Post-match: Pies down to Carlton

Culprit
Has liked: 57 times
Been liked: 68 times

Post by Culprit »

Has liked: 271 times
Been liked: 354 times

Today feels like a line in the sand moment! The longer we delay this, the more painful it will become. It has to end now before it's a complete write off.

I love Bucks like any Collingwood supporter, but for the good of the club this has to end. Bucks can't be enjoying this, Eddie will be feeling the strain and entire supporter base is deflated.

We're just living in denial if we think something will miraculously change for the better under this current coaching structure.
GoWoodsmen

Post by GoWoodsmen »

PyreneesPie wrote:Let's put some perspective on this.

A very, very inexperienced team, missing a lot of our top players, either injured or out of form - Swanny, Varcoe, Elliott, Ramsay, Langdon, Adams, Cloke. Two six-day breaks and a trip to Perth thrown in.

We're officially now in a development year. Absolutely nothing to be gained by switching coaches now and creating even more disunity and lack of cohesion.
Nice to hear one sane person on the board! I'm a total fence sitter when it comes to Bucks and whether he should stay or go but I look out there today and if the players aren't in some ways responsible for what's going on I'll go he. Some say we were missing 10 of our best 22 today. We were the third youngest team this week (vs third oldest which gives you an idea of just how successful the Blues will be before they assume their rightful spot on the bottom of the ladder). 2nd least experienced team this weekend.

It's not what we hoped for. A little like what happened after 2011.. it feels like circumstances are conspiring against us. Frost for mine has gone backwards. Toovey is basically done (damn that knee reco). Sidey tried is guts out but couldn't be everywhere. I think Pendles tried to lift the team but it didn't seem to have any impact. So is the problem the coach, the captain or both?

Bitterly disappointing day. Can't see where we win another game but I'm sure it will happen some day.
Side By Side Forever
Culprit
Has liked: 57 times
Been liked: 68 times

Post by Culprit »

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Neil Appleby

Post by Neil Appleby »

ANNODAM wrote:Buckley the player = zero Premierships
Buckley the coach = zero Premierships

At least his form is consistent!

FLOG!
Please don't be so hard on yourself.
After the epic draw comes the decisive knockout!
Collingwood rules the world again and Mick Malthouse fulfils his destiny with the twenty ten premiership and can you hear the people sing!
Has liked: 271 times
Been liked: 354 times

winpies wrote:We need to be patient with this team as I have stated before. I get sick and tired of hearing all of the doomsday posts about this club, players and coach.

Am I happy with today's result?? No of course not. But I am prepared to take the downs to get the ups. That is footy.

Those who who are so quick to post all the negatives are not true supporters. Definitely not what I would call loyal supporters.

I bet you were the ones posting all the glowing support of how we were going in our NAB games too!!

When we hit our straps (in a couple of years time as I have posted before) I hope you all keep your moths shut because you won't deserve to bask in the glory.

Keep track of all these negative people.

Go Pies!!!!
Patient? What on earth have most supporters been doing for the last few years? We've all been patient and even defended Bucks in times of adversity but there comes a point when you have to say enough is enough. This is the third year since the rebuild began and we're getting progressively worse with each passing year and week. Any other coach would have been sacked or at the very least everyone would be baying for blood but because Bucks is a favourite son this has distorted people's views on him and essentially allowed him to be immune from criticism from the do-gooders who claim to be 'true supporters' and everyone who criticises him or the club are 'negative "perceptive fellow"'.

We've given Bucks free reign to change the list and rebuild it. We gave him free reign to try and change what was supposedly a poor culture that existed from the Malthouse days and he has failed on both fronts. The list should have been largely rebuilt now but instead injuries, woeful development and some poor recruiting has cost us. In regards to culture, there's been much speculation that the playing group is divided due to the illicit drugs issue and the implementation of leading teams within our club has been a disaster in stark contrast to what has been seen at other clubs over the years such as Geelong, Hawthorn and Sydney for example.

If supporters who are criticising Bucks or the club are not true supporters why don't you come to Melbourne and confront every single of those supporters who sat through today right until the bitter end and tell them how they're not true supporters. Being ultra positive and having blind faith can do far more damage than one can ever envisage so be careful what you wish for.

I don't think our NAB Cup form was all that great to be honest. There were definitely positives, but the leaking of goals and our heavy reliance on an inconsistent set of forwards was always a concern for mine heading into the home and away season and I never believed we would be top 4. I thought at best, we could sneak a finals spot this year so my expectations were not high but compared to what I expected and where we are now, we've completely collapsed.

Let's hope we can hit our straps in the near future, but I'm not sure the current people at the club including the coach will be the ones to oversee it. Only an eternal optimist can believe everything will be fine in the end and no changes need to be made.
What'sinaname
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

winpies wrote:We need to be patient with this team as I have stated before. I get sick and tired of hearing all of the doomsday posts about this club, players and coach.

Am I happy with today's result?? No of course not. But I am prepared to take the downs to get the ups. That is footy.

Those who who are so quick to post all the negatives are not true supporters. Definitely not what I would call loyal supporters.

