- Has liked: 342 times
- Been liked: 105 times
- luvdids
- think positive
- Has liked: 342 times
- Been liked: 105 times
- Mugwump
Thanks WPT, that all sounds like good advice. Unfortunately it's a work trip, so far too much will be spent in identikit meeting rooms but we'll escape for a few evenings and I'll try to hunt some of that down. I have heard that the fish head soup is fantastic, though I've never tried it, and I can confirm Lazza's advice that the chili crab at Clark Quay, eaten outside in the drowsy heat of the evening and washed down with a few tiger beers is one of life's pleasures.watt price tully wrote:Singpore is a bit too clean for me but I liked each of the few times I'ver been there in the last few years. For me, the tourist highlights included the two major botanical gardens & the orchid garden - breath-taking & stunning.Mugwump wrote:Singapore is one of the nearest places to utopia on earth. And like any conceivable utopia, it's clean, modern, safe and a little bland. Wonderful to visit, but if you told me I had to live here forever I'd be wistfully sad. You could not be devastated, just having the feeling there is more to life. Still, for a week or two, it's just fab. Highly recommended.
The Muslim area - for the sights, smells (at times) & food.
& aspects of China Town - although much too touristed these days.
I avoided the zoo (sorry Lazza) after reading a hilarious & sad entry on Trip Advisor last year by a guy from the UK about how tourists were simply ignoring the guides request not to take photo's, not to disturb the animals which they kept on doing during thus guy's entire trip with his wife to the said zoo.
Maxwell's food / hawker market has some great food. In Chinatown we found some great small places to eat. Prawn in Tofu hot pot & Pork hotpots were especially yummy. Of course it's hard to go past a good ol' chicken rice - the Chinese staple in Malaysia & Singapore.
I hadn't been bold enough to try Fish Head Soup, also a national / regional tour de force / tour de fare
Have a good time, Mugwump
Two more flags before I die!
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 134 times
- Been liked: 169 times
- Bucks5
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 21 times
How funny is it that one of Sydney's draftees had 'liked' several facebook pages labeling Adam Goodes as a wanker and as the flog of the year.
Almost as funny as the Carlton recruit who sledged Malthouse's coaching on twitter
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/a ... ebe26d3f86
Almost as funny as the Carlton recruit who sledged Malthouse's coaching on twitter
How would Siri know when to answer "Hey Siri" unless it is listening in to everything you say?
- Morrigu
Hmmm 8.30am - just trying to explain to the girls that we have to get up .....think positive wrote:Gees 8.30am and the place is empty! Where is everybody? Where are the pre brekky boys?
and I have to go to work
“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”
- stui magpie
- David
- Has liked: 20 times
- Been liked: 84 times
It's ok, I'm sure their new clubs will beat any remaining individuality out of them.The Seedsmeister wrote:How funny is it that one of Sydney's draftees had 'liked' several facebook pages labeling Adam Goodes as a wanker and as the flog of the year.
"Every time we witness an injustice and do not act, we train our character to be passive in its presence." – Julian Assange
- Morrigu
Buggar that - I don't do mornings never have never will - and have just about made that well enough known that I now only have one 8 am meeting every three months
I found this tres amusing!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”
- stui magpie