Post Match. Tigers def. Pies - All comments please
- robevpau1
Tom Browne@TomBrowne7 3 hours ago twitted:
'Realise 0 2 not ideal, but I'll judge #pies after 5 or 6 rounds. Played ok both games. Small chance they'll win next two - back to square.'
I will wait until 4 games played before I make further comment - will see how the playing group respond over the next fortnight.
'Realise 0 2 not ideal, but I'll judge #pies after 5 or 6 rounds. Played ok both games. Small chance they'll win next two - back to square.'
I will wait until 4 games played before I make further comment - will see how the playing group respond over the next fortnight.
- Cam
- Has liked: 19 times
- Been liked: 28 times
If we are not 4-4 at round 8, the ammo will be in the gun I'm afraid. There are positives amongst the negatives but plenty of us are sick of finding them. We just want wins and to do that we need leadership, cohesion, passion and pride [note: all different to effort]. Effort without those is simple self-preservation and blind instinct to game plan. We need football IQ, and if we don't have it, then we are dead already.thompsoc wrote:You know a lot of those answers Cam.
You do keep your ammo dry a lot of the time.
It seems to be a game of ring around the rosie or whatever that game was named.
I think you are saying we are on a merry go round and not on a straight arrow.
Get back on top.
- Piesnchess
- Has liked: 229 times
- Been liked: 94 times
POST of the day, for sure ! Well said mate, yes, bad kicking for goal is BAD footy, has been for 100 years. Had we booted those easy, soda, goals we would be 2-0 now, and not even on this thread. Bucks cannot kick the easy goals for them, bloody Fas was an absolute disgrace, so lazy. This is why we need to revamp our entire forward line as I said elsewhere on here. Drop Fas, White and Blair, and in comes Elliott, Daicos jnr and if possible, Kirby and Keefe. Put Howe up forward, to help Moore, and Keefe down back for him. We have to roll the dice now, we get the pill up there heaps, but nobody to finish off, this must change now, a s a p.mooretreloar wrote:For the ignorant, of which there are many on this site, read the below:
Quarter 1
- Sidebottom misses a snap at an open goal
- Moore misses a set shot
- Crisp misses a set shot
Quarter 2
- Fasolo misses a set shot
- White misses a set shot (from the boundary, so he should be cut some slack)
- Hoskin-Elliott shanks a kick from half forward across ground straight to Richmond, Cotchin goals on the rebound
- Aish misses a set shot
- Fasolo misses a snap towards an open goal
- Treloar kicks out of bounds on the full running towards goal under no pressure
- Pendles kicks out of bounds on the full on his right foot
Quarter 3
- Treloar misses a set shot after White finds him with a beautiful left foot pass around the body. Kicks this we are 22 points up.
- Mayne misses from 15 metres out
- Fasolo misses a set shot from directly in front
- Goldsack kicks in straight to Lennon, a goal results
- Grundy misses from 50 on the run under no pressure
- Fasolo tries to centre the ball to Moore makes a skill error and gives the ball to Richmond in a dangerous position. A goal on the rebound results.
At this stage of the game, we are 8 points behind, and there are 17 instances, that's right 17, were we should have goaled and stopped them from goaling. This is all from memory and if I went through the replay I am sure I will find 2 to 3 goals more for Richmond caused by our poor decision making or skills. The game should have been done and dusted at half time, let alone 3/4 time.
Consequently, stop posting drivel regarding Buckley and think before you post. This loss sits squarely with the players. If you don't think so, post something to counter the above. Not generic statements like, the coach is responsible for skills. You are kidding yourself if you don't think Buckley and his coaching staff work on our skills. It is easy to do it in training, but it is very hard to replicate the pressure of match conditions, which skills need to be executed under.
- What'sinaname
- Has liked: 8 times
- Been liked: 34 times
This analysis is useless as it fails to acknowledge the difficulty of each kick, and therefore the likelihood of goals actually being kicked. Pendles right foot snap went OOF, but the most likely outcome was probably a behind.mooretreloar wrote:For the ignorant, of which there are many on this site, read the below:
Quarter 1
Quarter 2
- Hoskin-Elliott shanks a kick from half forward across ground straight to Richmond, Cotchin goals on the rebound
- Aish misses a set shot
- Treloar kicks out of bounds on the full running towards goal under no pressure
Quarter 3
- Treloar misses a set shot after White finds him with a beautiful left foot pass around the body. Kicks this we are 22 points up.
- Fasolo tries to centre the ball to Moore makes a skill error and gives the ball to Richmond in a dangerous position. A goal on the rebound results.
At this stage of the game, we are 8 points behind, and there are 17 instances, that's right 17, were we should have goaled and stopped them from goaling. This is all from memory and if I went through the replay I am sure I will find 2 to 3 goals more for Richmond caused by our poor decision making or skills. The game should have been done and dusted at half time, let alone 3/4 time.
Consequently, stop posting drivel regarding Buckley and think before you post. This loss sits squarely with the players. If you don't think so, post something to counter the above. Not generic statements like, the coach is responsible for skills. You are kidding yourself if you don't think Buckley and his coaching staff work on our skills. It is easy to do it in training, but it is very hard to replicate the pressure of match conditions, which skills need to be executed under.
Secondly, it ignores Richmond's scoring opportunities as you can mount the same argument that Richmond could have kicked goals with every scoring opportunity.
Do your research then and post a counter argument, rather than a generic statement that it is useless. This is the problem with this site, so many people with an opinion, so little to back up their opinion with.
