So. What's for Dinner?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 71 times

Hopefully you won't get a sticky date in Vancouver. :wink:

For dinner I'm doing this mince meat stew i've developed, loaded with veges.

Apart from the mince, I load it up with Zucchini, eggplant and Cauliflower and let it cook slow for a few hours so the veges break down and become part of the sauce, then add other veges. Bit of silverbeet or spinach, mushies, tinned mixed beans etc. Whatever you want. Works out 1/3 meat, 2/3 veg by volume.

Have it for dinner with toast, have leftovers for breakfast with a couple of eggs and some Avo, have it for lunch with a side salad. Comes up a treat.
Skids
Has liked: 24 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by Skids »

Tonight, before I head off in the morning for my big 3 day swing, I'm cooking some fish (Goldband Snapper) with some steamed veg; broccoli, pumpkin, carrot & spinach.

I just lightly flour the fish and fry it in a bit of butter.
Don't count the days, make the days count.
Skids

Post by Skids »

stui magpie wrote:^

Hopefully you won't get a sticky date in Vancouver. :wink:

For dinner I'm doing this mince meat stew i've developed, loaded with veges.

Apart from the mince, I load it up with Zucchini, eggplant and Cauliflower and let it cook slow for a few hours so the veges break down and become part of the sauce, then add other veges. Bit of silverbeet or spinach, mushies, tinned mixed beans etc. Whatever you want. Works out 1/3 meat, 2/3 veg by volume.

Have it for dinner with toast, have leftovers for breakfast with a couple of eggs and some Avo, have it for lunch with a side salad. Comes up a treat.
My mouth started watering reading that :)

Cheers mate, Povo tucker at it's best. :lol: 8) :wink:

Retro round, had the Grandson for the weekend so made some Apricot Chicken using drumsticks for Sunday dinner, with some mash and steamed veges.

Leftovers tonight of the chicken, with Pearl Couscous mixed with some peas, corn and capsicum from the freezer. Yum.
Pi

Post by Pi »

Pi = Infinite = Collingwood = Always

I love Eggs but hard pass on that, thanks.
Skids

Post by Skids »

We had crumbed whiting and a nice salad; lettuce, tomato, onion, celery, carrot, cheese, eggs & avo.
Quick and easy feed that was scrumptious.
Skids

Post by Skids »

Pi wrote:I just went off eggs again...

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-chin ... EE20120329
Bat wings and eggs for brekky... that's some sick shit right there.
eddiesmith
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 16 times

Post by eddiesmith »

Random question for all, on hamburgers do you prefer having the burger on top or the bottom?
Dark Beanie
Been liked: 16 times

Post by Dark Beanie »

Burger on the bottom, so the bottom half of the bun doesn't get soggy from the other stuff like tomato & sauce.
If you are foolish enough to be contented, don't show it, but just grumble with the rest. - Jerome K Jerome
Has liked: 212 times
Been liked: 84 times

correct

Ditto. Burger on bottom, salad on top.

The Broadbeans I planted up in Toc over winter have been covered in Beans, so I bought a shopping bag full home with me yesterday.

Mum wanted me to cook them in tomato sauce, like baked beans, so she's shelled a bunch of the big ones, got about a litre of the beans.

Gonna saute those in butter with onion and bacon, tip a jar of Passata in with some herbs and Worcestershire sauce and chuck in 6 thin beef sausages which I'll remove and cut into small pieces once they're cooked.

Serve with some crusty bread and butter.
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

^ Good thinking.

We had supposedly leek and popato soup with toast. But instead of making it up as I go along (my usual habit) I followed a recipe, from Jamie Oliver as it happens. Lots of onion and carrot and celery, little bit of garlic, plus leek and spuds of course.

Pretty nice soup, but Mrs Tannin says it's not remotely "leek and potato soup" and I have to admid that she is right.
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!