Collingwood Merchandise and Memorabilia

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Post by Dale61 »

Stui, look at the times the bids were placed.

If Bidder 5 made a max bid of $250, then a bid should have shown up after each of Luka's bids.

My partner lost an auction in a similar way about 18 months ago, and after e-bay investigated it, they found she was being outbid by the seller, and the bid history of Luka's auction has a similar look to it.

If you check further into the bidding history, Luka was also bidding against Bidder 2, 3 and 4, so in theory, he may have been the only legitimate bidder in the auction, and may have got scammed.
Whale
Oil
Beef
The Prince of Fullbacks

Post by The Prince of Fullbacks »

Dale61 wrote:Stui, look at the times the bids were placed.

If Bidder 5 made a max bid of $250, then a bid should have shown up after each of Luka's bids.

My partner lost an auction in a similar way about 18 months ago, and after e-bay investigated it, they found she was being outbid by the seller, and the bid history of Luka's auction has a similar look to it.

If you check further into the bidding history, Luka was also bidding against Bidder 2, 3 and 4, so in theory, he was the only legitimate bidder in the auction, and may have got scammed.
You can bid again that quickly, like I said, if he says he didn't then something is wrong.

"Only actual bids (not automatic bids generated up to a bidder's maximum) are shown."

How do you figure he was the only legit bidder? Are you saying that as the others were just named bidder 1 bidder2 etc.
John Greening deserves a bronze statue

Post by Dale61 »

I'm only basing my theory on what my partner seems to think may have happened.

I don't e-bay, and have no intentions of doing so. If I want to get ripped off, I like to look the seller in the eye when they do it.
Whale
Oil
Beef
Presti35
Has liked: 441 times
Been liked: 214 times

Post by Presti35 »

Contacting ebay wont solve anything. The higher the bid goes, the more profit they make.

Its happened to me. I won a Pippen jersey and noticed the other people bidding only bidded after i did. Then retracted the bid and then bid again to 1 cent less of my highest bid.

I checked the sellers history and saw all the things they had sold, the same thing had happened.

And the people bidding were like 'new ebayers' with no ranking or anything.

Anyway, ebays responce was... "there is no evidence".

I refused to pay and got banned for 30 days. Go figure.
A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!
The Prince of Fullbacks

Presti#1Fan wrote:Contacting ebay wont solve anything. The higher the bid goes, the more profit they make.

Its happened to me. I won a Pippen jersey and noticed the other people bidding only bidded after i did. Then retracted the bid and then bid again to 1 cent less of my highest bid.

I checked the sellers history and saw all the things they had sold, the same thing had happened.

And the people bidding were like 'new ebayers' with no ranking or anything.

Anyway, ebays responce was... "there is no evidence".

I refused to pay and got banned for 30 days. Go figure.
That didn't happen here though. Perfecly legitimate bidding process. Good seller history, 2 bidders had a history of up to 50 (rating points), one between 50 & 100 & the other between 100 & 500.
The Prince of Fullbacks

I've had over 700 transactions on ebay. I've only ever had about 5 items not turn up. "Lost in the mail", one legit (i believe) the others rip offs I reckon.

You're right eBay don't do jack, most of mine were under $20 & they state we don't even look at those claims.

Their fees really pee me off. FeeBay!
Presti35

Post by Presti35 »

Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

How can you tell it's fake?

5 grand for one - Get Knicked
kickit2me

Post by kickit2me »

I'll sell mine. Mint condition.
"And that effort by Ezard was pathetic" - Don Scott.

Post by Dale61 »

Good get Presti.

Study both cards for a while and you can actually see the difference.

One that I noticed was that the genuine card got a 9.5 overall rating, but the fake got a 10, even though it's not centred.
Whale
Oil
Beef
Presti35

Post by Presti35 »

hehehe the Jordan Rookie card is THE card!

Its a shame that someone will pay over 500 for something worth about 2 bucks! Fleer reprinted the card also which caused them some greef. The reprint is worth $2.
zoia

Post by zoia »

we should report the sale
Skids
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 44 times

Post by Skids »

I've got a YAKKA black & white ball signed by the 1979 Night premiership team, what you reckon it's worth? Signed in blue pen and signatures ar definitely a bit faded.
Don't count the days, make the days count.
Donny
Has liked: 63 times
Been liked: 27 times

Post by Donny »

Obviously, someone bid from the grassy knoll. :wink:

It's a game. Enjoy it. :D
London Dave

Post by London Dave »

Dale61 wrote:Yobbo, now you know why you don't submit your first bid until about 20 mins to go.

You can then see if anyone is bumping you, and then you wait until about 60-90 seconds to go to make your final bid.

Why did you keep bidding against yourself?

Bidder Bid Amount Bid Time
lukam8 AU $255.00 23-Oct-07 18:24:57 AEST
Bidder 5 AU $250.00 23-Oct-07 17:37:25 AEST
lukam8 AU $250.00 23-Oct-07 18:24:29 AEST
lukam8 AU $240.00 23-Oct-07 18:24:22 AEST
lukam8 AU $235.00 23-Oct-07 18:24:12 AEST
lukam8 AU $230.00 23-Oct-07 18:23:51 AEST
lukam8 AU $225.00 23-Oct-07 18:23:42 AEST
lukam8 AU $220.00 23-Oct-07 18:23:35 AEST

Bidder 5 AU $210.00 23-Oct-07 17:36:51 AEST
lukam8 AU $200.00 17-Oct-07 08:24:27 AEST
or use auctionsniper and save the hassle.