The walk for Epilepsy Awareness i need your help!!

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

jeff corfe

Post by jeff corfe »

leelee wrote:thanks nuxta... lol... tis still in the process... lol

Joff, i could be a support vechile... lol i'll ride my bike! haha... any luck with sponsorship yet?
No luck as yet but give it time..we will eventually get something ;)
leelee

Post by leelee »

Tess wrote:Joff I do have some ideas for the walk.

Will let ya know next week if they look like coming to any sort of help.

(Can someone re-post this so he can read it please)
SuCK IT uP PRINCESS
jeff corfe

Post by jeff corfe »

Just an update to let everyone know whats happening...

Thanks leelee we rang the people at Booran and will be sending a letter this week so we'll see what happens.

The Collingwood official website will promote the walk and run daily updates so thats gotta be a bonus.

This week we will also send letters asking for a support vehicle to all the major car rental firms.
Syd_Magpies_Girl

Post by Syd_Magpies_Girl »

Joff,

What dates will this be running on? Will it go during the week, or just a w/end? Just wondering so I can take some annual leave.

Sim.
jeff corfe

Post by jeff corfe »

Syd_Magpies_Girl wrote:Joff,

What dates will this be running on? Will it go during the week, or just a w/end? Just wondering so I can take some annual leave.

Sim.
At this stage Simone it will be mid october we're probably going to give ourselves 7 days it may take longer, i also will be using annual leave to do it.
Once we can get some type of vehicle we'll be up and running in a big way next week we'll approach Nel Mitchell 3aw and the Herald Sun to give it a bit of push...we'll keep everyone updated.
Syd_Magpies_Girl

Post by Syd_Magpies_Girl »

Ok cool, no worries. Just keep me informed pls dearest. I should be able to spare a few days definately.
jeff corfe

Post by jeff corfe »

A very recent tragic story about a young man with epilepsy in Colac on the weekend, The young lad had a seizure whilst walking home along the road and was run over and killed by a pasing car.

Post by Pa Marmo »

Sim.
At this stage Simone it will be mid october we're probably going to give ourselves 7 days it may take longer, i also will be using annual leave to do it.
Once we can get some type of vehicle we'll be up and running in a big way next week we'll approach Nel Mitchell 3aw and the Herald Sun to give it a bit of push...we'll keep everyone updated.
Joff you do realise that is 104.8 kms a day. Thats the same as walking fro, hoppers to balarat ever day for 7 days
Genesis 1:1
jeff corfe

Post by jeff corfe »

nuxta wrote:

Sim.
Joff you do realise that is 104.8 kms a day. Thats the same as walking fro, hoppers to balarat ever day for 7 days
Yep its gonna take longer than seven days..once we get certain things up and running we'll be able to plan how many kms per day we walk, i got over three weeks to get it done so at this stage i reckon we'll have plenty of time.
We'll be walkin from sunrise to sunset :)
Proud Pies

Post by Proud Pies »

I think you need to get out there and start your training Joffa!

Good luck with it all.
Jacqui © Proud Pies 2003 and beyond
jeff corfe

Post by jeff corfe »

Proud Pies wrote:I think you need to get out there and start your training Joffa!

Good luck with it all.
Thanks Jacqui
Im actually pretty fit and can walk a good pace.

Post by Pa Marmo »

At 4.5 kms an hour Joff your looking at around 54 kms a day which means Melb to Adel is going to take 13 and a half to 14 days
jeff corfe

Post by jeff corfe »

nuxta wrote:At 4.5 kms an hour Joff your looking at around 54 kms a day which means Melb to Adel is going to take 13 and a half to 14 days
Sounds realistic.and even if we slacken off a bit we will still have a few extra days up or sleeves.

Its not going to be easy but its going to be a lot of fun.

Post by Pa Marmo »

I just had a guy come to pick up a pup he bought from us and he was telling me all about his epilepsy. Incredible story, this guy and his three brothers all have it in varying degrees.
jeff corfe

Post by jeff corfe »

It has been decided the walk to Adelaide was a bit ambitious and for it to happen would depend on many factors which would eliminate our control somewhat which bothers me.
The walk will now be Melbourne to Geelong and back Geelong to Melbourne...Epilepsy Victoria are 100 percent behind the walk and will support us as much as they can.
The purpose of the walk will be to get as many people walking with us at any stage during the walk and along the way distribute seizure first aid pamphlets and collect monies.
Hopefully we will get enough money on board to have tee shirts printed and sold as well
Any thoughts norm please let me know
joff