What made you happy today?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 271 times
Been liked: 354 times

Happy New Year and Decade to everyone! :)
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

Happy New Year Jezza and to everyone else! Stay safe and enjoy

And GO PIES!
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

Worked 1:30 pm yesterday to 10:pm. Then worked thru night shift 10pm to 7:30 this morning. Got home, ate ,slept 4 hrs, back to work tonight from 5:30pm to 10pm (4 hrs) but get paid for the 8 hr shift. Now 2 days off
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
watt price tully

Have a happy, safe and healthy new year.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Skids
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 44 times

Post by Skids »

One more sleep and I'm outa here!
Don't count the days, make the days count.
watt price tully

After the overtime night shift and more went for a 75km ride today to Franga and back. Should have done it at 5:30 when I woke up having nearly forgotton to take the bins out. Unfortunately after doing the bins I went back to bed: tired. Got up at 1000, liubed the bike, pumped the tyres and went for a "nice ride"

No bicycle trains today. On my own although there were a few cyclitst on the roads and a few dickhead drivers (only one or two) which I haven't had in ages & you generally don't get very early in the morning. Bit of a head wind (South West which became West) so a bit of hard work getting there but mostly nice coming back. Stopped for a coffee at Mordy on the way back.

I feel happy. Now what to cook for vegetarian Mrs WPT for tea tonight as she is working today and tomorrow?
watt price tully

Figured out what to cook Mrs WPT for tea tonight:

http://www.sisterofsoul.com.au/wp-conte ... -kilda.pdf

Very nice (I did the washing up too)
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

Went for a drive to pick up a birthday present for my daughter, listening to the ABC radio. Intended to listen to the cricket but it's all bushfire coverage so I listened to that.

A oresenter was speaking to a guy from round Malacoota. He's a hunter, hunts feral deer, after after the fire had gone through an area, he thought because he's really familar with the bush he'd go out and see if there was anything he could do.

Long story short, he's rescued about 10 Koalas. Som injured and/or burnt, others just dehydrated and confused. Mainly finds them on the ground near a tree, approaches them first with water to drink, then wraps them in a blanket and takes them back to town to a wildlife shelter to care for. Doing it himself, 1 koala at a time, that's a fair commitment. Plus there's been a number of others he's left in the trees, he's climbed up to check them out and after confirming that they're no injured, are moving freely and still have food available, he's been advised to leave them alone.

So goodonya mate. Apart from the good work you also clearly made the presenters brain work as she clearly had difficulty reconciling in her brain, her mental picture of hunters against your actions.
watt price tully

stui magpie wrote:Went for a drive to pick up a birthday present for my daughter, listening to the ABC radio. Intended to listen to the cricket but it's all bushfire coverage so I listened to that.

A oresenter was speaking to a guy from round Malacoota. He's a hunter, hunts feral deer, after after the fire had gone through an area, he thought because he's really familar with the bush he'd go out and see if there was anything he could do.

Long story short, he's rescued about 10 Koalas. Som injured and/or burnt, others just dehydrated and confused. Mainly finds them on the ground near a tree, approaches them first with water to drink, then wraps them in a blanket and takes them back to town to a wildlife shelter to care for. Doing it himself, 1 koala at a time, that's a fair commitment. Plus there's been a number of others he's left in the trees, he's climbed up to check them out and after confirming that they're no injured, are moving freely and still have food available, he's been advised to leave them alone.

So goodonya mate. Apart from the good work you also clearly made the presenters brain work as she clearly had difficulty reconciling in her brain, her mental picture of hunters against your actions.
Good on him, pity he lined the koalas up then shot them later. :wink: :P

BTW, you can listen to the cricket on Bogan radio 1116 SEN or non Bogan radio ABC Grandstand on Digital radio.

I'm watching it on bogan Foxtel. The 7 coverage is good (better than 9's) but I can't stand Tim Lame. Short trip in the Ute I just push one button to change from MMM FM to 774 AM. :wink:
watt price tully

stui magpie wrote:^

I'm watching it on bogan Foxtel. The 7 coverage is good (better than 9's) but I can't stand Tim Lame. Short trip in the Ute I just push one button to change from MMM FM to 774 AM. :wink:
So you got the ABC reinstalled on ur radio?

great post Stui and well done to Koala guy!

This is it for me, saving the bush, and the wildlife. through sensible management, im not bothered about the property losses, People choose to put themselves in vulnerable positions, and dont follow the guidelines re building, re clearing, as for increasing the BAL ratings, pfff, people wont do it or stick to it. apparently it costs to much! How much is their life worth?

People who risk staying to save the house are just stupid, no-thing is worth it. Get the hell out and dont put the lives of fire fighters at risk.

[quote="watt price tully"]Figured out what to cook Mrs WPT for tea tonight:

http://www.sisterofsoul.com.au/wp-conte ... -kilda.pdf

Very nice (I did the washing up too)

The son is seeing a chick. She started a social media food raiser for the bushfires and got good traction, more than expected. Got donations of stuff from Costco and a bunch of other places, so the son came over tonight to borrow the Crewman ute so they can take all the stuff to some place near lilydale tomorrow.

First impressions, I could warm to this one.