Pathetic

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

I think there is some very intersting reading here and you can certainly tell who is educated and who isn't when reading the reponses. You can also tell which people judge posts for their content and which people judge them simply by who has written them.

JLC i think you are very fair in saying that everyone is entitled to their opinion and i think as paying members of this club we certainly do have a right to express our concern over issues like this.

I think the suggestion of not renewing your membership with Collingwood would only hurt yourself because at the end of the day when Collingwood win a premiership i will definately want to say that i have been a member and have been to all of their games win or lose.

I also agree with what a few are saying about bagging the club because of the strong desire for Collingwood to be successful which we all want so badly. I am guilty of bagging the club myself at times and have been accused of doing it because i am either not passionate or a bandwagoner or whatever else people have come up with but at the end of the day i badly want to see Collingwood succeed just like everyone else here does and by pretending everything is perfect when we have had such a long finals drought is not going to make it any easier. Anyway to go from missing the wooden spoon by one to missing the 8 by one the next year we have gotta be on the way now surely!
magpie jeff

Post by magpie jeff »

YES MOST DEFINATELY every one has a right to express there opinions and to those expressing there disgust with the collingwood football club at present it will be my opinion to tell them to get stuffed and look at the big picture.

LOOK
AT
THE
BIG
PICTURE.

I take it jill your sticking up for your comrade rohan what ever his name is ? well please pass on a message this is not that 'other bulletin board where rohan thinks he has the right to bag shit out of the collingwood administration like he always does.

Your a disgrace rohan a bloody disgrace.

Why dont you bloody grow up and stop shitcanning the collingwood football club.

You have deliberately used this as another oppertunity to get stuck into the club's administration.

DONT BRING A KNIFE TO A GUNFIGHT...sean connery...the untouchables !!...DARREN MILLANE SIMPLY THE BEST...BETTER THAN ALL THE REST #42..GO OUR GLORIOUS BLACK AND WHITE MAGPIES FOR EVER UNTIL DEATH!!
Rohan Coventry Tateson

Post by Rohan Coventry Tateson »

MarkT

Post by MarkT »

Here we go again.

We all have opiniions and we are all entitled to express them. I would like to make one simple point.

Those that criticise Collingwood are not by definition traitors.
Those that accept anything the clus says and does and will not be critical only have themselves to blame when mediocraty prevals.

There are no hidden meaning there just my opinion on OUR reactions to events and other's opinions.

Defend the club when it's warranted but not by stamping out criticism simply because it is criticism.
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Brown26 »

Rohan - yes you make a good point in taht we obviously TRIED to trade, ie. Gerigh, Black, Everit, etc. but frankly what the other clubs were asking for, and in some cases the players, were ludicrous. For example, is Black worth 1.1 million over three years? Not when we've got half a dozen players in our line up ALREADY who will be better than him by then. He's got potential, but he's not a superstar yet.

Gerigh wanted to come but WC wouldn't trade. Hawthorn wanted a top four pick - we would've needed to trade with Freo, maybe OBree and Licca for number 4? That's stupid!

Is Everit worth 1 million over two years when you've got the future best ruckman in the league. All he needs is a bit of time - we've got two years. More importantly, is Everit worth two first round draft picks and our second round draft pick? For a guy whos going to give you five more years maybe, the answer is NO!

The future of our club is Didak, Cloak, Leon Davis, Fraser, etc, the guys who are only young even by our standards. We now have a great opourtunity to pick up more guys like these.

It would have been nice to snare one of the big name players but Noel Judkins can't say to Hawthorn "no. trade Croad for Betheras" cause they wont listen to him!! You can't make Clubs trade for lower, even if the player wants to go to that club (Croad wanted to go to the Bombers).

This draft is deep. next years not so by most indications. keep draft picks now, trade for players next year. Adkins, Scotland, those guys will all be worth more next year once they star in the reserves and have a few games in teh seniors. They'll attract good players instead of hacks, and we wont have to trade our quality kids for big names who may or may not perfor

MargOZ

Post by MargOZ »

I'm sure the CFC were TRYING to trade and obtain the extra couple of experienced players we need to 'top-up' our current list.

But it wouldn't surprise me if other clubs were no doubt asking far too much than we were prepared to pay/trade. AND it wouldn't surprise me if managers/clubs were not in a hurry to trade because at the end of the day they hate the CFC and don't want to see us successful.

It's easy to say we should have got this player, or that player, but none of them are worth trading any of our stars for.

So, yes, it is disappointing but I'd much rather keep the services of champions like N. Davis, Lockyer and Licuria (the sort of quality player other clubs probably requested) than trade them for players with big egos and big pay cheques.

rash

Post by rash »

From what was reported on the TV last night it seems that we waisted our time on Misiti. Tell me he wouldn't be demanding a huge fee. What a waste of time. We have enough midfielders. We again miss out on a quality EXPERIENCED ruckman.
Malklas

Post by Malklas »

I agree with Rohan on this one, professional clubs will always look at options, we cannot rely on youth.

Go Pie Pride....join in and everyones a winner.
DaicosForever

Post by DaicosForever »

Wowser another fair dinkum shitfight in this BB.

Give it time guys, our players will come good and recruiting for short term success will not work for us. Its not working for the Saints and it sure as hell wont work for Fremantle.Imporvement for these clubs will come from the Riewolds/Koschitzkes/
Haselbey/Pavlichs etc etc

When players are jumping shit at a huge rate of knots and players are generally jumping only only for the sake of money
as is the case with Both Freo and St's and is not much pride in wearing the jumper then success will not come. Its a tried and failed process. Sure Misiti would be great but do u think he will seriously give a shit about our jumper when he was an Essendon boy through and through. Or the same about Croad. I dont think you'll see him tearing up over 450000 grand a year at Freo. Hell no.

