Post Match. Cats outclass Pies - all comments

ThePieMind

Post by ThePieMind »

jack_spain wrote:
ThePieMind wrote:
AN_Inkling wrote:Not a disaster tonight by any means. If we'd kicked three goals in the last I'd have been happy with the game. Going goalless again was a disappointment, especially as we dominated early. Still early in the season, and we've still got a few choices to make on our best 22.

Those saying Leon is finished? Sorry, way off. He's a little out of touch at the moment, but still definitely dangerous. Not as if we have a surfeit of skilled, quick, players. Wasn't much space up forward tonight with the way we moved it in.
Absolutely right - Leon is down on confidence as his attempt to pass the ball from inside 50 in the 2nd QTR showed. But I have to admitt there is no zip, zest or spark in him at present - just hope the flame is still flickering, and not burnt out.
:lol: Good to see the usual Eddieland suspects out to defend one of their little favourites. :P
Some of us have faith JACK - even in your boy Dawes despite him having a poor one tonight.
I'm not prepared to single out LEON when there were shockers all round, you just like the easy targets.
You still have on egg on your face from earlier in the year, and Leon WILL prove you wrong again.
Stay under your rock - Nicks has been great without your incessant negativity.
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

ThePieMind wrote:
jack_spain wrote:
ThePieMind wrote:
AN_Inkling wrote:Not a disaster tonight by any means. If we'd kicked three goals in the last I'd have been happy with the game. Going goalless again was a disappointment, especially as we dominated early. Still early in the season, and we've still got a few choices to make on our best 22.

Those saying Leon is finished? Sorry, way off. He's a little out of touch at the moment, but still definitely dangerous. Not as if we have a surfeit of skilled, quick, players. Wasn't much space up forward tonight with the way we moved it in.
Absolutely right - Leon is down on confidence as his attempt to pass the ball from inside 50 in the 2nd QTR showed. But I have to admitt there is no zip, zest or spark in him at present - just hope the flame is still flickering, and not burnt out.
:lol: Good to see the usual Eddieland suspects out to defend one of their little favourites. :P
Some of us have faith JACK - even in your boy Dawes despite him having a poor one tonight.
I'm not prepared to single out LEON when there were shockers all round, you just like the easy targets.
You still have on egg on your face from earlier in the year, and Leon WILL prove you wrong again.
Stay under your rock - Nicks has been great without your incessant negativity.
I haven't been negative at all tonight. I expected we might lose and hope we learn from it.

As for Leon. I repeat what most people are saying. He's done, finished, washed up, and never performs under pressure (e.g. in finals type games).

Post by Bob Sugar »

im very disapointed in some of my fellow nicksters after reading through this thread, your a bunch of bloody sooks, i didnt think there was much between the 2 sides, geelong deserved the win though, its may FFS, its not the end of the world.
chrisjjj

Leon needs to go!!!

Post by chrisjjj »

Leon needs to go. He has never performed on the big stage and once again he has proved it. At the very least he has to be thrown back into the VFL! :evil:
Melsa5

Post by Melsa5 »

Ok everyone take abreath.

This is a loss we were meant to haveM we now know exactly where we are and what we have to do.

Tempo footy bet us tonightM. The last few weeks we contrilled the tempo. Tonight they did and we didn't know what to do. As soon as the zone broke and the game opened up we were stuffed.

Time to add a new plan coaches. Perceived pressure had a lot to do with it to but that was on both sides at times.

Yep we need to hit a target a bit more, kick straight a bit more and learn to defend a fast break.

Don't worry abiut this loss perfect timing.I wrote earlier in the week it was about class. Well they are A class and we aren't there. Just yet.

Think back to the semi final what an ugly game. Well tonight I have seen my boys grown up since thgen but they still have a bit to go.

chin up people its all good from here.
mattys123

Post by mattys123 »

We dropped a forward (Anthony) and bought in a mid (Wellingham) against the best defensive and rebounding backline in the league, if that's not stupid, I don't know what is.

