Post Match. Cats wallop Pies - all comments please

What'sinaname
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by What'sinaname »

I've nailed it.

September brings on the Colliwobbles.

If we get through September, we'll be right in October.

Case closed. Move on.
Fighting against the objectification of woman.
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

Johnno75 wrote: Might be a good week to read a book.
Best suggestion in a long time mate. :D

I'm reading The Mightiest Magpies, about our premiership teams.

I still hope we can add a new chapter this year. :lol:
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

Trezegol wrote:Po
LeighBrownBrigade wrote:Therevare a lot of delussional people responding tonight. They screwed us BIG TIME tonight. I'll repeat what I wrote earlier. No team on top of the ladder losses by 96, yes ninety-six points, to the second placed team in the last game of the season. I don't care how much they didn't care about putting their body on the line. It was embarrasing, to say the least. Great teams don't get flogged by almost 100 points. Jolly pathetic. Our forward line non-existent.
So what happens if we win the next three games? I tell you what, u better not show yourself on this forum if we win the premiership. If u do, make sure you've got the guts to pm me your contact details.
Trezegol you're better than that. Some of you on Nick's last night were sounding like Scum mafia supporters. Reality check everyone!
Magpie Jack

Post by Magpie Jack »

Keep the Faith people.
Bob Rose....the measuring stick of humanity
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

LeighBrownBrigade wrote:Are we allowed to criticise the team's performance tonight? Or is this a Soviet Union style forum? People threatening others because they dared question our performance tonight. Pathetic. Take the loss on the chin fellas. We need to learn from this. But so close to the finals it doesn't help with our confidence. I don't want to face the Cats again. They've figured us out. Hopefully the Hawks take care of them next week.
Sorry to disillusion you mate (and thanks for your support in some heavy weather), but we have to beat Geelong for the flag, like it or not. If they lose to the Hawks next week, we'll have to go through them in the Prelim. If they beat the Hawks' they'll be waiting for us in the grand final.

There's nowhere left for us to hide. It's do or die. Beat the Cats or it's the biggest waste of a season at Collingwood since 1970 and 1973.
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

Redlight wrote:I can't help but get the impression that quite a few posters on these boards enjoy expressing their outrage at our failures much more than they enjoy lauding the successes.
Fair dinkum! I've been posting week in, week out, win, lose or draw. Mostly when we win.

Why is it so surprising that we question a pathetic laughing stock performance like that? :roll:

Of course we all want to win the flag this year. Read my sig! I just believe there's no point doing it unless we can find a better way to do it. Perhaps we have. We have chosen the hardest side of the mountain to climb this year. We must beat a rampant Geelong in either the prelim or the grand final.

I hope we can do it, but I have my doubts. Why is that heretical?

Some of you sound like the Taliban and we have attacked your religion by saying last night was an EMBARRASSMENT to the black and white. We trashed our brand last night, and only a premiership this year can win back any honour from the season.

Why is that so hard for some people to understand? :shock:

Post by Northern Pie »

jack_spain wrote:
Redlight wrote:I can't help but get the impression that quite a few posters on these boards enjoy expressing their outrage at our failures much more than they enjoy lauding the successes.
Fair dinkum! I've been posting week in, week out, win, lose or draw. Mostly when we win.

Why is it so surprising that we question a pathetic laughing stock performance like that? :roll:

Of course we all want to win the flag this year. Read my sig! I just believe there's no point doing it unless we can find a better way to do it. Perhaps we have. We have chosen the hardest side of the mountain to climb this year. We must beat a rampant Geelong in either the prelim or the grand final.

I hope we can do it, but I have my doubts. Why is that heretical?

Some of you sound like the Taliban and we have attacked your religion by saying last night was an EMBARRASSMENT to the black and white. We trashed our brand last night, and only a premiership this year can win back any honour from the season.

Why is that so hard for some people to understand? :shock:
Quite simple really Jack.......You are wrong!

;)

jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

Northern Pie wrote:

;)

That's an article of faith. Do you have a crystal ball?

How many times do I have to say I hope I'm wrong?

I tell you guys what though. Nothing is going to destroy the great game of footy more, than so many meaningless games in a season.
No wonder crowds are down. If I was Dimmy I'd be very very worried about the implications of sides not playing games on their merits.

Just be prepared for an almighty roasting wherever we go this week from Collingwood haters. We thought we'd win respect this year. We can salvage some honour with a flag, but this week we've earned nothing but derision.
Pies4shaw
Has liked: 136 times
Been liked: 182 times

jack_spain wrote:
Northern Pie wrote:

;)

That's an article of faith. Do you have a crystal ball?

How many times do I have to say I hope I'm wrong?

I tell you guys what though. Nothing is going to destroy the great game of footy more, than so many meaningless games in a season.
No wonder crowds are down. If I was Dimmy I'd be very very worried about the implications of sides not playing games on their merits.

