Welcome to Collingwood #13 Harry DeMattia

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Leggie

Post by Leggie »

Dave The Man wrote:^
Early Days DT. Some work out some dont. In Hine we trust
Bring Back Tranquilli
lazzadesilva
Been liked: 51 times

Post by lazzadesilva »

[quote="Dave The Man"]^[quote]

He will have heaps of time to develop under the astute supervision of our coaches Dave and it will be thrilling to watch him get better in the role the club sees fit for him. Exciting times ahead for the mighty reigning Premiers
I term the current Collingwood attack based strategy “Unceasing Waves” like on a stormy and windy day with rough seas. A Perfect Storm ☔️

Post by Raw Hammer »

Back to Back activated
Est. 2002
Sir Alan of Didak

Post by Sir Alan of Didak »

If we can somehow snag Arie Shoenmakers with our Pick 40, we will be considered one of the big winners of the draft
"Give Bucks a bit of a go mate, because when Bucks was the captain he carried that team for you, he played his guts out for you�

dalyc wrote:Carlton supporter :o

AS was Naicos , and Pendles was a Deeees fan its nothing. He looks the goods, very quick, real speedie type, he would be a real dasher out of defence. In Fly an Wright, we trust. :o :D

bally12

Post by bally12 »

I like his speed, strength, and chase down tackling.

That's about it though. Skills look poor. Bounces the ball like he hasn't played much footy. Kicking a bit mechanical and awkward.
Maybe that's the modern footballer though. Hard to find natural footballers combined with the athletic profile they are looking for at this age, especially around pick 25 anyway.
As a Tay Adams replacement? Yeh but not exactly aiming for the stars there.
Pep

Post by Pep »

Here is some info on our new recruit

https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player ... de-mattia/
Kingsofclutch

Post by Kingsofclutch »

bally12 wrote:I like his speed, strength, and chase down tackling.

That's about it though. Skills look poor. Bounces the ball like he hasn't played much footy. Kicking a bit mechanical and awkward.
Maybe that's the modern footballer though. Hard to find natural footballers combined with the athletic profile they are looking for at this age, especially around pick 25 anyway.
As a Tay Adams replacement? Yeh but not exactly aiming for the stars there.
"He can cover the ground" Billy Beane.
Flagpies
Kingsofclutch

Post by Kingsofclutch »

Flagpies
The Black and White Lion
Has liked: 180 times
Been liked: 65 times

Post by The Black and White Lion »

Can AFL listed players be a runner if their not selected on game day? That would be an interesting turn of events
Ed Allen kicked our last goal of the year at the 58minute mark
Been liked: 28 times

Post by BazBoy »

Just looked in on Collingwood website and veiwed the package of his

Explosive beast
I'm not arguing--just explaining why i am right

Post by BazBoy »

Apparently Fly rang him and congratulated him & telling him he will wear jumper 13
Has liked: 71 times

Fly clearly has wood for quick players who can tackle.

I'd prefer some height but I trust they know what they're doing, I assume they're drafting for now while we're right smack in the Premiership window, looking for guys who are capable of playing in their first season.

Welcome Harry.

Post by BazBoy »

If anyone has 16 spare minutes. A chat with Harry DeMattia on you tube

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfYGEzc ... oftheDraft

He talks of getting better and how he can help those around him have success.
He mentioned not only on field but others around the club.

Where have I heard that before?

And another mum (pictured on FB) to do “Mum” pregame warm up.
LaurieHolden
Has liked: 145 times
Been liked: 147 times

Post by LaurieHolden »

stui magpie wrote:^
^ yes indeed, sign me up. Tackles cause pressure > pressure causes turnovers > turnovers result in goals. DeMattia looks to have this in his DNA.

We'll have a mix of McCreery, Macrae, DeMattia and Harrison for the next decade, all graduates of 'The Bruzzy Maynard school for hunting and crushing opponents'.
Perhaps doesn't bode well for Johnny Noble, up against 6ft 85kg players. Hopefully they bring the same heart.
"The Club's not Jock, Ted and Gerry" (& Eddie)
2023 AFL Premiers