Page 8 of 22

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:33 am
by jabso#5
EddieGold wrote:I forgot God is a benevolent God. Who doesn't care about his football team.

"Father, Father, why have you forsaken us?"
"I don't know what stopped
Jesus Christ from turning
every hungry stone into bread
and I don't remember hearing how Moses
reacted when the innocent first born sons lay dead
well I guess God was a lot more demonstrative back when
he flamboyantly parted the sea,
now everybody's praying,
don't pray on me"

"Don't Pray on Me"
Written by Brett Gurewitz, performed by Bad Religion (Recipe for Hate, 1993).

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:46 am
by EddieGold
Pants can only be remembered at his belligerent best, busting through packs as a young man. Like Jimmy Morrison, Kurty Cobain and James Dean, they never grow old and never grow weary. They died with promise still left in their body and as such we want to think of them as eternal representations of the point where a human being is strongest not with the frailty and weakness of old age.

15 years.

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:48 am
by die4pies
Still miss the man we called Pants.

Will head to Victoria Park to pay my respects this arvo.

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:42 pm
by leonmagic
God that's a great pic of the man.

RIP Pants.

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:43 pm
by Johnson#26
Great pic, D4P.

RIP Pants.

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:03 pm
by lozza
True, what a great photo.

It totally tipifies the man.

I can't believe its been 15 years.

There will only ever be one Darren Millane.

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:07 pm
by Pa Marmo
You just caused me a tear Die4Pies.

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:49 pm
by skaman
The Raging Bull, typified in that photo. One mean hombre, sheeeesh we could do with a few Dazzas at the moment!

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 9:32 pm
by piedys
Still the worst day of my life. The club morale started to disintergrate after his passing.
Cost us the 1992 flag - no doubt whatsoever.
In a perfect world, i reckon he would have played til the end of 1996 and retired with Craig Kelly and Alan Richardson.
And he'd probably be our coach in waiting too.

I'd give anything i own to turn back the clock to that night and change history. 1991 was an absolute trainwreck of a year for me personally - everything that could go wrong - did go wrong.

Dyso

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 9:48 pm
by Captain_MyCaptain
Long time gone but will never be forgotten.

RIP. THE RAGING BULL.

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:05 pm
by lethal68
piedys wrote:Still the worst day of my life. The club morale started to disintergrate after his passing.
In a perfect world, i reckon he would have played til the end of 1996 and retired with Craig Kelly and Alan Richardson.

I'd give anything i own to turn back the clock to that night and change history. 1991 was an absolute trainwreck of a year for me personally - everything that could go wrong - did go wrong.

Dyso
I remember it like it was yesterday. It was my birthday. I rang my best mate (also a Pies supporter) to tell him and he was so shocked he wouldn't believe me. I agree with piedys - ripped the soul out of our club.

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 1:27 am
by raymond35

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 7:37 am
by MagpieMad
piedys wrote:Still the worst day of my life. The club morale started to disintergrate after his passing.

Dyso
close to the worst day of my life, only topped a week or two later when my best mate lost his long fight with lukemia, I remember loosing the plot when this bloke tried one of the jokes about Pants in a pub..
It was a truly hell year and one that still cuts deep.
RIP 42

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:45 am
by fan4collingwood
So many major things have happened on or around the 7th of October, good and sad, Happy birthday to my oldest daughter.

RIP Darren Millane.

Posted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:00 pm
by Coin_Toss
The Club struggled to fill the void after Pants died, to this day I think it cost us another premiership in the 90's. Pants was supremely skilled, he played tough but fair, and also had football smarts and was a born leader. Pants would have made a great coach had he lived, that fills me with grief.

RIP Darren Millane.