Pre Match: Pies v. Bulldogs - all comments here pls

loki04

Post by loki04 »

burnsy17 wrote:In: Davis (if fit), Medders (If fit), Dick, Barham

Out: O'Bree, Johnson, MCCaffer, Anthony

1 extra small. I'd continue with Wood & Dawes. Both will continue to develop and that aint in the VFL
Rounds has been the in form forward pocket in the VFL and prob would of got a game by now had he not injured his shoulder. Apparently was one of our best vs the GC again on sat.
Up the Mighty Mags 2016.
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

^ You'd thnk people would get it after the first 100 years or so. You don't field unfit players - and Brad Dick is still weeks away from regaining match hardness,

Johnson and the Caff have been far from our worst. After Barham, Lockyer is the next in line for a senior berth, and is badly needed right now with Davis and Medhurst both out and the talls all in questionable form.

I'm not convinced Anthony should play, but with Medhurst out and Macaffer proving much more useful as a midfielder than in front of goal, we don't seem to have a lot of choice. Just the same, I'd prefer to go against the Docs with forwards as follows:

HF: Beams, Cloke, Didak
F: Sidebottom, Dawes, Lockyer

But who slips forward when Didak goes into the middle (which should be often)?
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!

Post by AN_Inkling »

^^Thomas, Wellingham, Macaffer, L.Brown (assuming we make the right call and drop Wood), could all go forward at times. Even some possibility that Rounds could be a surprise inclusion - has pace, good skills and decent body strength - but probably doesn't quite have the strong lead-in you'd want - had a pretty good couple of weeks since returning from injury, but nothing outstanding.
burnsy17 wrote:Out: O'Bree, Johnson, MCCaffer, Anthony
Yeah, let's drop Johnson, who's been one of our best, and keep Wood, who's been one of our worst - all in the name of "development". Don't think this is the time for tanking mate :roll:.

Wood's been an absolute liability, and has had a big say in our two losses - especially due to the opposition basically having a free player around the ground (Hawkins for Geelong, Clark for Brisbane). Should be the first omitted this week.
Well done boys!
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 82 times

Post by Big T »

Out: Wood, Wood, Wood. Did I mention Wood?
Buon Giorno
What'sinaname
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Big T wrote:Out: Wood, Wood, Wood. Did I mention Wood?
That was our problem, we had 4 ruckman in the game, Jolly, Wood, Wood and Wood. Maybe we drop Wood and Wood and keep 2 rucks, Jolly and Wood? :shock:
Fighting against the objectification of woman.
selkevh

Post by selkevh »

Big T wrote:
selkevh wrote:Wellers' calf was all strapped up this morning.

Precautionary???
Probably, especially considering the flight, lower legs are always requiring compression at altitude, especially if they are sore, after being exhausted the night before. It is probably in response to soreness.
Great. Thanks.

We'll need his 'leg' speed against the Bullies.
A strong man stands up for himself ... a stronger man stands up for others.
DaVe86

Post by DaVe86 »

depends on fitness.

I don't like 3 tall forwards and 2 rucks.

Reid wasn't great...but then again I said all week he couldn't play on Brown. Brown would have no matchup against the Doggies...so I'd leave Reid in. He is more suited.

Obviously if everyone is fit, i'd go

In: Medhurst, Davis
Out: O'Bree, Anthony

MOre speed and forward pressure with those changes. Macaffer holds his spot, he was quite good.
There's more to life than footy.........just not much more.

Post by AN_Inkling »

^^You forgot to drop Wood. Or should we just take that as going without saying?

Dogs only have one quality ruckman. Jolly needs to stand up and take on Hudson. L.Brown can go up against Minson.

Wood won't be exposed as much by Minson as he was by Hawkins and Clark, but it's still not a good matchup for him. Aside from matchups, I just don't think it's a good idea to retain a player who's shown no form, and leave out one who's been playing well in the VFL.
Last edited by AN_Inkling on Sun May 30, 2010 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Well done boys!

