How are you dealing with the Covid 19 lockdown?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

Jezza wrote:^ After Sunday, lockdown will be half complete.

Only three weeks left, and with the numbers heading in the right direction that should retain some optimism and hope among the public.
please dont make any more predictions Jezza!!!b :P :P

-ps i miss our footy day chats :(

so i have cleaned out every cupboard in the house, except the kids, they did theirs! later this week if the weather stays good ill start ripping all the blinds down and giving them a thorough clean. I finished with my camera cupboard, cleaned all the lenses, and gees, i didnt realise i have 7 camera bags! In January i bought a canon 5D MK2 it was a wedding photographers back up camera so very low shutter count, well for a pro camera! Hubby bought a 280ZX from Sydney last week so i fessed up to it! not that he cares! I tried to have a play with it when i got it, but its very different, so my next thingtodo is to learn how to use it! to explain a bit, my 7D is a cropped sensor, i chose it for the massive 10 shot a second burst mode capability, and its a brilliant sports/wildlife camera, cropped is actually an advantage as it boosts zoom lens by, for Canon cameras 1.6x. so my 600mm is actually a 760mm. The 5D is the wedding photographer camera of choice, and its a full frame, and apparently has a greater dynamic range for portraits, i have no idea what that means but its all part of the learning!

so what are you up to guys?
What'sinaname
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 32 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Only three weeks left, and with the numbers heading in the right direction that should retain some optimism and hope among the public.

so i have cleaned out every cupboard in the house, except the kids, they did theirs! later this week if the weather stays good ill start ripping all the blinds down and giving them a thorough clean. I finished with my camera cupboard, cleaned all the lenses, and gees, i didnt realise i have 7 camera bags! In January i bought a canon 5D MK2 it was a wedding photographers back up camera so very low shutter count, well for a pro camera! Hubby bought a 280ZX from Sydney last week so i fessed up to it! not that he cares! I tried to have a play with it when i got it, but its very different, so my next thingtodo is to learn how to use it! to explain a bit, my 7D is a cropped sensor, i chose it for the massive 10 shot a second burst mode capability, and its a brilliant sports/wildlife camera, cropped is actually an advantage as it boosts zoom lens by, for Canon cameras 1.6x. so my 600mm is actually a 760mm. The 5D is the wedding photographer camera of choice, and its a full frame, and apparently has a greater dynamic range for portraits, i have no idea what that means but its all part of the learning!

Full frame means any APS-C lenses wont work properly on the 5D. You'll get vignetting, or the 5D will crop the image giving you the same image as the 7D.

The 5D is a serious camera. It doesn't have a pop up flash coz they reckon if you have a 5D, you won't be using a pop up flash.
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

Off to work shortly for an overtime shift. Had to fork out for a sparky for us and next door.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman

Full frame means any APS-C lenses wont work properly on the 5D. You'll get vignetting, or the 5D will crop the image giving you the same image as the 7D.

The 5D is a serious camera. It doesn't have a pop up flash coz they reckon if you have a 5D, you won't be using a pop up flash.
cheers, yep correct, i have 2 sigma Art portrait lenses that will both work correctly on it, and the 70-200mm canon L and 100-400mm L will also work, so thats cool. The rest wont matter, although i think a couple are the correct format for it. I didnt know about the flash though until i got it!! one of the Art lenses is a 1.8 and the 70-200mm L is 2.8, so all good! Plus i have a pretty good OCF too! I bought the tutorial on the 5D on creative live, so im going to watch that, their tutorial on the 7D was brilliant, very in depth and easy to understand, John Greengo is an exceptional teacher.

You obviously know your stuff, my dream camera is a 1DX! thoughts?? i know i dont need it, but we all have to dream!! i had a play with the latest one at the Canon experience store in Port Melbourne, (they were fixing a sticky button, grain of sand was behind it, and cleaning the sensor) OMG i thought it would be really heavy but it feels so good in hand!

whats your choice?

watt price tully wrote:Off to work shortly for an overtime shift. Had to fork out for a sparky for us and next door.
why for next door???

we have a friend who is a sparky, luckily, its hard to trust tradies, he wont rip us off!!
Has liked: 262 times
Been liked: 341 times

think positive wrote:please dont make any more predictions Jezza!!!b :P :P

Sorry for jinxing it ;)

Same here. Feels like a lifetime away until we can start going to the footy again.
Has liked: 130 times
Been liked: 164 times

For me, I'm shitty that shops are shut but when I'm not doing paid work I'm working round the house. Now that I'm 6 weeks post surgery I'm allowed to lift stuff.

I've got myself a To Do list which should take me through to Christmas easy.

think positive wrote:please dont make any more predictions Jezza!!!b :P :P

Sorry for jinxing it ;)

Same here. Feels like a lifetime away until we can start going to the footy again.
Footy is definitely the thing I miss the most!
Morrigu

Post by Morrigu »

think positive wrote: its hard to trust tradies, he wont rip us off!!
It’s also hard for tradies who do a good for people who then don’t and won’t pay!
“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”

Morrigu wrote:
think positive wrote: its hard to trust tradies, he wont rip us off!!
It’s also hard for tradies who do a good for people who then don’t and won’t pay!
Yes, we have had a couple of those too!
Morrigu

Post by Morrigu »

Livin' la vida loca!
“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”

That’s good, enjoy
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

watt price tully wrote:Off to work shortly for an overtime shift. Had to fork out for a sparky for us and next door.
why for next door???

we have a friend who is a sparky, luckily, its hard to trust tradies, he wont rip us off!!
Rental property. Smoke alarm, outside lights, and oven assessment. We might need to replace the latter
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman

why for next door???

Rental property. Smoke alarm, outside lights, and oven assessment. We might need to replace the latter
Has liked: 130 times
Been liked: 164 times

Get a La Germania 90cm 5 burner. Ducks Nuts.