What pisses you off?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 262 times
Been liked: 341 times

The violence in Minnesota is very concerning.

The appalling nature of this man's death has to be thoroughly investigated. Good to see Trump instruct the DOJ and FBI to do an investigation on the matter.

Makes me wonder whether police in Minnesota are properly trained. We had the shooting death of Australian woman, Justine Damond and now this.
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

I didn’t realise it was the same city Jez.

I didn’t see the first video, in the second the other white cops are as close as the Asian one, or right next to him. How can they sack them but not charge them?

Read his long history of abuse too, just a disgusting person

Post by Lazza »

Lazza wrote:I still cant understand why the Asian cop watching this murder happening didnt intervene to save the poor bugger's life. He seems to be more of a suck than Mike Pence :x
why single out the Asian cop? you think asians have higher morals? there were 2 other white cops not helping either
I think that came out wrong TP. I'm a coloured south asian myself being born in Sri Lanka so I have nothing against asians or anybody else for that matter. I'm married to a so called "fair dinkum" (white) aussie!
What I meant was that according to the recording I watched, he was the cop that was closest to the action. And I was furious beyond belief that this arsewipe of a human being actually pulled his gun out against another asian (factual comment) bystander who screamed that the poor victim was dying. That was a dog act from an unmitigated mongral to put it mildly. I'm old enough now to say what I mean and mean what I say, damn the consequences from any apologists for bigoted bastards. Stuff them. :evil:

Cool, I haven’t actually seen the first footage, in the second the 3 other cops are just standing there like the first one is ordering coffee, I foundd it very disturbing.
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

Generally speaking, American police have poor educations, too little training, and are poorly paid. They have a horribly difficult job to do and a lot of them are - let's be honest here - better fitted to jobs like mending potholes on roads.

Then throw in the reality that they routinely get away with all sorts of crimes, including straight-out murder, and the further reality that the country is awash with poverty and guns .... it's just a horrible mess and there are no good answers, but no-one in power seems to be even trying.

The fact that it took three days of out-of-control rioting and the best part of a week just to get the perpertrator arrested speaks for itself.
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!

yeah, sadly, I have to agree. it would be a thankless job for the ones doing the right thing. or trying to, I mean, if one of the cops tried to intervene, would he be found in the river the next week?
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

think positive wrote:I mean, if one of the cops tried to intervene, would he be found in the river the next week?
Probably not would be my guess. I reckon he'd find himself mysteriously working a lot of graveyard shifts, always assigned to patrol in the worst districts, stuck with the partner no-one else wants to work with, a whole stack of little things that add up to misery on the job. These sort of "soft power" controls can be very powerful over time, and impossible to legislate against.
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!
Has liked: 130 times
Been liked: 164 times

Tannin's comment on poorly paid is certainly supported by something i read, that the bloke charged had a second job as security at a bar, same place as the dead man

Post by Lazza »

stui magpie wrote:Tannin's comment on poorly paid is certainly supported by something i read, that the bloke charged had a second job as security at a bar, same place as the dead man
The plot thickens. I wonder if this was retribution from the copper for an unresolved earlier conflict between the two?
Don't confuse your current path with your final destination. Just because it's dark and stormy now doesn't meant that you aren't headed for glorious sunshine!

Protesters going off in Atlanta, looting, burning stuff and the Mayor of Atlanta gives a speech for the ages.

I know nothing about her, haven't checked, just watched the speech

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/atlanta-ma ... d=89749521

If she's a Democrat, make her Bidens running mate Stat
What'sinaname
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 32 times

Post by What'sinaname »

The preliminary autopsy report is showing “no physical findings that support a diagnosis of traumatic asphyxia or strangulation.
Fighting against the objectification of woman.

Brilliant speech Stu

Dunno if this will work, but LeBron James had the best response I've seen yet

https://www.instagram.com/p/CAq3fpCgyve ... e=ig_embed

If it doesn't, plan B https://www.instagram.com/p/CAq3fpCgyve/
Has liked: 16 times
Been liked: 81 times

What'sinaname wrote:The preliminary autopsy report is showing “no physical findings that support a diagnosis of traumatic asphyxia or strangulation.
Guess he must have died of natural causes.

What'sinaname wrote:The preliminary autopsy report is showing “no physical findings that support a diagnosis of traumatic asphyxia or strangulation.
Guess he must have died of natural causes.
Why they've gone for charges of 3rd degree murder and manslaughter. The knee on neck didn't directly kill him, but it sure as hell didn't help.