Post by AN_Inkling »

Double post.
Well done boys!
1eyedpie
Has liked: 8 times

Post by 1eyedpie »

DaVe86 wrote:depends on fitness.

I don't like 3 tall forwards and 2 rucks.

Reid wasn't great...but then again I said all week he couldn't play on Brown. Brown would have no matchup against the Doggies...so I'd leave Reid in. He is more suited.

Obviously if everyone is fit, i'd go

In: Medhurst, Davis
Out: O'Bree, Anthony

MOre speed and forward pressure with those changes. Macaffer holds his spot, he was quite good.

DaVe Medhurst has missed what three weeks now surely has to come back via VFL as you can see with Wellers he still hasn't got his touch back yet.

In: L.Brown, Tarks, Barham
Out: Wood, Anthony,O'Bree

Leroy can back up ruck and be third tall when needed. Tarks and Barham to add that zip to our forward line adding pressure when oppo is coming out.
Never disperse your focus unless absolutely necessary. Face one adversary at a time!

BARRACK HARD!
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

1eyedpie wrote: DaVe Medhurst has missed what three weeks now
Who is Dave Medhurst? Is he as good as his brother Paul and can we sign him up?
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!
Skids
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 44 times

Post by Skids »

We'll smash the Dogs whoever comes in & goes out!

My coin this week is on the Pies by 40+ , the Dogs are gone :wink:
Don't count the days, make the days count.
RICHO1991

Post by RICHO1991 »

In: Medhurst, Davis, Leighroy
Out: Wood, O'Bree, McAffer (stiff)
THE PIES DELIVERED IN 2010
Leggie

Post by Leggie »

In and outs are gonna be reall tough this week.
We all want a win but the game against Brisbane we really needed to do well with the following week coming up against the Dogs.
Bring Back Tranquilli
jackcass

Post by jackcass »

Big T wrote:
Tannin wrote:I'll hold off on making firm recommendations until I've seen the game. But a few comments on obvious errors are appropriate nevertheless.

1: Calling for wholesale changes is just stupid. By all means make some changes. But 6 or 8 outs? Get with the program, people.

2: Calling for the inclusion of players who just aren't ready is dumb. dumb, dumb. Now I am the biggest Brad Dick fan in the known universe. Years ago I went out on a limb and called him "the future of the Collingwood Football Club" and nothing I have seen since then has made me change my mind. But there is no way I am going to call for Dickie's inclusion just yet - he is two games back from a very serious injury and if you think that makes him ready to star in senior AFL football this week, you want your brain licence revoked 'cause you ain't fit to own one.

3: Reid was picked to play on Brown as a learning experience. Had to be. He was clearly outmatched body-on-body, and someone thought it would be good for him to take on a giant of the game. Me, I'd have played it safe and had one or other of the Browns in the team, but presumably MM thought it was worth risking a loss in order to bring the player on. Either that or he thought the talented beanpole could actually match it with the gorilla, and I don't reckon anyone in his position would be that unrealistic.

4: Barham has been hanging around as an emergency for far too long. Either play the kid while he is hot or send him off to the Gold Coast.

5: Lockyer has to be a better option than O'Bree at this stage. We have enough extractors in the side, we don't have enough deliverers or enough goalkickers. Lockyer is both.

6: Tyson Goldsack has been missing in action for weeks now. I don't know if he played in the twos today, but if so he is only just back. It will be weeks before he is match fit. Stop ya dreamin' people.
What gets me is before the game people claiming we would flog them.

When have we ever flogged Brisbane at the Gabba?

Add the Brown / Fevola combination and it always had trouble written all over it, especially coming off the Geelong game.

Lazza, out gut is on the money...

And in terms of the loss, it is an exciting challenge to come back from this, and will make a win over the Dogs all the better.

It could be worse, we could support Port Adelaide. Feel better now don't ya's. hahahahaha.
I think the last time was when Daicos kicked 10