Stick with the Frazer's/Davis/Johnsons/Tarrants/ and you will see results just as Essendon Carlton and the rest have over the years. We will be a force.

Please Dont tell me either that Croad/Black/Gherig/Hamill/are all worth their investment because they are nothing more then capable at best...I reaffirm that there is no chance I would trade a NIck Davis for a Croad no matter how big and tall he is...He just does not have Nicky's natrual ability...thats just a case in point I thought Id make....

Louis
Rowdy26

Post by Rowdy26 »

Rohan, yes you are entitled to express what you think however when all you ever do is belittle the club and its people you have to expect personal attacks on yourself.

Get over it mate, if you love gehrig and those other st kilda kronies that much go to moronabbin and take your "constructive" critism with you. I for one have had enough of it and wouldnt give a stuff if we lost one membership if it were yours.

Oh yes this is a personal attack in case you havent noticed (I apologise to the board for that) and I dont care if you're not responding to this cause i can imagine the shite you'd be writing if u did anyway.

You are the most negative, attention seeking, grudge holding, think you know it all I have ever come across.

People would take you more seriously if you just had a good hard look at yourself sometimes.

Critism can be constructive, but not when its coming from you.

The guy who once said the following was obviously thinking of you at the time:

"What you've just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul"

Sorry to those who's time i have wasted reading this.

BE POSITIVE, GO FORWARD - BE COLLINGWOOD, GO PIES!

No Jeff i wasn't "Sticking up for Rohan" i think Rohan is quite capable of doing so for himself as we have all seen on here. I don't write posts in support of a particular PERSON i write posts based on an OPINION and if that happens to be the same as Rohans or anyone elses then so be it.

Post by JLC »

Firstly there are no guarantees on Adkins as that injury he has incurred can be very long term. Look at Setphen Powell for a perfect example.

The way i see it is that we have plenty of room in our salary cap and a minimum of 95% must be used. I would much rather use this money to get a person to our club that will make us top 4 material. Clearly Everitt would do this.

Collingwood deserve the best tap ruckman going around. Quite clearly Everitt is in the Top 3 tap ruckman in the AFL.

As for the comment about midfielders i dont think we have too many, or if we do they are not of the highest quality. Clearly Brisbane have the most potent midfield in the AFL. The next question is to compare our midfield to theres. To match it with Brisbane we require another one or two quality midfielders to help Obree and Buckley.

Hopefully the young kids like Roach, Tuckey and Kinnear will appreciate the amount of faith that the coaching staff have shown in them. Its clearly up to the players to reward this faith by having a huge pre season and be raring to go for next year

EVERYONE IS A COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTER ITS JUST THAT SOME PEOPLE ARE IN DENIAL
magpie jeff

Post by magpie jeff »

Rohan and jill

Let me chose my words very crefully here as this will be the last time on this board i get sucked in by rohans negative comments towards to collingwood and mainly eddie's administrtaion.

First of all jill i dont think in all fairness you know what passion is all about as you are a member of 4 AFL clubs and yes i know or will be reminded that is your right and good luck to you it must be good to have 4 chances of seeing one of your clubs in the finals each year although i had a good laugh this year when melb, stkilda and nth melbourne didnt make it.

Rohan im tired of you thinking that at any given time you have the right to shit can collingwood...

YOU NEVER PRAISE COLLINGWOOD what is the matter with you mate what is your agenda, what is your problem.
I agree we all have different opinions but your opinions are always negative mate.

Do you want to see this club fail as you seem so quick and delighted in posting absolute crap about anything.

Where is your praise rohan in this club still being in existence and in the money and with a vision for the future.
Because several years ago mate it all came close to ending why dont you acknowledge the positive things.

I bet when you walk down the street to buy a newspaper you wear a helmet in fear of being hit by a car.

I bet on a sunny day at the beach you take an umbrella in fear of rain.

Be positive mate or at least try to be and stop craving the acknowledgement of other 'hangers on' from other bulletin boards in your attempt to bring down this club.

Now for the sake of being the nice guy i am rohan i have decided never to reply to your postings again, life is too short and wonderful to acknowledge negative pricks like your self in any manner.

Have a good one mate and have fun on other bulletin boards with your many other collimgwood haters bagging the shit out of our club and its culture.

DONT BRING A KNIFE TO A GUNFIGHT...sean connery...the untouchables !!...DARREN MILLANE SIMPLY THE BEST...BETTER THAN ALL THE REST #42..GO OUR GLORIOUS BLACK AND WHITE MAGPIES FOR EVER UNTIL DEATH!!

ah dear i knew this would be brought up again Image i will tell you one thing Jeff...i may have an interest in other clubs outside Collingwood but i will tell you now, last year as happy as i was that Melbourne had made it into the grand final i would have given anything for Collingwood to have been there in Melbourne's place. And the same goes for the all the other grand finals i have attended in the past few years. There has never been a moment when i didn't think of how much better it would have been had Collingwood have been there! Image
Woody

Post by Woody »

At first I was completely shocked that we didn't make a trade, I was hoping that the rumours were true and we would pick up Everitt.

I have faith that the football department know what is best for the CFC and if that means turning down a trade because it did not benefit us then I'm glad. I'm sure there is an extremely good reason and an official announcement will probably be made sooner or later. I just wish that it was sooner....

I'm certainly not going to turn my back on the club that I love, they need our support what ever the outcome.