#20 Ash Johnson

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

It's also great that at 24, he has a man's body. He looks a polished footballer. As someone else noted, Hoskin-Elliott must now be under pressure to hold his spot.
magpieazza

Post by magpieazza »

He looks a ripper and Im always drawn to the natural footballer. Loved the way he moved, he appeared to have great balance for a tallish fella. His hands look soft and sure and his disposal by foot looked silky from what Ive seen.

Does anyone know of his tank and if he is a hard trainer or not??
Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero.
Ronnie McKeowns boots

Post by Ronnie McKeowns boots »

What a debut! I wasn't really believing the hype having not seen him live, but that was very impressive indeed; don't think you could drop him for Henry after that...
"You hate a mean man, a grasping man, a man who wants everything and gives nothing. That’s Collingwood. They are a law unto themselves"

Jack 'Captain Blood' Dyer
Duff Soviet Union
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Duff Soviet Union »

He looked really good. He seemed to be around the ball a lot, unlike Henry who I often seem to go a quarter without even seeing.
"We ain't gotta dream no more"
duggieboy
Has liked: 13 times

Post by duggieboy »

Very nice start for Mr Natural. Looks like he belongs at this level also.

Exciting potential.
MJ23

Post by MJ23 »

Looks like he could be a player - need him to string a few games together now.
"Even when Im old and gray, I wont be able to play but Ill still love the game"
Michael Jordan
Has liked: 71 times

Good debut, like the look of him.

We suddenly have genuine forward line options, more so once Kreuger is fit.

I still like Henry, think he has some Fritsch or Gunston about him, but it's going to be a balancing act. Nice problem to have.
Damien
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 11 times

Post by Damien »

From what I saw last weekend, I’m tipping this guy will be our wildcard leading into and during finals. Played like a veteran. Had a style of play so synonymous with indigenous players. Gonna be a hard match-up for opposition teams.
'Collingwood are the Bradmans of Football'
The Herald - 1930

'Magic' Johnson can indeed become a genuine wildcard for us, but he will need to play well each week to hold his spot, as we now have several forward types contending for spots. I can't see Henry missing for long, so Ginnivan's spot may be vulnerable, particularly if he has trouble adjusting to the new head-high tackle interpretation.
Dark Beanie
Been liked: 16 times

Post by Dark Beanie »

Consistency is going to be key for few players including Ash if they want to retain a spot in the team.

One thing in his favour is that he is just starting his journey with plenty of room to develope, so expect we will see more of him next season
If you are foolish enough to be contented, don't show it, but just grumble with the rest. - Jerome K Jerome

Post by inxs88 »

Some players have great feet, no so much in kicking parlance but the way they move "so light on their feet". Players like Kosi Pickett, Hayward from Swans, Jade Gresham along with Johnson have this fleet of foot movement that is so great to watch.
I love the Pies, hate Carlscum
thesoretoothsayer
Been liked: 14 times

Post by thesoretoothsayer »

Well the club must've been impressed with Ash's performance on the weekend because it's earned him another 12 months. Congratulations.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/802966/new- ... on-skipper
Been liked: 87 times

Post by Pies2016 »

^ ^ ^
Cheers. Good on him. Nothing better than job security for a player around the “ fringe”. Reckon this will encourage him even further.
Gary Player “ the harder I practice, the luckier I get “
Take_a_Screamer
Been liked: 12 times

Post by Take_a_Screamer »

I found these recent VFL highlights of Ash Johnson
He's got some serious pace!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kjl-DjFtNr8

Ash's first AFL goal
https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/video/ ... 7945564001

All 96 goals he kicked in 2023
(yet to come)
Ash Johnson...you beauty
Johnson Screamer @ https://www.afl.com.au/video/931485/joh ... -epic-mark? ❤️️
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by pietillidie »

We won't get belted over the ball for a half like that too often, even if stoppages are a weakness. But when we were moving the ball well and he had some space, he read the ball and kicked beautifully. How's the timing finding another dangerous forward heading towards September, with Henry still up our sleeve?
In the end the rain comes down, washes clean the streets of a blue sky town.
Help Nick's: http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/fundraising.htm