The score was 4.9 to 3.5 at half time, doubt you are going to find too many Richmond opportunities, but off you go do your research. 2.5 to 1.1 in the 2nd quarter, the only goal they got was from Hoskin-Elliot's turnover.
Prestia missed a goal from 15 metres out directly in front. Ditto Riewoldtmooretreloar wrote:Do your research then and post a counter argument, rather than a generic statement that it is useless. This is the problem with this site, so many people with an opinion, so little to back up their opinion with.What'sinaname wrote:This analysis is useless as it fails to acknowledge the difficulty of each kick, and therefore the likelihood of goals actually being kicked. Pendles right foot snap went OOF, but the most likely outcome was probably a behind.mooretreloar wrote:For the ignorant, of which there are many on this site, read the below:
Quarter 1
Quarter 2
- Aish misses a set shot
Quarter 3
Secondly, it ignores Richmond's scoring opportunities as you can mount the same argument that Richmond could have kicked goals with every scoring opportunity.
- What'sinaname
- Has liked: 8 times
- Been liked: 34 times
Alright, I'll do as thorough analysis as you have:mooretreloar wrote:
Do your research then and post a counter argument, rather than a generic statement that it is useless. This is the problem with this site, so many people with an opinion, so little to back up their opinion with.
Richmond had 29 scoring shots so should have scored 29 goals = 174 points
Collingwood had 25 scoring shots so should have kicked 24 goals = 150 points
So we lost by 4 goals.
- Been liked: 1 time
Good post. Nice blend of facts and emotion. Some of the shots at goal were difficult, but most of them were very gettable at AFL standard. Richmond not great at comebacks, we get 22pts up and more - we win. We gave it to them.mooretreloar wrote:For the ignorant, of which there are many on this site, read the below:
Quarter 1
Quarter 2
- Aish misses a set shot
Quarter 3
Consequently, stop posting drivel regarding Buckley and think before you post. This loss sits squarely with the players. If you don't think so, post something to counter the above. Not generic statements like, the coach is responsible for skills. The players are professional athletes paid a lot of money to do their job properly, which is to execute their skills and decision making on match days. Last night they were 2 out of 10 in these areas.
In conclusion, you are kidding yourself if you don't think Buckley and his coaching staff work on our skills. It is easy to do it in training, but it is very hard to replicate the pressure of match conditions, which skills need to be executed under.
Bucks will take wrap because that's what he is like. He is not soley responsible tho.
kymbo
- Collingwood Crackerjack
While others would disagree I've always been of the belief that it's harder for most young players in there first couple of seasons to find self belief and confidence at AFL level playing in defence.
Whether it be because they're so worried about concentrating on there opponent they neglect there own, lose confidence by having a bag kicked on them or making a mistake that directly results in an opposition goal there form can quickly diminish as self doubts move in.
Personally I'd love to see Maynard unshackled from the burden of being a defender in our side for a few weeks and given a role across half forward with some stints in the midfield to see what he can produce in a different position.
I'd like to see what he can do with some freedom and weight of responsibility lifted from those shoulders and for our coach to think outside the square and mix things up.
Hell he take Blair's position!
Whether it be because they're so worried about concentrating on there opponent they neglect there own, lose confidence by having a bag kicked on them or making a mistake that directly results in an opposition goal there form can quickly diminish as self doubts move in.
Personally I'd love to see Maynard unshackled from the burden of being a defender in our side for a few weeks and given a role across half forward with some stints in the midfield to see what he can produce in a different position.
I'd like to see what he can do with some freedom and weight of responsibility lifted from those shoulders and for our coach to think outside the square and mix things up.
Hell he take Blair's position!
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 166 times
I didn't say anything post game because I was pissed off, and i haven't read this thread so I'm not responding to anyone. Venting non constructive rubbish might be cathartic, but it's still non constructive rubbish so I don't.
Overall, I saw a lot of good things last night. The set shot goal kicking was deplorable. Yes, Richmond missed a few too but the volume of ours early messes with the players and flattens them. Continued effort for no reward grinds you down.
We should be 2-0, not 0-2 and that pisses me off, but I'm not going to throw the toys out of the cot totally, I'm still going to support the club and the team. If the club decides to change the coach, fine, that's their prerogative. I won't lose any sleep, but the same applies if they don't change the coach.
Overall, I saw a lot of good things last night. The set shot goal kicking was deplorable. Yes, Richmond missed a few too but the volume of ours early messes with the players and flattens them. Continued effort for no reward grinds you down.
We should be 2-0, not 0-2 and that pisses me off, but I'm not going to throw the toys out of the cot totally, I'm still going to support the club and the team. If the club decides to change the coach, fine, that's their prerogative. I won't lose any sleep, but the same applies if they don't change the coach.
- The Boy Who Cried Wolf
Great effort, such a well thought out and articulated post. You have not and will not be able to produce a post that counters my argument of what occurred in the first 3 quarters. Collingwood should have been 6 goals up at 3/4 time.What'sinaname wrote:Alright, I'll do as thorough analysis as you have:mooretreloar wrote:
Richmond had 29 scoring shots so should have scored 29 goals = 174 points
Collingwood had 25 scoring shots so should have kicked 24 goals = 150 points
So we lost by 4 goals.
We lost the last quarter because we were coming off a 6 day break from a very physical and tough game against last year's premiers. Whereas, Richmond were coming off a 7 day break from a bruise free match against 2017's wooden spooners.
If you want to believe it is all Buckley's fault, good on you, but you are just showing your ignorance in analysing a football game.