Post Match. Pies swamp Swans - all comments please
- Has liked: 14 times
- Been liked: 28 times
Leigh Matthews raving about Ben Reid on 3AW. Loves him I reckon.
I think they gave Dids BOG.
Last edited by pietillidie on Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
In the end the rain comes down, washes clean the streets of a blue sky town.
Help Nick's: http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/fundraising.htm
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 168 times
Goal kicking was pretty good tonight I thought, and even not so bad against the Dees. It's ball movement going forward that's the problem.
Massive concerns over Dick. That shoulder looks as if it could be a chronic problem.
Could be a chance for Rounds if he shows good VFL form. Hopefully we'll also see Medhurst regain some touch soon.
Massive concerns over Dick. That shoulder looks as if it could be a chronic problem.
Could be a chance for Rounds if he shows good VFL form. Hopefully we'll also see Medhurst regain some touch soon.
Well done boys!
- Donny
- Has liked: 63 times
- Been liked: 27 times
We kicked 13.13 off the boot.Fire Up wrote:having that team in today could go close to beating the cats. but we need to focus on kicking goals and not points
What's the big deal ?
Last night, St Kilda kicked 10.10 off the boot.
Last edited by Donny on Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
It's a game. Enjoy it.
- Pied Piper
- David
- Has liked: 17 times
- Been liked: 83 times
Lane's commentary of the umpiring decision was ridiculous, but what about the umpiring? Final term contained some of the worst umpiring decisions I've seen all year. The free to the red head should see some demotions; the free kick against Davis on the siren just capped it off. Disgraceful stuff.
"Every time we witness an injustice and do not act, we train our character to be passive in its presence." – Julian Assange
The kicking for goal really wasn't bad. 13.13, as Donny says is decent. Further to that, we missed very few simple shots. The problem we have is not moving the ball well enough and getting enough simple shots. Against Melbourne we had very few set shots, and plenty of tough snaps and wide or long shots on the run. Tonight, we did better, taking more marks than last round, but overall we did not get that many set shots straight in front, and did not work the ball well enough at times when clear opportunities presented.
We had 75 inside 50s to 41 tonight. There should have been many more goals, and many more occasions when we broke them down and were able to score easily. We had three tall forwards who were more than a match for their opponents, but were not used enough. Maybe the Swans did well defensively, but inefficient forward thrusts have been a problem for us all season, much more so than goal kicking.
Well done boys!
- Big T
- Has liked: 6 times
- Been liked: 82 times
So true.David wrote:Lane's commentary of the umpiring decision was ridiculous, but what about the umpiring? Final term contained some of the worst umpiring decisions I've seen all year. The free to the red head should see some demotions; the free kick against Davis on the siren just capped it off. Disgraceful stuff.
The Rohan too high free was the worst I have seen, since the Rocca push in the back on Anzac day which cost us the game.
Not only does the umpire have to be sent to the netball courts for a decade, but Tim Lane, even with all of the other commentators telling him he was wrong, refused to acknowledge the most ridiculous decision ever seen. He was an absolute wanker all night, he may as well preface every comment with a disclaimer "I am a card carrying member of Carlton and I hate Collingwood".
I thought Wallsy was actually good tonight as was Huddo and Lloyd, I always like Lloyds insight.
Which leads me to the next question, when oh when will Matthew Lloyd be appointed our forward line coach, even part time???
Last edited by Big T on Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Buon Giorno
- Big T
- Has liked: 6 times
- Been liked: 82 times
Spot on An Inkling. Didn't Rudeboy already summarise this weekly argument?AN_Inkling wrote:The kicking for goal really wasn't bad. 13.13, as Donny says is decent. Further to that, we missed very few simple shots. The problem we have is not moving the ball well enough and getting enough simple shots. Against Melbourne we had very few set shots, and plenty of tough snaps and wide or long shots on the run. Tonight, we did better, taking more marks than last round, but overall we did not get that many set shots straight in front, and did not work the ball well enough at times when clear opportunities presented.
It's the gameplan stupid!
Buon Giorno
- Donny
- Has liked: 63 times
- Been liked: 27 times
Pied Piper wrote:I'm surprised you're persisting with that line of argument, Donny.
Allow me a clarification, PP.Donny wrote:No argument, mate. Fact.
Maybe it's because I have to read every post that the constant 'Sybil Fawlty' type of harping on this facet of our game irks me.
I bit back (in reply to you) in the Game On thread as it wasn't particularly woeful in tonight's game. At that stage, it was 10.13 with 4 rushed behinds. Also, it wasn't as if we were being challenged by a Swans scoreline of 10.3. I think they were 6.7 at the time.
In this thread, I replied to Fire Up. Hardly persisting when I was responding to another poster.
Last edited by Donny on Sat Jun 26, 2010 11:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.
It's a game. Enjoy it.