And the 2010 GB Medallist is... (incl. donation info)

Voting for the Gavin Brown Medal here

Moderators: David, bbmods

John Wren

Post by John Wren »

David wrote:Donny, how do you propose we best go about notifying Dane?

Although it is, of course, the Gavin Brown Medal, for some reason I prefer the idea of an actual trophy. That way we can actually engrave Dane's name, etc. I suppose medals can be engraved, but I'm not sure if it's usually done that way.

Here's the site I've been looking at, anyway. Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated.

http://www.awardsandtrophies.com.au/Sel ... Rules.aspx
contact justin reeves or xavier at the club.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

Big T wrote:
Collingwood 4 eternity wrote:Sarah Murdoch announced the winner of the Gavin Brown medal as "Scott Pendlebury" then said "Oh no , I'm so sorry , I'm so sorry it's .... the winner is Dane" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I think you mean Scott Embury
LOL He's not very bright Arnold Briedis. :lol:

Interesting that Beams had 9 votes by Round 11 and got none after then. He really did taper off. Sidebottom, on the other hand, got better and better as the season wore on.

Well done Swanny - well deserved.
Macedonian Marvel #35

Post by Macedonian Marvel #35 »

i recon we get a ripper of a trophy/medal , no matter what the price is.

make it one that stands out

im willing to chuck in as much as needed.
Has liked: 15 times
Been liked: 76 times

Great ideas guys, and yeah, that'd be great Donny.

Any and all contributions are welcome. Please refer to the details on page 1, or PM me if you're unsure how to go about it. I reckon we'll allow a short time for the contributions to add up and then see how much we have and what we can afford.

I like Donny's idea of a perpetual shield and individual medals, but I guess it all comes down to how much money we have to work with.
Last edited by David on Wed Oct 06, 2010 12:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
favourites 2008

Post by favourites 2008 »

just twitter the man.

Thanks to everyone who has contributed so far! We're up to $8. Not bad!
Donny
Has liked: 63 times
Been liked: 27 times

Post by Donny »

The PayPal info: david(underscore)ipfan@hotmail.com (wasn't clear with the underline in the other post)

It's a game. Enjoy it. :D

Sorry Donny, that's Lpfan. Methinks I need a better email address.
fence-banger

Post by fence-banger »

Yes let's do this ... and come to think of it, if it's called the Gavin Brown Medal, then let's go with a Medal hey, my view, but it's only just occurred to me!

Who can tell me something useful about Paypal, like how do I get money to David!

Thanks so much David, all in a good cause!
Side by side we Stick together

Thanks FB, no worries!
fence-banger

Post by fence-banger »

I've re-read the Thread, yes to the perpetual trophy & an annual individual medal, thumbs-up!

David, I've just sent some money through to you using PayPal, thanks for your help :)
Side by side we Stick together
rambopriscilla

Post by rambopriscilla »

BUMP

To see if there's any more interest in this...

I've been thinking the last few days that perhaps now that it is Gavin Brown's job to be dead-set against Collingwood and assist the scum should we rename this award next year? Tough call I know as he is a premiership hero and hall of famer but now he is against us.
- "Number 42? I see you've got Darren Millane in the Heaven footy side"

- "No that's God. He just tries to play like Millane"
Scotch

Post by Scotch »

rambopriscilla wrote:BUMP

To see if there's any more interest in this...

I've been thinking the last few days that perhaps now that it is Gavin Brown's job to be dead-set against Collingwood and assist the scum should we rename this award next year? Tough call I know as he is a premiership hero and hall of famer but now he is against us.
I don't really think it's fitting to change the name, unless you can think of someone better.

Maybe we can name it the Michael Malthouse medal at the end of next year? :P.

IMO keep it as Gavin Brown for now, if not forever.
"Life is too important to be taken seriously" ~ Oscar Wilde

I don't think anything will ever take away the fact that Gavin Brown was a champion player for us. I'd be happy to keep the name, but maybe we should have a vote on it next year.
woftam

Post by woftam »

David wrote:I don't think anything will ever take away the fact that Gavin Brown was a champion player for us. I'd be happy to keep the name, but maybe we should have a vote on it next year.
I think we can never forget where Browny's heart lies. Lets keep the name.
David can you pm me paypal details? I have an account also.