Post match. Pies trounced by Saints. All comments please

ANNODAM
Has liked: 21 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by ANNODAM »

^ He should turn that axe on himself mate!

All good Dyso, good to see you back!
WE WERE ROBBED, RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME, RIGHT IN FRONT OF MEEE!

Cam
Has liked: 19 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by Cam »

Spot on Rude.
Get back on top.
Culprit
Has liked: 57 times
Been liked: 68 times

Post by Culprit »

:shock: :lol:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Culprit
Has liked: 57 times
Been liked: 68 times

Post by Culprit »

You know all is great when the Club's Website is all about the VFL team. :shock:
Warbler

Post by Warbler »

We recruited well last year - lost no significant players in the off season .

Swannie out for the year is always going to hurt , but how in hell have we gone from extremely competitive against the top sides last year to getting thumped by the Aints .

Has the coach lost the players ?

What has changed ?

Post by MatthewBoydFanClub »

Warbler wrote:We recruited well last year - lost no significant players in the off season .

Swannie out for the year is always going to hurt , but how in hell have we gone from extremely competitive against the top sides last year to getting thumped by the Aints .

Has the coach lost the players ?

What has changed ?

You can ask the same question of Freemantle.
What has changed is a drop off of intensity of about 1-2% combined with the good performance of St Kilda and the loss of confidence of players due to their poor start against Sydney.
No need to panic because we have a talented list who can turn it around. The players we dropped off our list from last year, in Seedsman and Kennedy, are playing good footy for their respective clubs. The players we kept are at least as good as the players who left the club and we have added three solid players from other clubs. The loss of Swan will hurt us, but at some point, we are going to have to learn to play without him. We can more than cover his loss with the recruitment of Treloar and the natural improvement of players like De Goey.
We're one game away starting with Melbourne on Sunday, from turning our season around.
Peponi

Post by Peponi »

RudeBoy wrote:Something's wrong and I don't know what it is. In the 2nd half of last season we were extremely competitive against several top sides, losing games by less than a goal or so. Then we played very well in the NAB games. We entered this season on the back of good form and a game-plan which was working well. However, we have been rather insipid in all our opening 3 games.

The easy explanation is to blame the coach, and in truth, that's how it should be. The coach has the job of preparing the team and getting them focused and switched on. For whatever reason, he is failing at this task so far. I am hoping Bucks can turn our season around, because I reckon he's a terrific bloke and a very intelligent coach. I still think he can prove to be a successful coach, but obviously if this season goes down the toilet, then his future with us beyond this year will be doubtful.

I think Bucks needs to swing the axe and swing it hard this week to put the frighteners up the team. I've been a consistent admirer of Bucks, but at the end of the day, competitive sport is a results based business, and if he can't get the results we expect, then he will have to pay the price.
My sentiments, too. Love the bloke. He's a decent man. Bleeds black and white. But that will not save him if he doesn't turn this around quickly. Eddie may think that he'll be there next year irrespective of the results this year, but the supporters will think otherwise and at the end of the day if the supporters are disgruntled he will have no option but to axe Buckley. And that would be a tragedy given what I mentioned above.

If Buckley wasn't a favourite son, he would not have lasted this long in the role give we've gone backwards. And that's the truth.
Formerly LeighBrownBrigade

Post by Lazza »

courtza wrote:Funny how Richo said that was the best win he had been involved with at the Saints, considering we're so crap....
Richo would be stoked knocking his old club off as the club he loved rejected him as a coach. Throw in he had no bench and to knock us off at the G would add to the win as they celebrated their one and only flag yesterday. Think outside the square.
All good. Every dog has his day mate.

What goes around comes around soon enough. At least I know by association that the Sri Lankan curse (actually correctly called a "charm") put on St Kilda after the 1972 "Greening" incident will ensure that they never win another flag. I have total confidence in this working.

Thinking outside the square is a very good thing.

Thinking about the square up next we play them is even better 8)
Don't confuse your current path with your final destination. Just because it's dark and stormy now doesn't meant that you aren't headed for glorious sunshine!

Post by Lazza »

Don't confuse your current path with your final destination. Just because it's dark and stormy now doesn't meant that you aren't headed for glorious sunshine!

Post by Flashman »

woftam

Post by woftam »

John Wren

Post by John Wren »

^ so our guys were on their way to mastering mandarin and now they're having to learn cantonese?
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.

Post by Lazza »

John Wren wrote:^ so our guys were on their way to mastering mandarin and now they're having to learn cantonese?
And learning how to play "Chinese Checkers" while defending???? :twisted:

Does "it" still refer to watched Buckley press conference?

Post by Bob Sugar »

Defender...........