Page 12 of 18

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 9:56 am
by The Weed
Brodie will 'waltz' straight back in and deservedly so. Toovey, Davis or Dick will be dropped. Brodie has possibly been our most consistent player over the last 3 years and gives us a onfield prescence that only Burnsy has. He can tag, be a ball winner or go forward and kick goals, back it in he is a certanty! Scotland/Murphy are already losing sleep over his inclusion. Just a pity faggoreale still doesnt play for Calscum.

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 10:04 am
by Dave The Man
Davis Could be Dropped

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 10:31 am
by Streak
CRAZY TALK!

The Weed, I agree with you 100%. What do you do with Brodie? Who do you drop? You bring Brodie straight back in, and you drop whoever you have to.

Exclude one of our toughest, most consistent players when he's fit and free to play? You've got to be joking. And no offense to Dick, Toovey, et al - Brodie has earned himself a little respect, and loyalty.

I'm sure he'll breathe fire after being unleashed for the first time in 6 months, and I gotta feel that the senior players gain a little more confidence for every one of our regulars that returns.

Bring Brodie back!

Besides, Brodie was rubbed out by the tribunal for smashing an opponent in a final. Show some respect, and unleash the boy!

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 10:53 am
by jimbeam
he is a walk up starter.

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 11:57 am
by T-BONE MCGRAW
I believe for our best team we need Medders, Brodie and Bucks to come in for the 3 young pups. Cox would be the unluckiest to miss out but may keep his spot for a while as Bucks does not like coming back in hurry. There will also always inevitably be injuries so these 3 players have proved they are more than able back up. This also maens that Licca, Lonie and Egan will need to fight very hard to get their spots back if at all

Re: Brodie Holland

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 12:30 pm
by die4pies
joffa corfe wrote:his presence is needed!

He certainly has that Joffa. When back and fireing Dutch and Dids may just be the difference between sneaking home by 1 or 2 and Gold Jacket time 15 mins into the 3rd.

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 12:43 pm
by melliot
Straight into the side (assuming he is fully fit). Can play a tagging role straight away. I like Brodie as a tagger, cos his disposal is pretty good and can hurt sides with 10-15 possies as a tagger. Good shot for goal too. Probably averages close to 1 per game. gives us more grunt under packs too. Lessens the pressure on OB and Burns for the hard ball.

Toovey or Dick would be my possible exclusions ATM. But would wait till next week cos there might be a few injuries to replace and Dick or Tooves might have a great game.

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 1:34 pm
by Streak
I don't think it really matters how well the kids are playing, or how well they play next week. Brodie or Didak will usually be good for a game every bit as good as what Toovey or Dick have been putting in, we just tend to give the kids bigger raps because they're starting in the caper (which, I might add, is as it should be - I'm just making the point that we don't lose a hell of a lot by replacing Dick with Holland).

I reckon we need to keep them hungry, not fatten them up on premium football. Drop one and see what he does - see how he responds. Does he have the character to challenge for his spot the week after, or does he sook his way through a Williamstown game and drag his ass at training? If the Club wants to build these young Magpies into a Premiership team, now is the time to instill character - to teach them how to cope with whatever football throws at them. This is the kind of shit an old school junkyard dog like Malthouse excels at.

Another thing I wonder is, although it's nice to have all these kids in the side, to feel their enthusiasm and excitement, how will they cope with a loss? I'm not talking about these 2-kick losses we've had so far this year, I mean a real soul-destroying, season-derailing, puppy-kicking loss. Do we need to think about what such a defeat would do to the psyches of three or four 17-18 year olds? Is there, then, a risk in playing all of them at once?

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 1:36 pm
by 3rd degree
If he's match fit bring Brodie straight back in, He wins the footy and is a great kick for goal and loves a bit of aggro, but must be careful with his bad record!

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 1:50 pm
by Tannin
OK, I hear what people are saying about Holland's value to the team. But can he still deliver? How long can he go on delivering for? If Holland is a walk-up start, then (by the same logic) we also have to play O'Bree, Burns, Buckley, Wakelin, Licuria .... all the wonderful old stagers who almost won us a premership in 02 and 03 and who (we all agree) won't win us one in 07 or 09.

Yes, keep playing the fittest and best of our old core players, but we simply can't afford to play them all at the same time.

Two reasons:

(a) They are too slow.
(b) There is no future in it.

The kids are our future. Sure, play Holland if you have a specific role for him in mind. But don't play him just because he's Brodie Holland. The club is bigger than the man.

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 3:21 pm
by RudeBoy
Straight back in I reckon.

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 3:32 pm
by Heater_39
Two reasons:

(a) They are too slow.
Brodie Holland isn't slow and he is only 27 with still 5+ years left in him I'd suggest.

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 3:49 pm
by favourites 2008
BTW did he have an injury? because I've been to a couple of sessions and haven't seen him, maybe he was just in the gym or something.

Has anyone been to training lately, as you would think he would be training with the main team now.

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 3:53 pm
by rand corp
Personally I feel he should have at least a run at Willy.

I think a lot depends on how we go this week and how certain players go this week.

If we have say a big win and Dick, Toovey, Cox, Leon all perform well, it makes it a bit harder to drop one of them.

On the other hand-

Didak's form first game back would be encouraging for the selectors to bring him straight back.

Posted: Thu May 03, 2007 4:02 pm
by Piethagoras' Theorem
Tannin wrote:OK, I hear what people are saying about Holland's value to the team. But can he still deliver? How long can he go on delivering for? If Holland is a walk-up start, then (by the same logic) we also have to play O'Bree, Burns, Buckley, Wakelin, Licuria .... all the wonderful old stagers who almost won us a premership in 02 and 03 and who (we all agree) won't win us one in 07 or 09.

Yes, keep playing the fittest and best of our old core players, but we simply can't afford to play them all at the same time.

Two reasons:

(a) They are too slow.

The kids are our future. Sure, play Holland if you have a specific role for him in mind. But don't play him just because he's Brodie Holland. The club is bigger than the man.
Couldn't agree more Tannin, playing all those guys in the same team won't get us anywhere assuming that 'anywhere' is moving forward. Time to bite the bullet, you only have to look as far as last years final to see that it aint gonna work anymore.