Post Match. Cats outclass Pies - all comments

Post by AN_Inkling »

I believe Toovey played on Byrnes. Played a good game too. And no, he does not lack courage. You say he pulled out of contests? Not that I noticed, but there are reasons to do so, that do not point to a lack of courage. Far from our worst on Friday (our three worst? Wood, Dawes, O'Bree).
Well done boys!

Great. And you would like him to lack courage ?
mahonmagpie

Post by mahonmagpie »

Geelong only beat us on the quality of their entry inside 50 in the second half. Our defence was solid and we looked faster and with greater indurance. Mid way during the third quarter we stopped taking the game on - that is a mental thing. The same thing happen against St Kilda. Leadership group and coaches need to work on the team belief. Delivery inside 50 need more work. Why don't we attack the hot spot instead of heading to the boundry? We a deliberately kicking the ball out of bounds in the forward pocket for a throw in - low percentage move. I understand doing it when no one is in forward 50, but not all the time. Team rules need regigging - no stupid danergous leads into low percentage tight angles or surrounded by taller defenders in numbers. Honour the first lead from a marking forward - or kick to the hot spot. Don't kick back out of forward 50 unless a player is by himself - and only to open up the other side of ground. And bloody kick to the chest or at least advantage to our forward - not over their head or to an opposition defender unattended. Keep it simple, back your skills and team mates and move it quickly.
jackcass

Post by jackcass »

They had 22 blokes who generally worked harder for longer and executed better under pressure. Hardly something to lay solely at the feet of the midfield.

Post by thompsoc »

I thought the mid field couldn't distingish a geebung jumper for a vertical stripe jumper
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.
jackcass

Post by jackcass »

steviewonder36 wrote:
PeterWH wrote:we cant beat classy sides......simple enough.....BUT also it does help not to have the umpires against us!!!!!!
We aren't good enough yet, don't blame the umpires though. That's just crap!

Usual players don't like the heat.

Players like Davis, Didak etc don't have consistency to their game, been that way since they started their careers.
Agree, umpiring was ordinary but wasn't the difference between winning or losing.
jackcass

Post by jackcass »

AN_Inkling wrote:What the hell is this rubbish about Brown? Did very little wrong tonight, and only had one goal kicked on him. Certainly not the mistakes of some others in our defense. Was very good, overall better than Reid.

Leon wasn't great, but not too far from it.

O'Bree was poor, no question. Wouldn't have played if Medhurst was fit.

Wood was terrible, and was a bad selection choice - should have gone with L.Brown.
Agree. Only concern I have on his game (in a general sense and not specific to tonight) is that he's developing a habit of not jumping with his apponent in a marking contest. Showed on more than one occasion tonight that he can get off the ground and punch so it's really puzzling to see him with both feet firmly planted on terra firma in a marking contest. Has to get that out of his game.
jackcass

Post by jackcass »

Monco Matt wrote:
Monco Matt wrote:I'm done holding on to hope for Leon. If he cannot show something in a game like this then he isn't worth the paper at the bottom of my dunny bowl. I'm over this guy, just f*ck off already.
very harsh, leons been down lately but we know how good he can be, he'll be alright, im more livid with macaffa, he isnt a fwd, cant kick for starters, he wont be playing next week IMO.
Mate, he can be good against crap sides but always fails against serious opposition. He has played more games against Geelong than he has kicked goals against Geelong. You cannot just throw up a line like "he's been down lately" any more.

This team must grow beyond efforts that Leon gives us if we are to win a flag and that's what we want isn't it. I am tired of losing to top sides, I want us to be the top side that other teams fear. We will never be that side with soft c***s like LD. We have never been that side since 1990....EVER. When was the last time we finished the H&A season on top of the ladder as the dominat team to beat? 1979 or 1970, something pathetic like that.
I haven't checked the records but I'm sure we finished top in the early 90's, only to be knocked out by the Saints in an elimination final first week. Ladder position is irrelevant. We were far from the best team in 90, things just fell our way when it mattered.
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 82 times

Post by Big T »

Monco Matt wrote:
Monco Matt wrote:I'm done holding on to hope for Leon. If he cannot show something in a game like this then he isn't worth the paper at the bottom of my dunny bowl. I'm over this guy, just f*ck off already.
very harsh, leons been down lately but we know how good he can be, he'll be alright, im more livid with macaffa, he isnt a fwd, cant kick for starters, he wont be playing next week IMO.
Mate, he can be good against crap sides but always fails against serious opposition. He has played more games against Geelong than he has kicked goals against Geelong. You cannot just throw up a line like "he's been down lately" any more.

This team must grow beyond efforts that Leon gives us if we are to win a flag and that's what we want isn't it. I am tired of losing to top sides, I want us to be the top side that other teams fear. We will never be that side with soft c***s like LD. We have never been that side since 1990....EVER. When was the last time we finished the H&A season on top of the ladder as the dominat team to beat? 1979 or 1970, something pathetic like that.
I haven't checked the records but I'm sure we finished top in the early 90's, only to be knocked out by the Saints in an elimination final first week. Ladder position is irrelevant. We were far from the best team in 90, things just fell our way when it mattered.
Pretty hard to finish on top and then get knocked out in the first week...
Buon Giorno
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

Big T wrote:Pretty hard to finish on top and then get knocked out in the first week...
..... but if there is a way to do it, we are the club to discover it . . . .
Kingswood

Post by Kingswood »

we finished third in 1993 but yet the final system at that time didn't give us a double chance so we got knocked out by saints in the first week.
Kingswood

Post by Kingswood »

the last time we finished on top: 1977
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 82 times

Post by Big T »

Big T wrote:Pretty hard to finish on top and then get knocked out in the first week...
..... but if there is a way to do it, we are the club to discover it . . . .
OK, this is how it could happen this year:

1. Geelong finish on top
2. Geelong lose first final to Collingwood
3. After this loss, salary cap investigations reveal massive rorts
4. Geelong eliminated

Now that would be awesome.
Buon Giorno

Post by roar »

AN_Inkling wrote:It's a two way street. Sure, the midfield need to pass the ball well, and last night we were unable to break forward into enough space to hit up a leading player. But, the forward also needs to get some space on his opponent, and be good enough to mark when a defender's in close attendance. Dawes did not do this last night. His contested marking has been ordinary all season. this is not unexpected for such an inexperienced player. I never expected him to stand up against the best at this stage.

Anthony was the same last year. But, he is a year older, though unfortunately lacking a bit of condition due to an interrupted pre-season. I think it's a close call between Dawes and Anthony. It could go either way. Mostly for experience, and accurate kicking, I see Anthony getting the nod by the end of the season.
Dawes has taken only 1 less contested mark than Cloke over the last 5 weeks and has gained a couple more contested possessions in that period.
Yeah, but before that?!
:wink:
kill for collingwood!
swoop42
Been liked: 8 times

Post by swoop42 »

Kingswood wrote:we finished third in 1993 but yet the final system at that time didn't give us a double chance so we got knocked out by saints in the first week.
It was 1992.
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!