Post Match v Bloose!!!! All comments here thanks

Lone Ranger

Post by Lone Ranger »

eddiesmith wrote:
Lone Ranger wrote:
eddiesmith wrote:This week they got together and came up with a new gameplan that actually suited the current team and wow, we won
Absolutely wrong ... SAME game plan as we have had for the last few years. The difference was the players actually stuck to it today. You anti MM people just don't get it.
No, it was a different gameplan, I think the players know more than you if they changed their gameplan
Listen to what you just said and try listening to what the players said then. The players have said that this week they started to stick to the game plan. The players have said they havent been sticking to the game plan.
eddiesmith
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 24 times

Post by eddiesmith »

Lone Ranger wrote:
eddiesmith wrote:
Lone Ranger wrote:
eddiesmith wrote:This week they got together and came up with a new gameplan that actually suited the current team and wow, we won
Absolutely wrong ... SAME game plan as we have had for the last few years. The difference was the players actually stuck to it today. You anti MM people just don't get it.
No, it was a different gameplan, I think the players know more than you if they changed their gameplan
Listen to what you just said and try listening to what the players said then. The players have said that this week they started to stick to the game plan. The players have said they havent been sticking to the game plan.
The players I spoke to said they had tried a new gameplan
Cam
Has liked: 19 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by Cam »

The players noticeably concentrated on putting their head over the ball much more.

Gotta say, Shaw, bounce bounce Tarrant was pure joy.
Get back on top.

Post by Lazza »

Am I happy giving it to the Carlscum filth ferals in Bendigo!! Scored a bit of extra pocket money too sucking them into bets.
I certainly disagree with Dr Alf, no surprise here. I think we still have a heap of improvement left and can and WILL play much better as the season progresses and the injured get back. The MAIN thing they will gain from this win is team confidence, which I reckon is worth about 2-3 goals per game. Psychologically it was a must win.
So bring it on against the 'roos. The Magpies by 30. You heard it here first!

Post by 35forever »

Great report Johnno, though I hafta say I saw some of the performances differently. I thought Clokey was really, really good. I think thats the best I've seen him play & gives me a lot of confidence in seeing him as our number one ruckman. Sure it wasnt a perfect game, but his running & kicking are already better than the old mans! How about the 70 metre goal, that was a bloody ball-tearer!

I also found it hard to see Maxwell as having done more than Williams, Willo wasnt on for much of the game, and has a knack of stepping up at the right minute when his confidence is up. I think both him & Rhyce deserve an extra point just for playing under the kind of pressure they must have been feeling from Coach & supporters alike. I also wish you'd have a close watch of Cheesy next time you see the replay, he was in & under quite a bit. I also thought Woewie was about our best in the first half (which I thought we won easily). I agree that Tex didnt do a lot, but I'm starting to love the way he runs, and he showed just a little bit of mongrel too! Has the goods to be an absolute star. Both him & Clokey showed me more yesterday than in their careers to date. I'm starting to get on the Rowie wagon too, shows class when confident.

Cara & Mumbles showed what good pick-ups they were too, I havent seen Cara play that well for Ess & Bris. Especially Cara's first half, he was everywhere! I think he seems to be more motivated for us.

It's funny, because I knew the score & read some comments, I expected to watch a miserable first half followed by a blitz like the 2nd quarter against Adelaide in 2002. It wasnt that way at all! I thought we played quite a similar game all day, with different players standing up (ie: Cara & Woewie in the first half & Taz & Pebbles in the second) at different times.

To me the biggest difference was simply the accuracy, both of passing & shooting. Particularly noticeable in Rhyce who I thought was one of our best all day, the big difference being the crap disposal in the first half & the precision stuff in the second. At the end he looked like he could kick into a basketball net from 50 (at the start he woulda missed a purse-sein fishing net!).

But a very large task next week. I'll be most worried if we're between 2-5 goals up for the first 3 quarters. I'd rather go into the last 3 down against them. I think underdog status will be very valuable in this one too, so lets hope none of the 'experts' pick us!

I just hope we dont go on with a lot of 'seasons over' crap if we dont get up. The kangas are far more confident & Essendon is a much bigger game for us. 3-2 would be fine after 5. I'm almost glad they won today, theyve got a very angry Geelong next week & i'd rather face them 3-1 than 4-0.

As long as we pick up a few in the first half, our big test will be rounds 12-15 with Melb. Syd. Port & Bris. If we manage to go into that lot with 4 or 5 wins & pick up 2 of those 4 we'd be looking quite nice. It's gonna be a tough scrappy year. No one looks completely convincing except Melbourne & maybe West Coast. Sydney could be a show too, if they knock off Adelaide next week it gets interesting.

& if you havent got a quiet $50 on Bruce for the Brownlow, you dont like money!
"If at first you dont succeed...
... oh who cares, we did it!!!!!"