Just be prepared for an almighty roasting wherever we go this week from Collingwood haters. We thought we'd win respect this year. We can salvage some honour with a flag, but this week we've earned nothing but derision.
I don't understand this. All season you've been posting to the general effect that it doesn't matter how well they win each game, it's all pointless unless they win the flag - but now, after they lose a dead rubber, they have to win the flag to salvage "some honour"?
neil
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by neil »

The real question is does anyone think Geelong are a three match better side than us?

Having won two do you think the handbaggers are good enough to win three?

On form first vs second one win each and a close one makes more sense.
Carlscum 120 years being cheating scum
Pies4shaw
Has liked: 136 times
Been liked: 182 times

neil wrote:The real question is does anyone think Geelong are a three match better side than us?

Having won two do you think the handbaggers are good enough to win three?

On form first vs second one win each and a close one makes more sense.
I guess that depends upon whether we are able to move the ball so consistently from inside our forward 50 to out of bounds in their forward pocket without them touching the ball next time (yes, Krak - I'm looking at you - but only in jest). :lol:
Hiss

what

Post by Hiss »

nitric wrote:Hey, HISSY: I wuz there in SPIRIT! Does THAT count?
Now hiss off and go post on some other site coz we are all FOR Collingwood here. We have now had a good look at the very best the Handbaggers can deliver. (yawn) Wake me up in October, mate. Unless you have managed to poison yourself in the meantime!
Anyone from Canberra has no right to tell any other Australian what to do! A city full of useless public servants who serve a useless pack of thieving politicians should be all taxed for stealing oxygen. Don't tell me where to post you lazy swine! Canberra is a national disgrace! Can't even muster a AFL team.
I love this club and I hold anyone in contempt who does not think it is worth fighting for.
Madmac

Post by Madmac »

Who won the Norm Smith last night???
DT
Been liked: 6 times

Post by DT »

A lot of heat but not much light on what happened last night. It would be great if there was a bit more analysis and debate - otherwise this becomes a bit of a bore.

It was certainly unexpected. Sitting right by the action I could clearly see that Swanny just didn't try in a marking contest and follow-up play in the third quarter. It was all about self preservation. Understandable and no-one can stay up every week, so in that case, it's better to have a shocker now than a surprise next week.

Concerns are Ben Johnson, Tarrant and Cloke - are any of them carrying serious injuries? Let's wait and see what the upshot is.

Having Shaw and Davis back next week will give us a lot of drive from the backline. Thomas was missed as he is a beautiful link player, but I suspect he injured his hand/arm last week and would not have played in any event.

My tip is that we will beat West Coast by about 40 points.

Then, we will have Daisy et al back for the Preliminary Final.

The side has to be judged on its year and it has been a stellar year so I think that suggests that we will have a very good shot at making it to the Grand Final and, with a bit of luck, winning it.
Daicos, impossible angle ... Goal!
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

swooper wrote:
ktszyu1 wrote:Relaxxxxx people.

Yes, it's a bad sign to lose by that much. But we didn't take this game seriously mentally, tactically, or physically. Nobody chased, because they probably wanted to save their legs. Stupid positioning occurred, because we didn't want to show our cards. We let them waltz by us, because intensity is the key to the press, and intensity is draining.

Did we intend to get smashed? No. Do the coaching panel look at all worried? No. Will a 500% increase in intensity, the addition of Thomas, Shaw, Davis and Maxwell, and finals-like "serious" coaching bridge the gap from tonight? You betcha.

The only concern I have from tonight is the incessant long-bombs direct to Cats in our forward line. That's part and parcel of self-preservation and not wanting to work hard on the eve of what will be a taxing finals series.
dead right,

im only pissed thet didnt tell us it was a practice match - at least the hawks are honest, would have stayed home where its warm!!
walk of shame 4th 1/4 15 min mark!!
Malhouse moves in mysterious ways. He may not have told you directly, but if you look in the practise game thread from Thursday, you'll see that someone posted that it was at 7:40 at the MCG. The signs are always there, you just need to read them :D (particularly, never miss one of my posts if you want infallible insight into the game :wink:).
You're posts are the best An_Inkling. I'm your biggest fan :oops:

:wink:
LOL!!
ditto,

next year round 24 ill look for it!!

im not worried, i know im gunnas cop it today (lot of those fricken Geeeelong fans, gees i hate the way they cheer it), but i really could not care less, im under no illusions about last night, the players didnt even look like they were trying (except those vying for a spot).i dont think they wanted that margin, but it sure takes the heat off.

the press will work it, and imagine the basckpedalling and the pain to supporters of other clubs who are all so smug and excited today:

when we indeed do go

BACK2BACK

and will do it

SIDE BY SIDE!

its a nice sunny day today, enjoy it
Last edited by think positive on Sat Sep 03, 2011 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.