This is an unofficial Bulletin Board - owned and run by its users. We welcome all fans of the Mighty Collingwood Football Club.
Ad blocker detected: Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker on our website.
Piesnchess wrote:INJURIES- WE ARE CURSED. simple as that. sigh.
Injuries have been a problem for a number of years, but I don't believe we're cursed, but rather we create our own bad luck.
There's something fundamentally wrong within the club that's causing this problem. Collision based injuries are unavoidable and a part of the game but the issues with soft tissue injuries and managing certain injuries has been troubling.
Is Olympic Park Oval the issue which we started using from 2013 onwards? Is it fitness and conditioning staff? Is it a combination of things?
These questions remain unanswered and the club's inability to identify cause/s of our injury problems is concerning.
The tragedy is, I have never ever ever ever ever, known Bucks to have a fully fit and healthy list at his disposal, ever. Correct me if Im wrong, but this has been going on for nigh on 6 yrs, at least.
There's something fundamentally wrong within the club that's causing this problem. Collision based injuries are unavoidable and a part of the game but the issues with soft tissue injuries and managing certain injuries has been troubling.
Is Olympic Park Oval the issue which we started using from 2013 onwards? Is it fitness and conditioning staff? Is it a combination of things?
These questions remain unanswered and the club's inability to identify cause/s of our injury problems is concerning.
For sure Jezza.....
I believe the influence of the new training ground was looked at and not found to be a contributing factor.
However, the whole injury crisis needs to be fully investigated, from absolutely every possible angle.
What bamboozles me is that some players (and I won't name them because I don't want to jinx them) hardly ever seem to miss through injury and others are regular outs. These seems to suggest an inherent physical susceptibility with some players.
Surely there is someone available somewhere in the world who could identify why this is so and how best to overcome this. The club needs to invest heaps of dollars into this and be prepared to pay the penalty of going over the football department spending cap. Stuff it... we've all had enough!!!!!
Piesnchess wrote: We have had NO luck this yr, starting with silly little wretch Stephenson, from then on, nothing has gone well.
We weren't playing totally dominant football early on, but I am inclined to agree that the Stephenson debacle knocked us sideways. Since then, we have not played as a team, we have lost some trust in one another, we have lost confidence in one another, we are not playing for one another.
How could a betting suspension bring this about???? Because I reckon some of the players could well be demoralized and angered by it - really pissed off that they bust their guts only to have their footy goals and ambitions thwarted by the immature actions of one vital player.
I'm not having a go at Stevo here - he's young and wet behind the ears and will hopefully learn the hard way - but it could well have created some division amongst the players..... those who have understood and forgiven and those who haven't. It could even have created division amongst the coaching panel, as to how they reconcile Stevo's actions.
We are not a united club at the moment. Years from now, we may find out the real repercussions of Stephenson's suspension.
This is aside from the injury toll and all that means. Sigh.
Yep, true, cant argue with any of that, very true.
I suspect it's a combination of things:
- Stephenson's suspension.
- Buckley's comments after WB game. His comments after that game didn't sit well with me at the time and it may have ruffled feathers more than we expected, but the responses from the team in the following weeks were terrible.
- Beams' personal issues; and
- Injuries have obviously not helped either.
Very thought-provoking post Jezza.
For a team to play at their top in AFL, we're dealing with an inordinate number of finely tuned individuals - physically, mentally, emotionally. And that's just the players!!! Let alone the variables that come with coaching staff, conditioning staff etc. It's a complex jigsaw!!!
PyreneesPie wrote:We are not a united club at the moment. Years from now, we may find out the real repercussions of Stephenson's suspension.
This is aside from the injury toll and all that means. Sigh.
Something hasn't felt right within the club since the bye.
People will say our form before the bye wasn't good, but we were still playing a far more impressive brand of football back then than we are now. Pre-bye, we're 8-4 and post-bye we're 2-4 and counting.
I suspect it's a combination of things:
- Stephenson's suspension.
- Buckley's comments after WB game. His comments after that game didn't sit well with me at the time and it may have ruffled feathers more than we expected, but the responses from the team in the following weeks were terrible.
- Beams' personal issues; and
- Injuries have obviously not helped either.
Agree Jezza. Buckley's comments after WB game were dissonant. We won the game,so we must have expended some effort and energy, which should have been acknowledged.
^ It was quite unlike Bucks as we've come to know him over the past 18 months, not to be really encouraging and positive about hard fought win.
Yet, he is only human and most of us would experience some days when we are not at our optimum That's what I mean with the above post about it all being such a complex jigsaw. So many individuals needing to perform at their optimum level, all at the one time.
No one (at least I don't, to nominate myself) discounts the injury list. I did not think we could win this one, from early in the week. Injury of Adams compounded it.
But you cannot just keep commiserating about injured players without asking:
a) Why do we always have a devastating injury list in comparison with most other clubs
b) Why, even with the lower level players we were able to field. the lack of intensity and energy (two way running of mids) was so palpable.
Magpietothemax wrote:...
But you cannot just keep commiserating about injured players without asking:
a) Why do we always have a devastating injury list in comparison with most other clubs
b) Why, even with the lower level players we were able to field. the lack of intensity and energy (two way running of mids) was so palpable.
And a) & b) may be related, if our strength & conditioning program is flawed. Our boys may be unable physically to run two ways.
