Page 89 of 100

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:31 pm
by bugalugs
BUNG wrote:BF ???
Big Footy forums :)

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:32 pm
by didaksrightfoot
I disagree.

I actually think this is one of the fairest trades for Fevola I have seen thrown around... and its win-win both ways, with a few questions over how things will pan out.

Bradshaw may be a couple of years older than Fev, but he is a quality full forward - 50 goals for the season, and 500 for a career, as the teams 2nd option is pretty good output, and he's one of the few players going around that you could put in place of Fevola and not have to change your game plan entirely. (obviously you cant rely on him to take over a game like Fev, but Id much rather be kicking it to a genuine FF than what a lot of teams, including Collingwood, are forced to use up front).

And Rischitelli is a quality young midfielder who can be molded into a HB or HF flanker... but to a midfield that has already just added Mclean - I do think its gonna be difficult to find out where all these guys fit and who gets a game.
---

For the Lions though - I'd want to make sure that Browny is 110% pushing for this trade... because although it looks exciting on paper, in reality Im not sure how well it is going to work having two gun forwards - this isnt the 1980's, and I dont know how well their ego's are going to handle not being the go-to man. (for Bradshaw's worth - he's always clearly been a sidekick to Brown, and Lynch before him - and was happy giving up the spotlight)

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:32 pm
by Slayer
Has Fev changed his mind ? Because thats the only way he can end up at Brisbane, Carlton have no real power in any of this, its just bluff, smoke and mirrors. Fev has the power.

All Fev has to do is keep re iterating his club of choice is collingwood.

i imagine it goes like this:
carlton fc: "we're trading you, name a club"
fev: "collingwood"
carlton fc: "f*ck, our supporters will go nuts, we cant do that"
Fev: "collingwood"
carlton fc "but they are our mortal enemy"
Fev: "coollliiinnggwoooodddd"
and so on and so on ....

THe logic:
1. carlton have to trade fev, the likes of Judd, Gibbs & Murphy have had enough and given an ultimatum - get rid of him. Im basing that on media commentary - Carlton cannot keep Fev on their list, end of story.
2. Fev is contracted, As a contracted player he has to agree to the exchange, or it doesnt happen.
Since they cant keep him on their list (see point 1) they have to trade him to the club of his choice.
3. Fev has nominated collingwood as his club of choice.

Was Fev ever serious about collingwood being his preffered club ? if he was serious, Carlton then has to decide, trade him to us, or keep him on their list, keeping seems untenable (see point 1)

There is absolutely no reason for him to go to Brisbane or Sydney unless he has changed his view of his preferred club.

Based on points 1, 2 and 3 - he comes to collingwood for a 3rd round pick, midday friday.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:34 pm
by sq3
AN_Inkling wrote:This is Fev you're talking about? He's not the AFL's best full forward, and would be of marginal benefit to the Lions.

And a masterstroke? Did you miss the bit where no one else wants Fev? That's why the Blues may consider taking out the Lions' rubbish for them.
Can't agree mate - Fev is the best FF this year - no doubting that he has the Coleman Medal to prove it.

What Voss is looking for is a good FF that will take some of the pressure off JB - and he has found that.

What the Lions have lost is the guy that can go to CHB when required and provide drive from the backline - and that is what the Blues require badly.

I actually think that this makes both clubs more of a threat.

Lions get a reall FF that can take some of the heat off JB - Blues get an CHB/FF that will allow Waite to floar forward to FF with Kreuzer at CHF and Hampson in the ruck.

Win/Win.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:45 pm
by melliot
Slayer wrote:Has Fev changed his mind ? Because thats the only way he can end up at Brisbane, Carlton have no real power in any of this, its just bluff, smoke and mirrors. Fev has the power.

All Fev has to do is keep re iterating his club of choice is collingwood.

i imagine it goes like this:
carlton fc: "we're trading you, name a club"
fev: "collingwood"
carlton fc: "f*ck, our supporters will go nuts, we cant do that"
Fev: "collingwood"
carlton fc "but they are our mortal enemy"
Fev: "coollliiinnggwoooodddd"
and so on and so on ....

THe logic:
1. carlton have to trade fev, the likes of Judd, Gibbs & Murphy have had enough and given an ultimatum - get rid of him. Im basing that on media commentary - Carlton cannot keep Fev on their list, end of story.
2. Fev is contracted, As a contracted player he has to agree to the exchange, or it doesnt happen.
Since they cant keep him on their list (see point 1) they have to trade him to the club of his choice.
3. Fev has nominated collingwood as his club of choice.