I bet you were the ones posting all the glowing support of how we were going in our NAB games too!!

When we hit our straps (in a couple of years time as I have posted before) I hope you all keep your moths shut because you won't deserve to bask in the glory.

Go Pies!!!!
Patient? What on earth have most supporters been doing for the last few years? We've all been patient and even defended Bucks in times of adversity but there comes a point when you have to say enough is enough. This is the third year since the rebuild began and we're getting progressively worse with each passing year and week. Any other coach would have been sacked or at the very least everyone would be baying for blood but because Bucks is a favourite son this has distorted people's views on him and essentially allowed him to be immune from criticism from the do-gooders who claim to be 'true supporters' and everyone who criticises him or the club are 'negative "perceptive fellow"'.

We've given Bucks free reign to change the list and rebuild it. We gave him free reign to try and change what was supposedly a poor culture that existed from the Malthouse days and he has failed on both fronts. The list should have been largely rebuilt now but instead injuries, woeful development and some poor recruiting has cost us. In regards to culture, there's been much speculation that the playing group is divided due to the illicit drugs issue and the implementation of leading teams within our club has been a disaster in stark contrast to what has been seen at other clubs over the years such as Geelong, Hawthorn and Sydney for example.

If supporters who are criticising Bucks or the club are not true supporters why don't you come to Melbourne and confront every single of those supporters who sat through today right until the bitter end and tell them how they're not true supporters. Being ultra positive and having blind faith can do far more damage than one can ever envisage so be careful what you wish for.

I don't think our NAB Cup form was all that great to be honest. There were definitely positives, but the leaking of goals and our heavy reliance on an inconsistent set of forwards was always a concern for mine heading into the home and away season and I never believed we would be top 4. I thought at best, we could sneak a finals spot this year so my expectations were not high but compared to what I expected and where we are now, we've completely collapsed.

Let's hope we can hit our straps in the near future, but I'm not sure the current people at the club including the coach will be the ones to oversee it. Only an eternal optimist can believe everything will be fine in the end and no changes need to be made.
For the second time I've heard this today, I agree with you! Well said!

Post by thompsoc »

blackandwhite4life wrote:
PyreneesPie wrote:
winpies wrote: This!!!

We need to be patient with this team as I have stated before. I get sick and tired of hearing all of the doomsday posts about this club, players and coach.

Go Pies!!!!
And this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do 'true' supporters accept mediocrity? Or, do they challenge the club to improve?

Also, please list 5 things about Buckley's coaching record over the last 5 years that makes you believe that in a few years time he will lead us to glory?

Hell, make it 3 things instead, will make it easier for you.
Just list one.
What players have really gone forward?
Ladder?
Recruiting?
TheVFL?
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.
Tezza23

Post by Tezza23 »

Please save the "you're not true Collingwood supporters" crap if you question anything about the club.

Its simply too ridiculous to discuss.

I watched Maynard today for most of the first half. If he is ever going to make it as an AFL player it certainly won't be as a backman. Apart from his obvious fumbling and the numerous times he handballed to a team mate who was under the pump, he just kept losing his man when the ball came into Carltons forward fifty. It will not show on the TV replay. If he could read the play and cleanly gather the ball and pass efficiently to a team mate I would forgive him, but sadly he need to develop this side of his game as well.

For whats its worth - how utterly depressing was it seeing Carlton (one of the worst sides for anumber of years) going coast to coast against us today.

Darcy Moore was simply superb after half time. Why the hell didn't Peter Moore have more sons ?
schuey07

Post by schuey07 »

Go Pies!!!!

Great post.

Where do you live?
Magpietothemax
Has liked: 26 times
Been liked: 31 times

Post by Magpietothemax »

Great summary of how I feel Jezza. Like you, I am tired of those who condemn any criticism of Buckley as "disloyal". It is just a stratagem for closing down a discussion and intimidating those of an opposing view. All true supporters want the truth. That is why we should welcome all shades of opinion, even if they don't happen to be what we want to hear. Those who have criticized Buckley and justified their responses are doing what is the hallmark of every loyal and passionate supporter:taking an active interest in the Pies' progress, and monitoring it, analysing the gameplan and strengths/weaknesses, comparing with the rest of the competition, and expecting improvement. Blind faith, in the face of a stark reality, is not to me the sign of loyalty.

Post by yin-YANG »

HAL wrote:Where do you live?
In a dark place right now!
Love us or Hate us... we are Collingwood - you can't ignore the Mighty Magpies!!!

Post by Flashman »

Go Pies!!!!

I've said it before and I'll say it again..Jezza is the best poster on this site bar none.

Sensible, articulate and measured. If Jezza thinks things are rotten they're rotten. He has no agenda or axe to grind. He's Collingwood through and through and where we are is hurting him as it should be hurting everyone.

There is no silver lining and the thought that we are working towards something and just need to be patient has been exposed as being total BS and wishful thinking bordering on delusion. On field we are a rabble and off field our supporter base is eating its own. We are truly stuffed and change has to come.