Vale #42 Darren Millane (1965-1991)

Player President threads here thanks.

jabso#5

Post by jabso#5 »

EddieGold wrote:I forgot God is a benevolent God. Who doesn't care about his football team.

"Father, Father, why have you forsaken us?"
"I don't know what stopped
Jesus Christ from turning
every hungry stone into bread
and I don't remember hearing how Moses
reacted when the innocent first born sons lay dead
well I guess God was a lot more demonstrative back when
he flamboyantly parted the sea,
now everybody's praying,
don't pray on me"

"Don't Pray on Me"
Written by Brett Gurewitz, performed by Bad Religion (Recipe for Hate, 1993).
EddieGold

Post by EddieGold »

Pants can only be remembered at his belligerent best, busting through packs as a young man. Like Jimmy Morrison, Kurty Cobain and James Dean, they never grow old and never grow weary. They died with promise still left in their body and as such we want to think of them as eternal representations of the point where a human being is strongest not with the frailty and weakness of old age.
die4pies

15 years.

Post by die4pies »

Still miss the man we called Pants.

Will head to Victoria Park to pay my respects this arvo.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"MAKE COLLINGWOOD GRATE AGAIN"
leonmagic

Post by leonmagic »

God that's a great pic of the man.

RIP Pants.

Post by Johnson#26 »

Great pic, D4P.

RIP Pants.
lozza

Post by lozza »

True, what a great photo.

It totally tipifies the man.

I can't believe its been 15 years.

There will only ever be one Darren Millane.
Side by side we stick together, You'll Never Walk Alone.

Post by Pa Marmo »

You just caused me a tear Die4Pies.
Genesis 1:1
skaman
Has liked: 41 times
Been liked: 13 times

Post by skaman »

The Raging Bull, typified in that photo. One mean hombre, sheeeesh we could do with a few Dazzas at the moment!
Enjoy yourself. Its later than you think!
piedys
Has liked: 281 times
Been liked: 66 times

Post by piedys »

Still the worst day of my life. The club morale started to disintergrate after his passing.
Cost us the 1992 flag - no doubt whatsoever.
In a perfect world, i reckon he would have played til the end of 1996 and retired with Craig Kelly and Alan Richardson.
And he'd probably be our coach in waiting too.

I'd give anything i own to turn back the clock to that night and change history. 1991 was an absolute trainwreck of a year for me personally - everything that could go wrong - did go wrong.

Dyso
M I L L A N E 4 2 forever
Captain_MyCaptain

Post by Captain_MyCaptain »

Long time gone but will never be forgotten.

RIP. THE RAGING BULL.
The window is open my friend!
lethal68

Post by lethal68 »

piedys wrote:Still the worst day of my life. The club morale started to disintergrate after his passing.
In a perfect world, i reckon he would have played til the end of 1996 and retired with Craig Kelly and Alan Richardson.

I'd give anything i own to turn back the clock to that night and change history. 1991 was an absolute trainwreck of a year for me personally - everything that could go wrong - did go wrong.

Dyso
I remember it like it was yesterday. It was my birthday. I rang my best mate (also a Pies supporter) to tell him and he was so shocked he wouldn't believe me. I agree with piedys - ripped the soul out of our club.
raymond35

Post by raymond35 »

MagpieMad

Post by MagpieMad »

piedys wrote:Still the worst day of my life. The club morale started to disintergrate after his passing.

Dyso
close to the worst day of my life, only topped a week or two later when my best mate lost his long fight with lukemia, I remember loosing the plot when this bloke tried one of the jokes about Pants in a pub..
It was a truly hell year and one that still cuts deep.
RIP 42
Pain heals, Chicks dig scars, Glory..... lasts forever!
fan4collingwood

Post by fan4collingwood »

So many major things have happened on or around the 7th of October, good and sad, Happy birthday to my oldest daughter.

RIP Darren Millane.
Coin_Toss

Post by Coin_Toss »

The Club struggled to fill the void after Pants died, to this day I think it cost us another premiership in the 90's. Pants was supremely skilled, he played tough but fair, and also had football smarts and was a born leader. Pants would have made a great coach had he lived, that fills me with grief.

RIP Darren Millane.
The time is now!