Brayden Maynard - Bruz

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Been liked: 146 times

He was the youngest player in the AFL last year and this is only his second year. I've never understood some of the harsh criticisms of him. The kid is going to be a gun player for us for the next decade. He may even progress into the midfield next year.

Imagine having players with brute force like Wills, a bigger stronger De Goey and Maynard smashing packs open, running through the middle of the ground and feeding the ball out to Pendles and Treloar. I'm excited.
Been liked: 43 times

Post by BazBoy »

My feeling too ---assembling hard heads Wills,Maynard,De Goey and the older Greenwood

And let's not forget Taylor Adams
I'm not arguing--just explaining why i am right
Has liked: 126 times
Been liked: 160 times

E wrote:when do we think he is going to start to reduce the number of clangers he makes per game.

Seriously, you all forgive him for these mistakes now because he is young and promising and so you overlook all of these flaws.

Once he becomes an established player, these clangers are the type of thing that make you a whipping boy on this site. Look at Brown and Toovey.

I bet blair wishes he was doing the hard in and under stuff he's been doing as a 19 year old. People give you a lot more credit when you are a kid!!!
22 disposals on the weekend at 72.7% efficiency. 5 clangers (Brodie had 11. Howe and varcoe 4 each)

Not great but not exactly clanger city.

Post by BazBoy »

There would be no player playing that as a kid
learning the caper would have not made errors

Up to coach's and some of the older team leaders
to help him eliminate them

Post by mudlark »

RudeBoy wrote:He was the youngest player in the AFL last year and this is only his second year. I've never understood some of the harsh criticisms of him. The kid is going to be a gun player for us for the next decade. He may even progress into the midfield next year.

Imagine having players with brute force like Wills, a bigger stronger De Goey and Maynard smashing packs open, running through the middle of the ground and feeding the ball out to Pendles and Treloar. I'm excited.
Jackson Ramsey is even better than Maynard.Imagine how good our 1/2 back line will be when we have Maynard Ramsay Langdon to choose from leaving Adams to go back to the mid field where he belongs..

mudlark wrote:^
Maynard, Ramsay, Langdon and Scharenberg.

Post by BazBoy »

Youth coming thru and the exit of some respected veterans I ponder if the Sack may decide to join
Toov's and Caff

Post by mudlark »

RudeBoy wrote:^
Apparently??? No one rates Scharenberg but I'll add him every day of the week.

mudlark wrote:^Apparently??? No one rates Scharenberg but I'll add him every day of the week.
Based on what he showed in the VFL and his 2 or 3 senior games I was not impressed by Scharenberg at all. However, the weight of opinion by those with far better football pedigrees than me, who rate him as an A grade talent, is such that I have joined the Schaz bandwagon. Let's just hope that the kid has an injury free season next year and begins to build a wonderful career with the Pies.
dalyc
Been liked: 12 times

Post by dalyc »

Don't discount Smith. This guy's a ripper.
Four legged animals good, two legged animals better
jackcass

Post by jackcass »

barrybc41 wrote:Youth coming thru and the exit of some respected veterans I ponder if the Sack may decide to join
Toov's and Caff
Can't afford to lose them all. Was hoping Tooves would go on again next year along with the Sack, and that we'll keep Cloke for that matter.
Pebbles Rocks

Post by Pebbles Rocks »

Beast wrote:Mate I've killed for far less than people mentioning Braynard in the same sentence with Blair.

Watch your step from now on.
brilliant!! :D
"You must be a parking ticket, cuz you got fine written all over you" Glen Quagmire
5 from the wing on debut

Post by 5 from the wing on debut »

It's funny how two people can watch the same thing and have different opinions about what they have seen. I can't wait for Scharenberg to be fit and in the team. In the little that I saw of him I saw glimpses of a top quality player. He instinctively knows where he should be and when he should be there. He has great poise. Those traits will serve him well, assuming that he can get fit and rack up some games.

5 from the wing on debut wrote:^
I bow to your better judgement. After all, I never thought Aish, Swanny or Heater would be any good. :oops: :oops: :oops:

So given my shocking record at recognising talent, I hope I haven't put the mozz on Wills and De Goey by picking them as future stars. :roll:
5 from the wing on debut

Post by 5 from the wing on debut »

It may transpire that your only error in judgement is believing that I have better judgement. I hope I do but time and injuries will tell.