Post Match. Pies on top !! - all comments please

noddy,

Post by noddy, »

collingwood are no good because they go around the boundary.
i like beer.
Monco Matt

Post by Monco Matt »

WOW! WOW!! WOW!!!

Somebody pinch me coz I must be dreamin'

Awesome intensity for 4 quarters, even better than the 2008 Geelong flogging. If we play like that in September we will be tough to beat.

Thought the Saints were in shock early at the level we played at and were never able to recover and play their own game, next time they will be better prepared I'm sure because seriously we aren't an 8 goal better side. We at least showed that we can play footy at the highest level for 4 quarters and that gives me genuine belief that our game will hold up in finals.

GO PIES, bloody ripper!
Last edited by Monco Matt on Sat Jul 17, 2010 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RED "BABY" CAVANAUGH: Didn't hear what the bet was.

Usurper

Post by Usurper »

Wish I'd made it to the game. Listening to Quartermain comparing the win to when we rolled Geelong in '07, but that they went on to win the GF, and that the saints had been playing flat for a while, was an absolute joke. Among other bits of rubbish. Wish I could get delayed radio broadcast and sync it up.

Anyway. Great win! Smashed them and made them look second rate. I like how they dropped Dal Santo, so they could pretend they weren't at full strength. We had two of our 22 out, and let me tell you - Dal Santo was not the difference.

A couple of things -
Thought Dale Thomas didnt play a particularly good game, but managed a few good things as the game went on. Those two first inside 50's he got were disappointing. Look forward to some blinders from him in finals.

Davis needs to go back and thank Dawes for that crumbing goal he toe-poked. Glad to see him get a bit of confidence back, but at least thank the big fella who tapped it to you.

Dawes was handy, brought the ball down whenever he could. Stats say nothing.

Reid and OBrien. Yeah baby. Swan and Pendles and Bally. Yeaaaah baby.

Thought Sidey and Beams were a bit down on input, and Wellingham other than a couple of marks when it was all over is playing well beneath his abilities. Hard to tell over the tv if this was due to their roles.

Leroy Brown, take a bow.

Great game, fantastic win. Welcome to #1. As was mentioned in another thread, 75% of premierships come from teams in top 2.
MOTR

Post by MOTR »

noddy, wrote:collingwood are no good because they go around the boundary.
For those who want Malthouse to change his game plan - its not going to happen.
Be Staunch, Be Proud, Be Collingwood

We were talking about it , weren't we?
The_Staunton

Post by The_Staunton »

Must be horrendous to support a team who's small forwards go missing in big games...
We just got nutted at the clearances...

Post by Flashman »

This is why we support/love this club.

A superb TEAM effort that shows everyone (including the supporters) that were are the real deal.

But it's not time to rest on our laurels we have to follow up and destroy Richmond next week.

But for the moment lets enjoy this fantastic performence.
Holbrook Bloke

Post by Holbrook Bloke »

The best win of the year bar none. No weak links and great to see the Saints rattled and hear Walls eat his words despite urging the Saints all game. The AFL pub up here was rocking! Thanks Pies - You done good!
Jonno
Sydney Collingwood Supporters Club (Est 2003)

Camelia Grove Hotel - The best AFL pub in Sydney all season, not just the finals.

Post by Bob Sugar »

Usurper wrote:Wish I'd made it to the game. Listening to Quartermain comparing the win to when we rolled Geelong in '07, but that they went on to win the GF, and that the saints had been playing flat for a while, was an absolute joke. Among other bits of rubbish. Wish I could get delayed radio broadcast and sync it up.

Anyway. Great win! Smashed them and made them look second rate. I like how they dropped Dal Santo, so they could pretend they weren't at full strength. We had two of our 22 out, and let me tell you - Dal Santo was not the difference.

A couple of things -
Thought Dale Thomas didnt play a particularly good game, but managed a few good things as the game went on. Those two first inside 50's he got were disappointing. Look forward to some blinders from him in finals.

Davis needs to go back and thank Dawes for that crumbing goal he toe-poked. Glad to see him get a bit of confidence back, but at least thank the big fella who tapped it to you.

Dawes was handy, brought the ball down whenever he could. Stats say nothing.

Reid and OBrien. Yeah baby. Swan and Pendles and Bally. Yeaaaah baby.

Thought Sidey and Beams were a bit down on input, and Wellingham other than a couple of marks when it was all over is playing well beneath his abilities. Hard to tell over the tv if this was due to their roles.

Leroy Brown, take a bow.

Great game, fantastic win. Welcome to #1. As was mentioned in another thread, 75% of premierships come from teams in top 2.
thomas and beams were sensational IMO, i had them both in my votes.
abhi_007cruise

Post by abhi_007cruise »

For those critics out there, who reckon lot of players dont stand up when it comes against big teams shud have watched this game; Swanny and Didsy were on the top of list in terms of possessions..

Last year when we lost to Geelong few people said that boys were playing the team of men..I reckon these boys have become men now and they know what they are doing and we need to support their stance..Bring it on Bitchmond, Pussies and Carlscum..

That bloody jake king needs to be punched in his face if he repeats what he did to Didsy..Go the mighty PIES
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit.

'Hopes in his heart, dreams in his hands..Jack Anthony..He's done it "Go the Pies"
SteveH67

Post by SteveH67 »

Monco Matt wrote:WOW! WOW!! WOW!!!

Somebody pinch me coz I must be dreamin'

Awesome intensity for 4 quarters, even better than the 2008 Geelong flogging. If we play like that in September we will be tough to beat.

Thought the Saints were in shock early at the level we played at and were never able to recover and play their own game, next time they will be better prepared I'm sure because seriously we aren't an 8 goal better side. We at least showed that we can play footy at the highest level for 4 quarters and that gives me genuine belief that our game will hold up in finals.

GO PIES, bloody ripper!
Yeah my thoughts too.

It was a fantastic win, Pies played really well.

But, the Saints did appear to be slightly off the boil, and therefore I don't think were are a better 8 goal team.

A couple of important players out for both team, so the next meeting in the finals will be a much closer affair.

But, rapt for the boys just the same.

Huge confidence booster.
Social club member 7342 since 2000.
thebaldfacts

Post by thebaldfacts »

Great win by the boys. Importantly we have said that we can match it with anyone, now we are starting to do it.

Top 4 looking good, but can we hang onto top?

Said at the start of the year, the 8 games against Geel, St.k, WBD and Haw would determine our fate and that to make top 4 we needed to win at least 4 of these. We are now at 4 from 6.

Can Leigh Brown keep up that performance??? Very imposing prescence on the forward line.

Who are we going to drop for Cloke and Maxwell and Dick????

Barring injuries, can'rt see fraser and O'Bree coming back in.

Post by Bob Sugar »

As good as goldys been he will have to make way for maxxy, caff for cloke and blair for dick, then we have the problem of medders and hopefully russ, that small fwd we have going around in the VFL (name escapes me) is smashing the door down too.
burnsy17

Post by burnsy17 »

:) hhhmmm..... missed it by a goal..!!!!!

I've got a feeling its going to be one of those rare days at the footy where everything goes our way and we give these c words an absolute hiding!!

Prepare for the papers to start talking us up again, because come 5pm tonight we'll be top of the ladder PIES!!

Pies by 54 points.
Beware the swooping Magpie.
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

Nice win, I'll take it. Enjoyed it very much at the ground but apart from the 4 points, what it means is that we now know we can beat these pond scum.

Wins in the H&A season mean nothing when it counts in September, but it's always nice to know you can do it.