Sorry mate but the big T must stand for TOSSA!! and I see your mate defender agreeing with you even though it's through "whatsisname" and that only galvinises my belief. We WON.!!1 AGAIN against the pre season premiership faves.Get a Ferk9in life man. There is 2 teams out there and both have more than a 100 years of pride and tradition,so don't give the shit that it was a lucky win.We Won so be happy about it. 2nd on the ladder.Big T wrote:Feels like a loss. Not a good way to win.
We are an easy side to beat once teams work us out.
68 inside 50's for 17 goals. 3 of those came from key forwards, 1 from Cloke - that's 1 goal in 3 weeks?
A lot to consider for the second half of the season. Reckon we are not a genuine contender, forward line very average and backline easily exposed when the heat is on.
Post Match. Pies down Dogs - all comments
- mudlark
- Piethagoras' Theorem
- Has liked: 1 time
- Been liked: 17 times
- Piethagoras' Theorem
- Has liked: 1 time
- Been liked: 17 times
- jack_spain
Yeah, Mark Neeld. Played 74 illustrious games for the magnificent Richmond Tigers.member34259 wrote:Can you please send that to the midfield coaches at CFC?Funkadelic wrote:yeah, most defenders look crap when the balls been fired in low and hard,
Thanks in advance.
Nice to see us keeping one of the greatest midfielders in history out of the job of midfield coach. Now there was a midfielder who really could kick the footy.
- jack_spain
Thank you. Nick Maxwell, is a fine captain for the CFC, but his skill deficiency let's us down at times. I think the general consensus is right. He should never play on a KPP.Fatui Attata wrote:jack_spain wrote:Gatting or Brearley, they were much the same. Both had more captaining than batting ability.stui magpie wrote:Jack is too young to remember Mike Brearley?Donny wrote:What's the connection ?jack_spain wrote:Is Maxy the Mike Gatting of footy?
Mike Brearley
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 4s 6s Ct St
39 66 3 1442 91 22.88 4839 29.79 0 9 131 0 52 0
Mike Gatting
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 4s 6s Ct St
79 138 14 4409 207 35.55 9764 45.15 10 21 552 11 59 0
Peas in a pod!
I'll pay that.Doc63 wrote: Maxy, for all his faults, is a better footballer, than Brearley was a cricketer.
- 1eyedpie
- Has liked: 8 times
- Been liked: 1 time
Some people on here wondering why Maxi was playing on Hall/Lake it's because Rocket orchestrated it. He knew maxi is our number one re bounder and many goals were set up from his rebounds. Maxi was still trying to play his rebound game and mind a key opponent. MM should have moved Leroy down back soon as Lake went forward.
The Backs did well considering the amount of ball going in their from the clearances in the middle. Our Mids went to sleep.
The best way to stop a run on like that is to score a GOAL! And then try and back it up with another to put them on the back foot again. as another poster said we played into their hands when we went defensive and took off the scoring pressure which allowed them to be unaccountable and run rampant.
It was almost a carbon copy of last week where we had control of the game for three qtrs and then our centre clearance dried up and they got a run on.
I hope we play a bit better next week because one team will be playing their grand-final next week. Lets hope we are ready for it!
The Backs did well considering the amount of ball going in their from the clearances in the middle. Our Mids went to sleep.
The best way to stop a run on like that is to score a GOAL! And then try and back it up with another to put them on the back foot again. as another poster said we played into their hands when we went defensive and took off the scoring pressure which allowed them to be unaccountable and run rampant.
It was almost a carbon copy of last week where we had control of the game for three qtrs and then our centre clearance dried up and they got a run on.
I hope we play a bit better next week because one team will be playing their grand-final next week. Lets hope we are ready for it!
Never disperse your focus unless absolutely necessary. Face one adversary at a time!
BARRACK HARD!
One other difference between Brierly and Gatting. Brierly was a brilliant captain and a very ordinary cricketer. Gatting was a pretty good cricketer with the diplomatic skills of Jason Akermanis or Tony Abbott. He was a fair enough captain on the field but an embarrasment off it.
Neither of the above are remotely comparable to Maxi who is an inspiring captain and a good player. As several people have pointed out he does not have the right build to stand gorillas, it is not a question of skill or talent it is a question of size and shape. When we play sides with two gorillas like Brisbane or Hawthorn, we need to make sure Presti is assisted by one of the Browns - Leroy in the short term, Nathan if he develops consistant form.
And despite today's win and his poor form against Brisbane we should persist with Chris Dawes. We need a gorilla of our own!
Neither of the above are remotely comparable to Maxi who is an inspiring captain and a good player. As several people have pointed out he does not have the right build to stand gorillas, it is not a question of skill or talent it is a question of size and shape. When we play sides with two gorillas like Brisbane or Hawthorn, we need to make sure Presti is assisted by one of the Browns - Leroy in the short term, Nathan if he develops consistant form.
