise. Momentum would have taken us to a win if he had kicked both goals.
Leon is sadly out of form and the ball is just not bouncing for him - he wasn't on the rights side of a 50/50 all night.
Geelong got out of jail again - 2 -12 after halftime
We need to play a far more offensive game against GEEL as did FREO and CARL, its the best way to exploit their defense who don't haver time to zone off.
In the end a shoot out may have been our best game plan.
- firthy
Davis: please trade, he might like the warmer weather up GC way, no good in pressure games.
Wood:USELESS, gets beaten by smaller players in marking contests around the ground, Hawkins beat him in the ruck tonight! Yes Hawkins FFS....
Mcaffer: go stand for every spare waking minute and practice your kicking, didnt cost us the game, but that was woeful kicking. If you cant kick, hand it off.
Reid: Improved, but your are still borderline, still out on this one.
Wood:USELESS, gets beaten by smaller players in marking contests around the ground, Hawkins beat him in the ruck tonight! Yes Hawkins FFS....
Mcaffer: go stand for every spare waking minute and practice your kicking, didnt cost us the game, but that was woeful kicking. If you cant kick, hand it off.
Reid: Improved, but your are still borderline, still out on this one.
Last edited by firthy on Fri May 21, 2010 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- 1eyedpie
- Has liked: 8 times
- Been liked: 1 time
I am disappointed with that result! I thought we would push them closer than that.
The score line flattered us. We are their BIATCH!
Same old passengers (when we play cats) didn't give a whimper. I hope the coaching panel learns from this game to not play these guys the next time we meet Geelong.
I am getting pissed off being pumped by this mob. They have our measure!
If we can't figure a way to beat them in round 19 we will have to then hope some other team knocks them out in one of the finals for us to have a chance if we were to go all the way to the big dance.
In hindsight with all our depth why did we rush Wellers straight back in after missing 2 weeks. He seemed out of touch with the speed of the game. I think all players coming back from more than a week out and an injury should be eased back through the reserves.
We have the depth lets utilise it!
Lets hope we bounce back next week as couldn't bear to loose to Voss's mob!
The score line flattered us. We are their BIATCH!
Same old passengers (when we play cats) didn't give a whimper. I hope the coaching panel learns from this game to not play these guys the next time we meet Geelong.
I am getting pissed off being pumped by this mob. They have our measure!
If we can't figure a way to beat them in round 19 we will have to then hope some other team knocks them out in one of the finals for us to have a chance if we were to go all the way to the big dance.
In hindsight with all our depth why did we rush Wellers straight back in after missing 2 weeks. He seemed out of touch with the speed of the game. I think all players coming back from more than a week out and an injury should be eased back through the reserves.
We have the depth lets utilise it!
Lets hope we bounce back next week as couldn't bear to loose to Voss's mob!
Never disperse your focus unless absolutely necessary. Face one adversary at a time!
BARRACK HARD!
^^Agree on your last point. Reckon we went in thinking defense and counter punch. Didn't run forward enough. Made it tough for our forwards, and kept us under pressure.
The only definite lesson from this game is - no Wood as second ruck. There's just no point. Does very little around the ground, and only got 9 taps. Didn't understand the selection before the game, makes even less sense now.
Well done boys!
- Tannin
Didn't need hindsight for that. It was a no-brainer. I assumed that when Wellers was named they intended to pull a late change and replace him with Lockyer. I posted to say that at the time.1eyedpie wrote:In hindsight with all our depth why did we rush Wellers straight back in after missing 2 weeks
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!
- jack_spain
Donny stop merging all the threads!
I'm not too disappointed tonight. If we learn from this loss that will be a good thing. But this is what we learnt:
1. Under extreme pressure too many of our players revert to the old style of clumsy short-passing footy.
2. It was obvious that many lacked the self-belief to bury the Cats when they had the chance.
3. If you don't take your chances to kick goals you will be crushed. That's the fundamental rule of footy.
4. Some of the young kids (Dawes, Macaffer, Sidebottom) seemed overawed. Hopefully they will learn from their worst games of the year.