Was Fev ever serious about collingwood being his preffered club ? if he was serious, Carlton then has to decide, trade him to us, or keep him on their list, keeping seems untenable (see point 1)

There is absolutely no reason for him to go to Brisbane or Sydney unless he has changed his view of his preferred club.

Based on points 1, 2 and 3 - he comes to collingwood for a 3rd round pick, midday friday.
Good post. I think your right........ I hope your right.

Fev named Saints and Pies as prefered clubs. Saints apear out of the race for Salary cap reasons.

So this leaves Pies. If eddie has pulled a master stroke and has worded up Fev and Manager, He should stick to his guns.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:48 pm
by jack_spain
I think it's a disgrace that the biggest thread in years is devoted to a layabout lout from Scumtown. :twisted:

Listen people it ain't gonna happen.

Fev is off to Brissie for Bradshaw and Rischatelli

Now if I'd known that Brisbane was prepared to put Bradshaw on the table I might have been interested.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:51 pm
by jack_spain
charmer wrote: me neither. Surely they would prefer a pick + a player like Dawes who is young and can be turned into anything.
Get your bloody hands off my Chris Dawes! :P

If as you say Dawes can be turned into anything then surely Nathan Buckley is just the man to do it. Dawes has to stay and be played in just the same way Geelong persevered with Tom Hawkins.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:56 pm
by Fire Up
ill tell you this carlton fans on my facebook have cracked the shits about fev. 1 guy is blaming the afl :? :lol:

this is what he wrote 1st:

"i'll always love ya fev u mad c*nt :( f*ck the afl and its administrators"

then he wrote this next:

"And the ball goes bang!!!!! Krezuer lovely tap - hits it to judds path, judd puts the burners on takes a bounce looks up and kicks it to......NOBODYS THERE"

it's enough to make you laugh, i then replyed to say that the blues are getting 1 player with dodgy hammies and 1 that wont play in the side, he didnt take that lightly.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:13 pm
by Neil Appleby
Mike Shean says Fev has agreed to the deal and the only impediment is the Brisbane boys. They fly down to meet Carlton tomorrow. Both Melbourne boys.....you'd think it's a done deal.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:16 pm
by melliot
Its not much to beat, is it? Its the best offer for him so far.

Pick 30 and a half decent player should be enough.

I don't fall for the "we won't trade with the Pies /bombers' line. Reckon its BS. If we offer the best deal (with younger players, they'll eventually take it.

The question is what player we offer? Goldsack? Dawes? Reid? McCaffer? Rusling? A young promising player with pick 30, should get it done and is better than the Lions offer.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:21 pm
by WITTY 35 DAICOS MAGIC
I cant believe they havnt budged yet on any trades,what are they waiting for,
It must have been the fevola trade,if fev signs with bris,we may find our trades will just fall in place.
I still dont think jolly is the answer,Mark williams from hawks was worth a look,but we have 20 of those type of footballers.

I think luke ball is the trade we need done.

But i havnt given up hope on fev,something tells me,he was gonna be a pie,but carlton wanted to test the waters of what they would get offered for him,bris has been the best offer to date,if we want him,we would have to beat that offer.

I dont see why we wouldnt offer a pick 14,dawes and macaffer,

Or a Cloke and fraser to soften them up.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:31 pm
by AN_Inkling
^^ Could be mate. But I doubt we're daft enough to trade any of our quality young players for Fev. Our forward line's not a weakness, and any improvement Fev could make to it would be speculative at best, particularly given his terrible on-field attitude.

We have a talented young squad that's primed for 10 years of success. Taking a punt on someone with Fev's problems and only a few years left in him, is just not worth it. I'm not overly impressed with his footballing talent either, a lead up forward who would kick far less goals at any team other than Carlton, where 90% of the ball goes through him. Could not see him helping us against the better teams, too much pressure to deliver the ball on a platter, and we know how Fev reacts when the ball's not served to him hot and on time - drops head, gives away a few 50s, takes the rest of the game off. A power forward who can take strong contested marks is the only improvement to be made to our forward line, and Fev's just not the man for the job.

We will improve our short term prospects by picking up Jolly and Ball, while keeping our young list mostly intact and ready to kick on when Jolly's gone. No need to stretch for Fev as well.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:37 pm
by Neil Appleby
Mike Sheahan wouldn't put his name to this unless it were pretty well sewn up. The Age followed him with this........so let's get over it and concentrate on Ball.
Jolly is already in a Magpie jumper.

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:47 pm
by Pebbles Rocks
lets see if we can get to 100 pages! C'mon, you can be part of history!

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:48 pm
by Pebbles Rocks
lets see if we can get to 100 pages! C'mon, you can be part of history!