And despite today's win and his poor form against Brisbane we should persist with Chris Dawes. We need a gorilla of our own!
Born and raised in Black and White
^^The reason it was easy for Eade to do that is because we're only playing one key defender. This is why N.Brown will come into consideration, to play alongside Presti, or L.Brown as a utility. Either that or Reid's defensive ability is going to have to improve dramatically.
Against the Dogs this wasn't a real issue. They don't have two tall forwards, and had to move Lake down there to cause us concern. This did work to a degree, but only because of the eventual improvement in the midfield. Initially, the move worked for us, we were still getting the ball forward and their defense struggled without Lake. If we'd kept on top, or drawn level in the middle, their run never would have gained such momentum.
You say the best way to stop the run is to score a goal? I think you'll find that's why L.Brown stayed up forward, as he had an advantage over Hahn, and did kick a couple of goals in the third. Late in the game, the ball just didn't get down there enough.
Against the Dogs this wasn't a real issue. They don't have two tall forwards, and had to move Lake down there to cause us concern. This did work to a degree, but only because of the eventual improvement in the midfield. Initially, the move worked for us, we were still getting the ball forward and their defense struggled without Lake. If we'd kept on top, or drawn level in the middle, their run never would have gained such momentum.
You say the best way to stop the run is to score a goal? I think you'll find that's why L.Brown stayed up forward, as he had an advantage over Hahn, and did kick a couple of goals in the third. Late in the game, the ball just didn't get down there enough.
Well done boys!
- 1eyedpie
jack_spain wrote:Yeah, Mark Neeld. Played 74 illustrious games for the magnificent Richmond Tigers.member34259 wrote:Can you please send that to the midfield coaches at CFC?Funkadelic wrote:yeah, most defenders look crap when the balls been fired in low and hard,
Thanks in advance.
Nice to see us keeping one of the greatest midfielders in history out of the job of midfield coach. Now there was a midfielder who really could kick the footy.
Jack wouldn't it make sense for one of our best midfielders to learn his trade as a forward coach so he can understand all facets of our team. I would hope next year he gets the defensive coach gig so when he takes over in 2012 he will have a better understanding of our team and how to coach the side from all sections!
Never disperse your focus unless absolutely necessary. Face one adversary at a time!
BARRACK HARD!
- London Dave
Neeld played for Geelong for a couple of seasons didn't he?jack_spain wrote:Yeah, Mark Neeld. Played 74 illustrious games for the magnificent Richmond Tigers.member34259 wrote:Can you please send that to the midfield coaches at CFC?Funkadelic wrote:yeah, most defenders look crap when the balls been fired in low and hard,
Thanks in advance.
- 1eyedpie
We could of used other avenues to goal other than Brown. Cloke or even Reid even though he had his hands full with Grant.AN_Inkling wrote:^^The reason it was easy for Eade to do that is because we're only playing one key defender. This is why N.Brown will come into consideration, to play alongside Presti, or L.Brown as a utility. Either that or Reid's defensive ability is going to have to improve dramatically.
All I am saying is opposition coaches know how important Maxi is in cutting in on the angle as third man up and setting up our rebound and we should have a plan B when and the answer is probably your man N.Brown has to be in the side with Presti to play on the sides second KPF. Reid is more suited to HBF as his kicking and rebound is also quite good but is not suited to play on the gorillas
BARRACK HARD!
Absolutely. he played for Geelong, was a motivational premiership coach in the Bellarine area - great rapport with players etc was part of the spiel when he came to the club & can you please refrain from reading my mind - I was just about to post the same thing!!London Dave wrote:Neeld played for Geelong for a couple of seasons didn't he?jack_spain wrote:Yeah, Mark Neeld. Played 74 illustrious games for the magnificent Richmond Tigers. :Pmember34259 wrote:Can you please send that to the midfield coaches at CFC?Funkadelic wrote:yeah, most defenders look crap when the balls been fired in low and hard,
Thanks in advance.
Nice to see us keeping one of the greatest midfielders in history out of the job of midfield coach. Now there was a midfielder who really could kick the footy. :roll:
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Really good posts 1eyedpie.1eyedpie wrote:We could of used other avenues to goal other than Brown. Cloke or even Reid even though he had his hands full with Grant.AN_Inkling wrote:^^The reason it was easy for Eade to do that is because we're only playing one key defender. This is why N.Brown will come into consideration, to play alongside Presti, or L.Brown as a utility. Either that or Reid's defensive ability is going to have to improve dramatically.
All I am saying is opposition coaches know how important Maxi is in cutting in on the angle as third man up and setting up our rebound and we should have a plan B when and the answer is probably your man N.Brown has to be in the side with Presti to play on the sides second KPF. Reid is more suited to HBF as his kicking and rebound is also quite good but is not suited to play on the gorillas
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman