What made you happy today?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

Morrigu wrote:^Good for you WPT - sounds like a great change!

Himself and I wandered around Brimbank Park for a couple of hours today - sun, fresh air and some fabulous old trees! :D
Good one: it’s been a gorgeous weekend. Apart from a ride to Frankston this morning Mrs WPT and I have been in the garden. New vege garden made with brassicas planted (broccoli, cauliflower) and various types of kale with some American poppies for colour.

Mrs WPT came back with a bag of organic fertilizer from Bunnings called “Who flung dung” D :lol:
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

think positive wrote:thanks everyone! it was pretty exciting!! its the first photo ive ever sent in!!! even better!! cheers
Great photos TP
cheers mate ta!!

Brimbank park is great, some really good spots for birds.

well i got the shock of my life today, went around to the rental to see what kind of condition its in, and wow, i reckon they left it better than they found it!! i was totally gobsmacked. nice for a change to be pleasantly surprised!!! cheers
Has liked: 271 times
Been liked: 347 times

KenH wrote:
Jezza wrote:Celebrating Easter tomorrow.

Won't be the same as other years, as I would have been at church this evening at midnight but at least I'll get to celebrate with those closest to me.
Excuse my ignorance but what would you have been celebrating at Church at midnight? What religion? I thought Easter church goings were Friday and Sunday?
No worries Ken, I'm happy to answer.

I'm a Greek (Eastern) Orthodox Christian.

Usually, we go to church on Good Friday evening but we were unable to do this for obvious reasons, so we watched a service on Channel 31 which streamed the event at St Eustathios Church in South Melbourne.

On Saturday night we attend church just before midnight. At midnight the church goes dark and the bells ring out to mark the resurrection of Jesus Christ. The priest will then light a candle representing Jesus’ eternal flame and churchgoers light a candle from this flame, which is then kept lit at home on Easter Sunday.

We regard Easter as the biggest and most important event of the year, even surpassing Christmas.
Bucks5
Been liked: 20 times

Post by Bucks5 »

Awesome pics TP. Can see why channel 10 used it.
How would Siri know when to answer "Hey Siri" unless it is listening in to everything you say?
KenH

Post by KenH »

KenH wrote:
Jezza wrote:Celebrating Easter tomorrow.

Won't be the same as other years, as I would have been at church this evening at midnight but at least I'll get to celebrate with those closest to me.
Excuse my ignorance but what would you have been celebrating at Church at midnight? What religion? I thought Easter church goings were Friday and Sunday?
No worries Ken, I'm happy to answer.

I'm a Greek (Eastern) Orthodox Christian.

Usually, we go to church on Good Friday evening but we were unable to do this for obvious reasons, so we watched a service on Channel 31 which streamed the event at St Eustathios Church in South Melbourne.

On Saturday night we attend church just before midnight. At midnight the church goes dark and the bells ring out to mark the resurrection of Jesus Christ. The priest will then light a candle representing Jesus’ eternal flame and churchgoers light a candle from this flame, which is then kept lit at home on Easter Sunday.

We regard Easter as the biggest and most important event of the year, even surpassing Christmas.
Thanks Jezza, so do you celebrate Easter twice or treat the "holiday Easter" as I do as a holiday with family? Why are there 2 different dates for Easter when both seem to be for Christians?
Cheers big ears

Bucks5 wrote:
Awesome pics TP. Can see why channel 10 used it.
thanks Mate, cheers!
What'sinaname
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by What'sinaname »

$26,000 in fines for the covidiots attending an 8 year old birthday party!!!!

Should have doubled the fines for sheer stupidity.
Fighting against the objectification of woman.
Has liked: 271 times
Been liked: 347 times

KenH wrote:Thanks Jezza, so do you celebrate Easter twice or treat the "holiday Easter" as I do as a holiday with family? Why are there 2 different dates for Easter when both seem to be for Christians?
No, we celebrate Easter only once a year.

Western Christians (e.g. Catholics, Protestants, Anglicans and etc.) all celebrate Easter together and they follow the Gregorian Calendar.

Eastern Christians (e.g. Eastern Orthodox) celebrate Easter by following the Julian Calendar.

Every few years, the dates of both Easter celebrations will coincide together, which creates less confusion but more often than not Easter celebrations are separate. The next time Easter celebrations will be done simultaneously is in 2025.

So in the next few years, these are the dates for Eastern Sunday as they follow:

- Western = April 4
- Eastern = May 2

- Western = April 17
- Eastern = April 24

- Western = April 9
- Eastern = April 16

- Western = March 31
- Eastern = May 5

- Western = April 20
- Eastern = April 20
KenH

Post by KenH »

Thanks Jezza, other than the dates for Easter do the Western and Eastern Christians agree on the reading of the Bible or are there a lot of disagreements? If you don't want to discuss this any further I understand. Cheers Ken
Cheers big ears
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

At one time, there were three dates for Easter (or Passover, depending on your faith). I think it was the Catholics who insisted (but that's from memory and it may have been the Jews or the Orthodox) ... be that as it may, there was so much bad feeling between the faiths that one of them made a practice of moving the Easter date to make sure that it never coincided with ... er ... Passover and/or the other mob's Easter.

I have a book about it (well, about the development of the Western calendar, this was just a part of the story) but I'm in one state and it's at the other house in the other state, so I can't refresh my memory for the details. It was some hundreds of years ago though.
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!

Post by roar »

Christmas for Eastern Orthodox also a different date (Jan 7), except for the Greeks, who have moved Christmas to coincide with western christianity.
kill for collingwood!

4 days after the keys were handed in the New tenant moved in, for the same coin, brilliant references, she previously rented from the same agent!! The place was left spotless, i didnt have to do a thing! im still in shock!!

I had to go to Yarraville to pick up a script for some decent migraine meds, i slept about 14 hours yesterday! i normally sleep about 6! so i took the opportunity to drop into Altona gate. the drive was interesting, they have split the westgate lead in road, and i had no idea where i was going to end up! but then it went back to normal. strange! i could see the remains of the crash and had to divert through Altona on the way home. not sure why they couldnt open at least 2 of 5 lanes? it was all to the lhs. there was trucks parked on the freeway just waiting!! so anyhow, i went in nearly every shop, just because i could! some great sales on, i bought 2 props from kmart, a unicorn stool and a navy velvet stool, plus 5 pairs of sparkly kids heels!! less than $50! i barely had room for groceries!

so now ill finish the wine i washed down the meds with, and get back to this f&%king paperwork! cheers!
Has liked: 131 times
Been liked: 165 times

Wine and meds. That's the Corvid combo right there.

aint that the truth!!!
Morrigu

Post by Morrigu »

stui magpie wrote:^

Wine and meds. That's the Corvid combo right there.
No cheese pffft.... :P