Second game this year we have lost when we have included more mids then forwards, stupid, stupid, stupid.

If we were ever going to beat Geelong it was tonight, and we $@&^# it up at the selection table again.
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

bring back dick -leon was terrible tonight, sad but true
Deja Vu

Post by Deja Vu »

Defender wrote:im very disapointed in some of my fellow nicksters after reading through this thread, your a bunch of bloody sooks, i didnt think there was much between the 2 sides, geelong deserved the win though, its may FFS, its not the end of the world.
Agreed. I'm disappointed that we lost (2.12 in the 2nd half = vomit) but some of you blokes need to ease up.

Next week is a chance to get back on the winners list. We lick our wounds for now and go again in Round 19.

We haven't played our best against the cats or the saints for a long time. At least we get the opportunity to rectify that against both teams.
Doska#6

If we won tonight "We peak in May" We lost so....

Post by Doska#6 »

Where pretenders! You just can't win!

We need to stick to our guns, will bounce back. It's hard putting up with oppostion fans because until we lift up that cup on the last day of September and deliver on the big stage. They will always put the foot in.. even if we won tonight it wouldn't have been good enough.

Every dog has it's day! Pay back is a bitch, maybe this is the kick in the back side we need to make our move!

Will be there playing Geelong on the last day of September then it's up to us to bury the curse and answer the critics!

GO THE PIES!
Monco Matt

Post by Monco Matt »

Monco Matt wrote:I'm done holding on to hope for Leon. If he cannot show something in a game like this then he isn't worth the paper at the bottom of my dunny bowl. I'm over this guy, just f*ck off already.
very harsh, leons been down lately but we know how good he can be, he'll be alright, im more livid with macaffa, he isnt a fwd, cant kick for starters, he wont be playing next week IMO.
Mate, he can be good against crap sides but always fails against serious opposition. He has played more games against Geelong than he has kicked goals against Geelong. You cannot just throw up a line like "he's been down lately" any more.

This team must grow beyond efforts that Leon gives us if we are to win a flag and that's what we want isn't it. I am tired of losing to top sides, I want us to be the top side that other teams fear. We will never be that side with soft c***s like LD. We have never been that side since 1990....EVER. When was the last time we finished the H&A season on top of the ladder as the dominat team to beat? 1979 or 1970, something pathetic like that.
RED "BABY" CAVANAUGH: Didn't hear what the bet was.

Next time Against Geelong - lets go for pace!

Post by thompsoc »

tonight we went for youth (good policy!) - how about next time we go for pace - lets bring in Barham, Dick etc... We can't beat Geelong with skill and strength so lets go for a different trait that may show us something!
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.
bugalugs

Post by bugalugs »

Defender wrote:im very disapointed in some of my fellow nicksters after reading through this thread, your a bunch of bloody sooks, i didnt think there was much between the 2 sides, geelong deserved the win though, its may FFS, its not the end of the world.
No sooking here, just saying there are some hard calls to be made, we should not be hoping for players who are out of form to find it on the big stage....let them find it in the VFL We have the depth so lets use it.

Also what the hell is that huge guard on Swannies knee? He was hobbling to the bench at qtr time or am I mistaken and he always hobbles like that?

Post by AN_Inkling »

mattys123 wrote:We dropped a forward (Anthony) and bought in a mid (Wellingham) against the best defensive and rebounding backline in the league, if that's not stupid, I don't know what is.
Anthony would have worsened, not helped the rebounding situation. We have midfielders that can play forward - Beams, Macaffer, Sidebottom.

Including Anthony would have been a bad decision. None of our talls got a sniff within the 50. Would it really have helped to have another?

We would have played Medhurst if fit, but he wasn't. The only other realistic option was Tarks.
Well done boys!
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

jack_spain wrote:Good to see the usual Eddieland suspects out to defend one of their little favourites. :P
and those with the knives haven't been slow in drawing them.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
Cam
Has liked: 19 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by Cam »

Exactly. This will stop the media bs for a while at least.
Get back on top.