Post by Johnson#26 »

Fair enough 35 re C2. I thought he was terrific, and busted his boiler with little support. Although the possession count was low (he is only young) it would be really handy if he could start taking a few marks around the ground. That will come in time all the same. :) He managed 10 hitouts against one of the redhot ruckmen in the AFL at the moment. A good effort I'd have thought. It will be interesting to see if he maintains a rucking role when Richards and Fraser return, as he has done a solid job. This week against North, he'll have to contend with Nathan Thompson and David Hale. Thommo will spend most his day as a forward, making Hale the number one option. C2 is definitely in the game here.

I thought Maxy did well, got a bit of the ball and his disposal was generally good. Willo wasn't on much, agreed, and his two goals were good. Maxy was on the ground longer, and got more votes for his efforts (giving him more of a chance to impress). Willo got it basically on his last quarter and a bit. I couldn't judge Racer and Goughy in round 22 last year because they barely set foot on the turf!

O'Bree had seven possessions. For a ball magnet, far from good enough. 37 disposals in three matches. Compare that with Licuria's 63, Johnson's 58 and Shaw's 51. Just not good enough. ANd his effictive kicks aren't sure to be high up on the list either. Must be dropped this week, and give Yakka, C3 or Egan a run.

Post by Johnson#26 »

I also thought Woewie was about our best in the first half (which I thought we won easily)
Disagree. I didn't see much of him at all. Ok early, but faded. Ran into Andy Maher (Channel 10 boundary rider) in the final term. BTW - Boundary riders have one of the best jobs. Go to the footy at sit ont he ground. :P

Bruce will be leading the Brownlow at the 1/2 way stage. If he can continue this form into the 2nd half of the season...

Psychosis wrote:Well Well Well,
Haven't you people changed your tune.....

SAVAGED by the media
RAPED by the umpires
SLEDGED by the people on Nick's BB (most of you)

get stuffed....
We were 0-2, now that would be concerning to most supporters.
Stormin

Post by Stormin »

2005 Starts Right Here, Right Now

uuuuu..... The LoneSTAR

Post by uuuuu..... The LoneSTAR »

How good was that game!!!!??
Far & away the most important thing to come out of it was the display of LOVE, unity, support & team spirit the boys showed!! Well done fellas!! The 2nd half was a great way to 'launch' our 2005 assault!
- Lica's desperation & endeavour was second to none
- Great mark Maxwell
- Hollands game was crowd pleasing
- Johnno & Rhyce
- Would've liked to see more of Davis but when on his skills really stood out again,... hope he's gonna have a solid season!!
- Rocca's performance was monumental!!,.. second efforts & ground level work was inspirational (Captain please!!!)
- Tarrant is BACK!!!..... loving footy!!
- Jimmy & Wakelan,.... 'nuff said!!
- I used to respect Campo,..... Now i wanna jump the fence myself & have a go!!
- The final siren & The SONG!!!
3rd degree

Post by 3rd degree »

Well Done Boys spewing I wasn't there. I was flu ridden and screaming on the couch I nearly smashed the telly over some of the umpiring decisions.

Well done to Licca, Holland and Tarks who were full of courage and run ans spured us on and to Rhyce Shaw for keeping on having a go. Tarrant really showed some class in the 2nd half and yes lads deliver direct and we will win. Rocca was good and tough. Jimmy, Wakes and Presti turning Fav into a Bob Marley beanie was fantastic. I really liked Maxwell's courage and poise he still needs to work a little on accountablity but that will come.

Overall some positive signs. Keep focus play hard, play direct, and kill all in front of you.

KILL 'EM WOODSMEN!
" Ohhh Banksy and out comes the Note Book".

Killing is wrong.
hoggy

Post by hoggy »

HAL wrote:Killing is wrong.
Self defense though.
Barge
Two_Pies

Post by Two_Pies »

Well done to the short timers - esp. Rowe & our Maxy !! Rowey's 2nd 3rd & 4th efforts were outstanding. Maxy showed real courage and poise to take grabs and back his judgement.
Let all your troubles be forgot for we are Collingwood. We'll fight it out until the end we're Collingwood. So help me Jock.
Two pies and two beers thanks!!
punkologist

Post by punkologist »

Was anyone sitting near the front few rows of 31 and 32?

Just before Taz kicked his Daicos goal a bit of a fight erupted between a few Collingwood supporters.
The guy behind me told the guy in the next bay to stop bagging the pies or support another team. To which he replied F&*k off.
Taz then kicked the goal and the crowd erupted. The guy behind me told the other guy to sit down. Then a lady infront had a go at him and it was on.
I see this sort of stuff far too often, lately. What is going on? we are not Richmond.
Although I did agree with the guy behind me as did many of the people around us. Including the lady infront who didn't know the full story at first.

Who here sits near there. We should meet up on Friday and put names to faces.
Last edited by punkologist on Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.