What pisses you off?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Been liked: 7 times

Post by Woods Of Ypres »

busting my arse for 8 years to save money for a home deposit. Losing my job, but then told by Centrelink the money saved must be used up before I Newstart Allowance will be approved.

sick
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

^ yeah, that's a killer. sorry to hear about your job.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
Kingswood

Post by Kingswood »

punkologist wrote:playing far cry 2 for about 30 hrs only to get to 88% and have a glitch in the game stop me from going any further.
Roddy wrote:busting my arse for 8 years to save money for a home deposit. Losing my job, but then told by Centrelink the money saved must be used up before I Newstart Allowance will be approved.

sick
LOL...

but seriously sorry to hear that mate.. chin up :x
Has liked: 134 times
Been liked: 169 times

Roddy wrote:busting my arse for 8 years to save money for a home deposit. Losing my job, but then told by Centrelink the money saved must be used up before I Newstart Allowance will be approved.

sick
That is so bullshit isn't it. The bastards get you every which way.

Withdraw the money from the bank, buy a small fireproof safe, bolt it to the floor under your bed and stick the money in it.

Go back to centrelink and tell them you spent it. If they ask "what on" tell em you were depressed, got pissed and spent it on booze and hookers and wasted the rest.

Or, stick the money into your super fund. (just make sure it's not locked in there until you retire. If you put extra in post tax, you should be able to withdraw the principle, not the earnings, at any time).

The longest they should be able to withold payments for would be for the duration of any leave you had paid out on termination. ie, if you got paid out 6 weeks leave/notice, they can withold payments for 6 weeks.
Miss_Lisey_Molloy

Post by Miss_Lisey_Molloy »

My nephews Kinder making this weekend our 'Kinder Clean Up' weekend!!

In the pouring rain, we had to go out and clean the animal pens, put food out, sweep like a kilometre of path, and tidy up the yard!!

$275.00 a term, and they make us clean up!! It's crazy!!

Me and my sister are petrified of animals, and one of the rabbits got out. It took me like 15 minutes to catch it, and I was terrified! Haha yes, I am scared of bunnies :P

*~Alyssa's Song Of The Moment~*
I See You - Luke Bryan

F*cking power keeps going out. Something's tripping the safety switch. Either I have a short in something or it's the dodgy weather. Nothin new has been plugged in, but happened 4 times today. :evil:
BlackAndWhiteSince87

Post by BlackAndWhiteSince87 »

I'd say its the weather.Our internet has been really slow as of it all day.

I'm gonna crack the shits big time real soon. &*( safety switch is going ballistic. I've been going round the house turning things off and it still trips. Lost count how many times now. I'm really getting pissed off.
Piethagoras' Theorem
Been liked: 17 times

Post by Piethagoras' Theorem »

You may have a water leak that's setting it off stui
Formally frankiboy and FrankieGoesToCollingwood.

It seems to have settled now. I've turned off everything I'm not using. I'll go round tomorrow and hit "test" and turn things on till I find it, unless it was a leak after all this rain.

Post by Dale61 »

punkologist wrote:the government giving handouts to dole bludgers who use it to buy alcohol. I could have done with $1400 myself, but since im fractionally above the breadline I miss out as usual.
Dole bludgers don't get the bonus, so I don't know how you came up with that!

It's single pensioners who get the $1400; couple pensioners get $2100 between them; eligible families get $1000 per child; eligible carers get $1000 per person they care for.
Whale
Oil
Beef
Piethagoras' Theorem
Been liked: 17 times

Post by Piethagoras' Theorem »

stui magpie wrote:It seems to have settled now. I've turned off everything I'm not using. I'll go round tomorrow and hit "test" and turn things on till I find it, unless it was a leak after all this rain.
You haven't set up xmas lighting as in Chevy Chase in National Lampoons have you? :lol:
Formally frankiboy and FrankieGoesToCollingwood.

Nah, No Xmas lighting. Up half the night turning the freaking power back on.

Rang up a sparky first thing this morning. He came out, I unplugged everything and he's running tests. Can't figure out what it is. No one thing is actually shorting and there's no evidence of a water pool anywhere.

Unplugged the back shed, it was giving a reading, but hasn't fixed it.

In the end, after an hour of f*&king around, I got him to install multiple circuit switches, so the power in the back of the house trips a different circuit to the front. It's the front that's causing the problem, just don't know WTF it is.

I've plugged the frisge and freezer into an extension cord and ran it to the back room, so it's not going to go down if the frnt trips again and bought new powerboards for the computer and AV equipment.

$200 for the call out, $300 for the hours work plus the 3 new circuits, plus another $100 for the 2 power boards.

I'm going to get a beer. :evil:
BlackAndWhiteSince87

Post by BlackAndWhiteSince87 »

I still think it was the weather yesturday Stui.
Just hope for you and your bank accounts sake it isnt!

I'm sure the weather has something to do with it, but it's not that simple. The sparky couldn't track any particular fault. if it was a water leak somewhere, he would have found it.

FIIK.