Player President threads here thanks.

Pie-For-Life

Post by Pie-For-Life »

Developing nicely, I'm sure we are yet to see the best of him, its exciting
swoop42

Post by swoop42 »

I sense a disturbance in the pants of Pies4shaw.

Grundy, Langdon and now Callum Brown.
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 17 times

Post by K »

Pies4shaw wrote:https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/brown-quietly-becoming-collingwood-s-man-for-big-moments-20190531-p51t3y.html

"... as he uses his pace and agility to take on the game and drives his legs to power out of stoppages..."
:shock: :shock:

What is going on with P. Ryan?
LaurieHolden
Has liked: 145 times
Been liked: 146 times

Post by LaurieHolden »

Noticed he finishes games better than he starts. His fitness I've noted has been a factor in his game day impact. Hits the line well and has featured late in some tight games.
His weekend output while well below par perhaps starting to reflect the buffeting he gets in the contest and as a young player may well start to wear him down.
That happens when you keep bumping up against players in the contest whom are 10kg heavier than you. Suspect he'll be looking forward to the mid-season break.
"The Club's not Jock, Ted and Gerry" (& Eddie)
2023 AFL Premiers
Woods

No second year blues for Callum Brown

Post by Woods »

AFL is running a video series in the off-season called The Data Game. It analyses player performances with a look ahead to 2020.

Callum Brown was featured today. Was surprised at the glowing rating he got, particularly as 2019 was his second AFL season. Not that I thought he had a poor year - far from it. Just that he seems to have flown under the radar while attention was focused on some of the flashier forwards.

With another pre-season into him he should only get tougher in the contests next year.

https://www.afl.com.au/video/2019-11-13 ... ghts-again
npalm
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 8 times

Post by npalm »

^^ They seem to see him staying in the forward line as a pressure forward and I think that's correct. Whilst his hands and pace are great, he doesn't have the height and weight to make it as a top line midfielder in today's game.
Side by side.
Pies4shaw
Has liked: 54 times
Been liked: 85 times

He won’t be Pendlebury but there’s a fair chance he’ll be Sam Mitchell.
npalm
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 8 times

Post by npalm »

^^^ Sheesh, that's a big rap. I hope you're right.
Side by side.
Pies4shaw
Has liked: 54 times
Been liked: 85 times

It’s not a prediction - it’s an observation about the body size thing. That said, if you compare Mitchell’s 2003 (when he was the same age as Callum), there’s a whisker between them. Mitchell didn’t become the star we all think of now for another 2 or 3 seasons after that.
skaman
Has liked: 40 times
Been liked: 13 times

Post by skaman »

Pies4shaw wrote:It’s not a prediction - it’s an observation about the body size thing. That said, if you compare Mitchell’s 2003 (when he was the same age as Callum), there’s a whisker between them. Mitchell didn’t become the star we all think of now for another 2 or 3 seasons after that.
Correct weight P4S
In this day and age of people wanting instant success and results , patience is often required for some of these young ones to shine through and find their feet/ place. Callum to me showed in my mind , now shows that he has the confidence and feeling that he now BELONGS. His stocks now and experience are on the rise and he will only get better. A pleasure to see and follow.
Enjoy yourself. Its later than you think!
Been liked: 86 times

Post by Pies2016 »

The other thing we must remember with C Brown is that his first preseason ( and subsequent first year in the AFL ) was wrecked by glandular fever.
Relative to his pick in the 2016 draft, he is tracking well ahead of the curve.
I reckon his real growth at AFL level will come somewhere between his 50 to 100 games block of senior footy. The kids a ripper !
Last edited by Pies2016 on Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jonmac1954
Been liked: 14 times

Post by jonmac1954 »

School mate of mine had Glandular fever it can take years to fully shake off

Post by inxs88 »

Hard to have second year blues in your third year! :)
I love the Pies, hate Carlscum
jonmac1954
Been liked: 14 times

Post by jonmac1954 »

[quote="inxs88"]Hard to have second year blues in your third year! :)[/quote
]
How many games did he play in his first year again?
Has liked: 71 times

The kid is good and will only get better.