What made you happy today?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

The JBL ones do that too, sound quality is great, for the amount I use them I don't need to pay big money and probably wouldn't notice much difference anyway.

Just got back from a trip to Toc. Been keeping an eye on the weather up there, it's been a dry few weeks so I figured I'd need to do some watering and set the hoses.

Well, the ground was dry but the garden and in particular the weeds were flourishing, as was the "lawn" which was also invaded with weeds. Seriously needed to mow and whippersnip, but it was raining when I got there. So stuck a sprinkler on rotation through the garden beds to give the rain a top up and went inside and painted the kitchen cabinets. I had laminate paint there, just hadn't got around to it, so lit the wood stove to heat the kitchen up and got to work. All done first coat, gives the kitchen a big lift as the cupboards were all 1970's wood grain laminate, now they're gloss white. With the white marble look counter and table top, timber floor and chairs, looks OK.

Got up early this morning, not much sun but it was windy which had dried the grass out a bit. Got the whole lot done before lunch, including a stop for breakfas which was a pie and iced coffee from the Servo, did some weeding and hand watered the garden beds and trees, then tidy up, load the car and back to Melbourne, tired and stiff but happy.
Skids
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 45 times

Post by Skids »

I've just got some Beats headphones (for free) from Telstra with my new phone. Very nice.
Don't count the days, make the days count.
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

stui magpie wrote:The JBL ones do that too, sound quality is great, for the amount I use them I don't need to pay big money and probably wouldn't notice much difference anyway..
I understand that: if I want a basic coffee I’ll go to the 7/11 however if I want a really good coffee I’ll pay more and get the coffee elsewhere. Nothing wrong with the first but you know the difference.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman

Nah, I'd rather a 7/11 coffee for $1
watt price tully

stui magpie wrote:Nah, I'd rather a 7/11 coffee for $1
Of course you do
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

watt price tully

Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

I’d rather drink plain tap water than shit coffee!
As for head phones, my eldest has expensive ones, but then she’s in IT, and has a very Mickey Mouse gaming PC she built herself! For me, with my nerve/hearing loss, I can’t really tell the difference! I have a pair of good quality fold up sound blanking or something ones to travel with made by Sony! Apart from a clearer sound, they are just really comfortable and I know they ain’t just repacked by the airline!

If you love love music, like P4S I’m guessing you justify the cost, not everyone wants an expensive DSLR! You put your money where your heart is!

Good Coffee however, is an art Form!

luvdids

Post by luvdids »

Post by roar »

kill for collingwood!

I'm also of the mind that coffee joints should charge $1 per syllable.

On that, a flat white costs $2, a cappuccino $4 and a decaff soy tumeric macchiato $10

I call it a wanker tax. :wink:

I should also mention, retaining the Ashes against England made me seriously happy. :D
watt price tully

My youngest is an inner urban gal: lives in Fitzroy, knows the best places to eat, drink and have coffee. Her boyfriend is a co-owner of an Ameican style Hamurger joint / wine bar in the CBD.
Anyway, some years ago a mutual friend of theirs who is a barrista was asked to run some Melbourne style coffee shops in New York. He was your typical barrista: ponytail, tatoos and beard

One day Hugh Jackman and family came in for a coffee and Hugh orders a decaf. This met with their friends reply: :"obviously, you haven't seen my tattoo: to wit he lifted the sleeve on his shirt revelaling death before decaf".

Apparently, decaf was not seved!
watt price tully

stui magpie wrote:I'm also of the mind that coffee joints should charge $1 per syllable.

On that, a flat white costs $2, a cappuccino $4 and a decaff soy tumeric macchiato $10

I call it a wanker tax. :wink:

I should also mention, retaining the Ashes against England made me seriously happy. :D
:lol: :lol:
watt price tully

Just got back from an 80km ride to Frankston (including Olivers Hill) and back:

3 hrs on the saddle
81 km’s
Average speed 25.4 km
Fastest Speed 61.7 km
Average heart rate (HR) of 121 bpm
Fastest HR of 151 bpm
Calories: 1097

Now for work this arvo with an additional 2-3 hrs overtime