5. Dayne Beams is really something special.
6. Swanny shouldn't have played (memo to Mick - stop playing guys who are not 100% right, especially when there are riches in VFL side).
7. Harry O is in a major slump - so is Nick Maxwell actually.
8. I was happy with Ben Reid tonight.
9. How valuable is Presti?
10. Wood is not up to it - sorry!
11. Leon Davis is finished. No ifs, buts or maybes. He is gawnnnn!
12. How valuable is Paul Medhurst?
13. Geelong is the best side in the comp right now by a long way.
So I'm not too unhappy. As long as we show some improvement next time. Put the flag talk on hold until we actually beat Geelong.
I'm not too disappointed tonight. If we learn from this loss that will be a good thing. But this is what we learnt:
1. Under extreme pressure too many of our players revert to the old style of clumsy short-passing footy.
2. It was obvious that many lacked the self-belief to bury the Cats when they had the chance.
3. If you don't take your chances to kick goals you will be crushed. That's the fundamental rule of footy.
4. Some of the young kids (Dawes, Macaffer, Sidebottom) seemed overawed. Hopefully they will learn from their worst games of the year.
5. Dayne Beams is really something special.
6. Swanny shouldn't have played (memo to Mick - stop playing guys who are not 100% right, especially when there are riches in VFL side).
7. Harry O is in a major slump - so is Nick Maxwell actually.
8. I was happy with Ben Reid tonight.
9. How valuable is Presti?
10. Wood is not up to it - sorry!
11. Leon Davis is finished. No ifs, buts or maybes. He is gawnnnn!
12. How valuable is Paul Medhurst?
13. Geelong is the best side in the comp right now by a long way.
So I'm not too unhappy. As long as we show some improvement next time. Put the flag talk on hold until we actually beat Geelong.
- Monco Matt
Davis & O'Bree should never play again against the best sides, only the average ones as this is all they are capable of coping with. Never ever want to see Macaffer on the F50 again. Harry O needs to re-focus on his footy and stop trying to solve the world's problems. Heater needs to realise he isn't gods gift to football. Sheeesh...what a night. Exposed in so many areas I just can't ratify them all.
RED "BABY" CAVANAUGH: Didn't hear what the bet was.
- piedys
- Has liked: 371 times
- Been liked: 101 times
Leon Davis - your career is over. O.V.E.R. over. If you ever play another game for this club, it will be one too many. How you have been commanding a game in this team has had me totally fu*cked since last september. We may as well have only 21 players on the field. You should have been traded at the end of 2009 while you were worth something.
If i read one more person on this site rave about how good he is, i'll fair dinkum spew. Wake up and smell the roses people.
O'Bree you may very well have played your last game as well, sorry to say.
Are we now all CRYSTAL CLEAR that these two players won't help deliver a premiership?
Misses by Didak and Macaffer were costly. The 2nd one just broke us.
Dawes tackling ineptitude must have resulted in 2-3 turnovers and goals.
Now, 3 goal kickers. 3 solitary fu*cking goal kickers. A little down on previous weeks apparently. Shit kicking at goal in 2nd half. Goaless last quarter again? Good to see at least we are consistant against the grand finalists in that regard. Carbon copy of 2009 PF, except we had more run in our legs tonight. Christ, i bet the possesion statistics between the 2 matches are near identical too.
Oh, and the piss-weak tackling in general. Unreal.
Maxwell and Shaw gifted them a few goals, as did those shit eating umpires with their fu*cking chook-lotto ruck frees. Speaking of which...
Joint winners tonight, ladies and gentlemen, of the Guy Richards Award: put your hands together for them... Darren Jolly and Cameron Wood. Totally towelled by those spastics Blake and Hawkins, who thought they were Sandilands tonight.
Harry, Daisy, BJ, Beams and Cloke busting their guts all night.
The rest turning up when convenient.