And that could be the secret of our largely talentless opponents tonight. If their strength & conditioning is really good, that might be why they have no injuries and can run hard, both of which make up for their lack of talent.
Firstly, our game style is so bad even when we win it's hard to watch. What's the point? Buckley has had his chance to shape the way we play. We've seen enough. Time for someone that will allow the players to play with freedom, and play fast and with dare. Had enough waiting for this to happen. Why would the biggest club in the land continually play slow, conservative, down-the-line footy? Why even bother to go to the match watch that garbage. Have a go PIes.Don't play scared. We don't care if you make mistakes. Just frigging have a go and take the ggame on. Is it too much to ask?
Must never contest a centre clearance:
Phillips - outside player only. Send him to Melbourne Storm and teach get him stronger and not to shirk a contest.
Brown - play as small forward.
Sidey - play as a small high-forward and never kick it on his head like we did in last year's GF. He's a ground-ball plaayer only.
Pendles - outside player only. High-forward.
Treloar - he just doesn't have a defensive bone in his body. Like Pendles, play as a high-forward.
Crisp - his handballs are shithouse, and can't stand up in the tackle and feed it out. Keep him back.
Use the following in the centre bounces:
Daicos - he doesn't go to ground, and he's smart, a good tackler, and has class. Most of you would think I'm nuts, but I know he'd be good there. Get him in the action. Rotate him forward. He's not a wingman.
DeGoey - natural midfielder. He scares the opposition and can take the game by the scruff of the neck. Better than Dusty. If we were to miraculously win the flag, it could only be with Jordy in the midfield, and him winning the Norm Smith.
Wells - naturally freakish footballer.
Adams - our hardest in and under player. Needed at the caol-face.
Elliott - Like Daicos, very smart player...put him where the action is, and rotate him forward.
Mayne - utility that has a big heart. Wouldn't let us down in the centre.
Sier - one of the best handballers in traffic we have.
Maynard - strong as a bull. Could be useful in the middle. Would you rather Maynard's kicks or Treloar's?
Tyler Brown - wildcard. Let's have a look at him at senior level. Should have played today.
Varcoe - I'd like a look at him in the centre. He's too good a player to have him only get it 10 times a match. Put him where the action is. You never know. I've had enough of this conservative b#llsh#t Pies.
In need urgent attention:
Quanor - his kicking needs work. A skills coach needs to get hold him him and teach him how fix his ball drop so that he can flatten his kicking. At the moment it's all sky balls. Apart from that looks good, but it's a major issue.
Question mark:
Noble - haven't seen enough, but I'm not holding my breath. Very very light for an AFL footballer.
We need to see at senior level NOW:
Lynch - is he any good? Can he mark? Does it need Hawthorn to make a player of him like they did with Ceglar?
Broomy - you can't have him put in that kind of recovery effort, not to reward him with a senior game. He could surprise.
Delist:
Thomas - very 1-dimensional player
Madgen - Rendell's nephew..the only reason he's there.
Crocker - the whole football world can see he doesn't have it at senior level, except Buckley.
Wills - too slow for senior level.
Reid - failed by our fitness staff.
Shaz - I would have loved him to succeed, but he's too slow.
Goldsack - Mr fumbles had a good career. But now he's not only funbly but slow,and cannot play on the bigs like Kennedy. Let's be honest Kennedy destroyed him in the GF with limited opportunities.
Murray - got sold a lemon by the Swans.
Appleby - don't see anything in him. He's a good golfer apparently.
The 2 Irish lads - do they have anyting? I saw the taller one kicking in the 2nds once and I thought...just forget it.
Broomy & Lynch - need to see them in the 1sts before making a decision. Probable delistings.
The ruck coach - Rocca. Sorry Pebbles but most of Grundy's tapouts go to the opposition.
The forward coach - Sanderson was a failed coach, and our forwards have no idea what they are doing.
The midfield coach - If Harvey was any good other clubs would be looking at him a senior coach, but they are not.
Eddie McGuire - loves the club too much to see the forest for the trees.
Buckley - his press conference last night was like the Iraqi communication minister when the bombs were falling around him. Too conservative and blinkered to see our club is clusterf#ck at the moment, and think outside the square, and make bold decisions.
The whole fitness department. We are a laughing stock. Our players are slow and can't stick a tackle. But it's fine, Philips will still win the 2km time trial next year. FFS, just recruit 1500m runners from the AIS if you think that's what it takes to play footy. Meanwhile Phillips can't bench press 80kg and the opposition swat his tackles away like they are mildly annoyed.
Trade:
Grundy. Hugely overrated. If he's going to be selfish and screw us on his next contract then let him go back to the Adelaide hills if we can get a top 3 pick and also a top 10 pick.
Change of captain:
Pendles to hand over the captaincy to Tay Adams next year. Vice Captain: DeGoey.
Our form hasn’t dropped off just because of injuries.
Yes they are a factor, but they were also plentiful last year on our climb up the ladder.
The question that needs answering is why have players like Cox, Thomas, WHE, Mihocek, Philips, Sidebottom, Treloar etc dropped away so badly so quickly.
Their significantly lower outputs whether goals, disposals, effectiveness are THE reason we have dropped so badly
Cox’s inability to take a mark has nothing to do with injuries.
Thomas unable to impact the game or scoreboard doesn’t either, as it is with the others.
Too many players not performing to an acceptable standard is the reason we are playing the way we are.