Outs: Davis, Macaffer, Wood, Brown
Ins: Medhurst, Lockyer, Fraser, Presti
The only positive tonight? I doubt they can play much better, and we surely can't play any worse. I suggested all week it would be a 4-goal game either way. A little demoralised right now.
So far, we have a solid start to 2010 and precious little else, bar drastic room for improvement. We have a developing team beating up on lesser sides, and at least being competitive against the 2009 finalists.
So you lot... find your friggin lids.. put them back on. One week at a time thanks. Reload for the battle against that umpire assisted shit in Brisbane we'll have to suffer in 8 days time.
Dyso
If i read one more person on this site rave about how good he is, i'll fair dinkum spew. Wake up and smell the roses people.
O'Bree you may very well have played your last game as well, sorry to say.
Are we now all CRYSTAL CLEAR that these two players won't help deliver a premiership?
Misses by Didak and Macaffer were costly. The 2nd one just broke us.
Dawes tackling ineptitude must have resulted in 2-3 turnovers and goals.
Now, 3 goal kickers. 3 solitary fu*cking goal kickers. A little down on previous weeks apparently. Shit kicking at goal in 2nd half. Goaless last quarter again? Good to see at least we are consistant against the grand finalists in that regard. Carbon copy of 2009 PF, except we had more run in our legs tonight. Christ, i bet the possesion statistics between the 2 matches are near identical too.
Oh, and the piss-weak tackling in general. Unreal.
Maxwell and Shaw gifted them a few goals, as did those shit eating umpires with their fu*cking chook-lotto ruck frees. Speaking of which...
Joint winners tonight, ladies and gentlemen, of the Guy Richards Award: put your hands together for them... Darren Jolly and Cameron Wood. Totally towelled by those spastics Blake and Hawkins, who thought they were Sandilands tonight.
Harry, Daisy, BJ, Beams and Cloke busting their guts all night.
The rest turning up when convenient.
Outs: Davis, Macaffer, Wood, Brown
Ins: Medhurst, Lockyer, Fraser, Presti
The only positive tonight? I doubt they can play much better, and we surely can't play any worse. I suggested all week it would be a 4-goal game either way. A little demoralised right now.
So far, we have a solid start to 2010 and precious little else, bar drastic room for improvement. We have a developing team beating up on lesser sides, and at least being competitive against the 2009 finalists.
So you lot... find your friggin lids.. put them back on. One week at a time thanks. Reload for the battle against that umpire assisted shit in Brisbane we'll have to suffer in 8 days time.
Dyso
Not a disaster tonight by any means. If we'd kicked three goals in the last I'd have been happy with the game. Going goalless again was a disappointment, especially as we dominated early. Still early in the season, and we've still got a few choices to make on our best 22.
Those saying Leon is finished? Sorry, way off. He's a little out of touch at the moment, but still definitely dangerous. Not as if we have a surfeit of skilled, quick, players. Wasn't much space up forward tonight with the way we moved it in.
Well done boys!
- jack_spain
- thompsoc
MM's selection - i am very happy!
i said that i was very happy with the way MM picked this weeks side as I thought it would be a great chance to find out where each and every player was at!
By playing the young ones we can get an idea of where certain players are at!
most obvious is - Davis, Wood and Obree are useless on the big time stage!
Brown, Maccaffer need to get a finish certificate!
We lacked a marking forward Inside 50. Wellingham needs to grow a football brain
Well done MM for being brave and I hope he learns the lesson! We are 7 and 2 so lets keep learning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Go MM and keep being bold!!!!!!!!!
By playing the young ones we can get an idea of where certain players are at!
most obvious is - Davis, Wood and Obree are useless on the big time stage!
Brown, Maccaffer need to get a finish certificate!
We lacked a marking forward Inside 50. Wellingham needs to grow a football brain
Well done MM for being brave and I hope he learns the lesson! We are 7 and 2 so lets keep learning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Go MM and keep being bold!!!!!!!!!
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.